Subject Headings & Call Numbers
One of the best ways to target your searches is via a Subject Heading in the Advanced Search page of ECU library search.
Subject Headings are far more precise search terms than the default Keyword searches, and a Subject Heading directly reflects what an item is about, rather than returning incidental results.
You can also mix and match Subject Headings, and this search strategy can result in highly relevant references. When using the Library search, look for a subject, and then limit by the second subject.
For example:
- Australia AND Media law
- Public relations AND Blogging
These searches will only return results which include both terms.
Note: The "AND" is in ALL CAPs.
You can also limit using either OR and NOT as well:
- Public relations, Authorship OR Writing Skills
This will return anything that includes either / or the subjects, a huge number of results!
- Broadcast media NOT Journalism
Will return results which include material on using Broadcast media, but not from the perspective og Journalists (may return material on Broadcast technologies, and also Corporate communications.)
Below is a selection of books in the study area, and a guide to call numbers to help you browse the shelves for items on similar topics.
See the Find Books and More page for further tips on searching Subject Headings.
| Call Number | Subject Heading | Call Number | Subject Heading |
| 006.752 | Blogging | 153.85 / 303.34 | Persuasion Psychology |
| 658.827 | Brand name products | 659.2 | Public relations |
| 070.19 | Broadcast Media | 659.2 / 808.066 | Public relations Authorship |
| 658.4 | Corporations Investor relations | 659.2 | Public relations Evaluation |
| 658.812 | Customer Relations | 659.2 | Public relations Firms |
| 070.4 | Journalism | 659.2 | Public relations Management, Case studies |
| 658.8 | Marketing | 659.2 | Public relations Moral and ethical aspects |
| 302.23 | Mass media Audiences | 302.23 | Social media |
| 343.94 | Media law | 808.042 | Writing skills |
Unit Texts
Risk Issues and Crisis Management in Public Relations (4th Ed.) [e-version] by ISBN: 9780749454432Publication Date: 2008
Becoming a Public Relations Writer (4th Ed.) by Call Number: MTL Main 659.2 SMIISBN: 9780415893428Publication Date: 2011Unit: PRN3150
Strategic public relations: A practical guide to success by Call Number: JOO Main 659.20994 HAR / MTL Main 659.20994 HARISBN: 9781420256383Publication Date: 2011Unit: PRN3250
Public Relations: The profession and the practice (2nd Ed.) by Call Number: MTL Main 659.2 PUBISBN: 9780073511863Publication Date: 2006Unit: PRN 3250
Media Relations: Issues and strategies (2nd Ed.) [e-version] by ISBN: 9781743430156Publication Date: 2012Unit: PRN2225
Innovative Marketing Communications: Strategies for the events industry [e-version] by Call Number: MTL Main 394.2068 MASISBN: 9780750663618Publication Date: 2005Unit: PRN2124
Case Studies & Databases
Databases
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Library Studies, Marketing, Sociology, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed analysis of Australian industries including key statistics, market size, industry segmentation, participants and 5-year outlook. - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date access to company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
Organisations
- The Aspen InstituteThe Aspen Institute, Centre for Business Education. Search by Industry, discipline or topic.
- Golden Target Awards: WinnersAnnual awards of the Public Relations Institute of Australia (PRIA)
Industry & Professional Bodies
- Institute for Public RelationsIndependent nonprofit organization that provides access to documents and research-based knowledge in public relations.
- Public Relations Institute of Australia (PRIA)The national industry body for public relations and communication professionals in Australia. PRIA represents and provides professional support and recognition to practitioners and consultants nationwide.
Online Resources
- Adnews
AdNews is a fortnightly print magazine, with an accompanying daily email newsletter for subscribers. AdNews serves the advertising, marketing and media industries and includes profiles, news articles, market reports, trend spotting, recruitment and industry commentary. - B&T
B&T was launched in 1950 as a fortnightly magazine called Broadcasting and Television. As the marketing, media, PR and advertising industries have evolved, so has B&T. The magazine now offers a variety of communication platforms including: a daily electronic newsletter, delivered to more than 20,000 email addresses every afternoon; the B&T website, which has over 250,000 page impressions per month; and the fortnightly hard-copy version. - Media Week
Mediaweek is a trade magazine for the media industry (including press, television, digital, broadcast, outdoor and advertising media).There is a daily digital edition as well as a weekly hard copy version of the publication. - PR NewswirePR Newswire empowers communicators to identify and engage with key influencers, craft and distribute meaningful stories, and measure the financial impact of their efforts.
Opinions & Poll Data
Australian Data Archive
Australian Data Archive (ADA) includes a significant collection of Opinion and News Poll data. This data is freely available at: https://ada.edu.au/
From the ADA Home page select the ADA Dataverse catalogue, and the Social Science collection. All collections within the Social Science collection will be displayed. You can search for polls to display all available poll data. Each poll includes information on sample and you can also browse and select variables. Some data can be viewed online but analysis of data requires registration and a login for information on data access.
An introduction to the Data Archive and a User Guide are available from the ADA website http://www.ada.edu.au/ada/user-guides
Factiva
Factiva's content search will allow you to locate news media coverage "primarily based on the results of a survey, poll or questionnaire". This search may help you locate or identify an opinion poll or survey on your research area. One you have selected Survey/opinion poll from the content options you can limit your search to a region or country, a topic, a news source or date or date range.
Online Sources
- ACNielsenNielsen is a global measurement and data analytics company.
- ANU PollQuarterly survey of Australian public opinion conducted by the Australian National University.
- Crikey -Opinion PollsCrikey.com monitors the latest opinion polls.
- Gallup.comGallup provides data based news based on US and world polls and daily tracking of public opinion research. Some summary data and links to data from other organisations freely available.
- Lowy Institute PollLong-standing public opinion polling program, the Lowy Institute Poll.
- NewspollThe Australian Newspaper
- PollsterHuffPost Pollster tracks thousands of public polls to give you the latest data on elections, political opinions and more.