Subject Headings & Call Numbers
One of the best ways to target your searches is via a Subject Heading in the Advanced Search page of ECU library search.
Subject Headings are far more precise search terms than the default Keyword searches, and a Subject Heading directly reflects what an item is about, rather than returning incidental results.
You can also mix and match Subject Headings, and this search strategy can result in highly relevant references. When using the library search, look for a subject, and then limit by the second subject.
For example:
- Australia AND Women Photographers
- Portrait Photography AND Photography Technique
These searches will only return results which include both terms.
Note: The "AND" is in ALL CAPs.
You can also limit using either OR and NOT as well:
- Photography, Artistic History and Criticism OR Photography, Artistic Themes, Motives
This will return anything that includes either / or the subjects, a huge number of results!
- Women Photographers NOT Australia
Will return results which include women photographers, except those from Australia.
Below is a selection of books in the study area, and a guide to call numbers to help you browse the shelves for items on similar topics.
See the Find Books and More page for further tips on searching Subject Headings.
| Call Number | Subject Heading | Call Number | Subject Heading |
| 776 | Computers, Digital Media Photography | 770 | Photography Philosophy |
| 770.994 | Photographers Australia | Photography, Photoessays & Documentaries | |
| 704 / 770 | Photography, Artistic History and criticism | Photography, Subjects & Themes General | |
| 779 | Photography, Artistic Themes, motives | 771 | Photography Technique |
| 770 | Photography, Collections, Catalogs, Exhibitions General | 778-779 | Portrait photography |
| 779 | Photography, Individual Photographers General | 779 | Women photographers |
Indexes & Databases
Select Journals
Journals with photography specific content
Photographers
Books
A small selection of the thousands of books available to browse.
Photography, Truth and Reconciliation by ISBN: 9781003103820Publication Date: 2020e-Book
Examines the prevalence of photography in cultural responses to processes of truth and reconciliation, and argues that photographs are a valuable means through which stories can be retold and historiography can be rethought. Case studies from Argentina, Canada, Australia, South Africa and Cambodia. Open Access PDF under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com
Photography, Humanitarianism, Empire by ISBN: 9781003103813Publication Date: 2020eBook. This book explores the role of photography in shaping ideas about race and difference from the 1840s to the 1948 Declaration of Human Rights. Focusing on Australian experience in a global context, a rich selection of case studies - drawing on a range of visual genres, from portraiture to ethnographic to scientific photographs - show how photographic encounters between Aboriginals, missionaries, scientists, photographers and writers fuelled international debates about morality, law, politics and human rights.
Photographers' Sketchbooks by Call Number: MTL Main 770.922 MCLISBN: 0500544344Publication Date: 2014Find out how Alec Soth constructs his projects, why Trent Parke relies on old-fashioned Polaroids and hand-made books, and how forty-one other photographers experiment with new and old technologies, turn their photo-diaries into exhibitions, and attract audiences of millions via online platforms.
Women Street Photographers by Call Number: 779.24 SAMISBN: 9783791387406Publication Date: 2021This book explores the work of 100 women and the experiences behind their greatest images.
Photographers A-Z by Call Number: MTL Main Q 770.922 KOEISBN: 3836511096Publication Date: 2011A comprehensive overview of the most influential photographers of the 20th century.
Australian Photographers
Australian Photographers Collection (Vol. 1) by Call Number: MTL Main Q 779.9994 AUSISBN: 9766410682Publication Date: 1996
Australian Photographers Collection (Vol. 2) by Call Number: MTL Main Q 779.9994 AUSISBN: 9057031116Publication Date: 1997
AUTOBIOGRAPHIES by Call Number: MTL Main 770.92 PAMISBN: 8416248745Publication Date: 2017In this book, this Australian photographer, one of the great contemporary photographers, gathers together a personal biography in which photographs mix with all kinds of personal and sentimental documents: facsimiles of his notebooks and diaries, passports, postcards, letters, drawings.
Margaret Michaelis: Love, loss and photography by Call Number: MTL Main 770.92 MICISBN: 0642541205Publication Date: 2005Michaelis's life in Europe was dislocated by the rise of fascism and the outbreak of World War II. She suffered acute personal losses and challenges in finding a new path for her art and life in Australia. Ennis has compiled her journey, through the hundreds of photographs in Michaelis's archive.
Associations & Organisations
Websites & Galleries
- Centre for Creative PhotographyThe Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. The archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great 20th-century photographers are retained—over fifty archives in all.
- George Eastman MuseumThe photography collection at the George Eastman Museum, among the oldest and best in the world, comprises more than 400,000 photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day.
- Getty ImagesRoyalty-free images (but not free / Creative Commons / Public Domain)
- National Gallery of Australia's photography collectionHolds over 13,000 Australian and International works
- National Museum of Photography, Film and TelevisionUnited Kingdom
- PictureAustraliaThe largest catalogue of photographs and artworks available in Australia, run by the National Library of Australia
- Prints and Photographs Online CatalogFrom the Library of Congress
- Stills GalleryA leading Australian gallery with a focus on contemporary photography and multimedia art. STILLS represents both emerging and established artists, and has a long history of fostering artists who work at the forefront of contemporary photo media practice.