The metrics are centered around the number of citations accumulated by articles in that journal. Implicit in this is the assumption that the greater the number of citations, the more important and relevant that journal is.
The journal metrics generated by both Scopus and the Web of Science are used by institutions and organisations to rate both research and journal performance.
A journal's metrics will vary between databases as they will reflect how the article is being cited within that database. As each data base indexes a different range of titles, it is expected that the results will vary.
A multidisciplinary journal title's metric may have several metrics reflecting it's standing within the different subject categories it covers e.g. a sports science journal which falls under both:
could receive a different SJR, CiteScore or Impact Factor for each subject category.
The Scopus Source list (located in the uppermost menu) lists all titles indexed by Scopus.
CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received per document published in the title. CiteScore and CiteScore percentile should not be used to compare journals from different subject areas as they are not field-normalised or weighted.
Scimago Journal Rank (SJR) measures weighted citations received by the title. Citation weighting depends on subject field and prestige of the citing title.
Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) measures actual citations received relative to citations expected for the journal title's subject field.
The Scimago Journal Rankings (SJR) score for a journal is calculated by taking into account both the number of citations
a journal receives as well as the "importance" of the citing journal.
SJR is a normalised score which allows journals from different disciplines to be compared.
Click on a title to see more information e.g. the subject categories it covers. For journals that have been categorised under more than one subject area, the SJR for each subject area may be different.
The Quartile level indicates where the journal sits in it's subject category
with Q1 indicating that the title is in the top 25% of journals in that subject category
multidisciplinary journals may attain different Quartile metrics for each of their different subject category
The Scopus compare sources tool enables you to compare up to 10 sources on a variety of parameters.
The Compare sources tool is available in both a chart and a table view. The chart displays information in a line graph, with separate graphs for each parameter. The table lists parameters together in one table.
Set an appropriate date range - view recent metrics or metrics across all dates
For definitions of Metrics provided: see Quick Reference Cards for Research Impact Metrics
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
View up to date information about JCR including the current year's highlights
JCR is published annually in two editions, and only the editions and years to which ECU subscribes appear on the home page. Some subjects can appear in both editions.
For example:
An impact factor of 1.0 indicates that on average, the articles published one or two years ago have been cited once
An impact factor of 3 indicates that on average, the articles published one or two years ago have been cited 3 times.
J
The Journal Impact Factor (JIF) Percentile transforms the rank in category by Journal Impact Factor into a percentile value, allowing more meaningful cross-category comparison.
The Average Journal Impact Factor (JIF) Percentile takes the sum of the JIF Percentile for each category under consideration, and then calculates the average from those values.
1. Search Web of Science
2. If you're happy that the results list match you topic expectations, click on Analyze Results
3. Sort Results options:
There are lots of sorting options including
Search Web of Science by journal publication
Click on Citation Report
Metrics provided on that title include:
An easy way to to discover the h-index of a journal is to go to Scimago (Scimago uses Scopus citation data to calculate it's metrics)
Either
The journal's landing page will display the journal's h-index.
Is the h-index for articles published in the last 5 complete years. It is the largest number h such that h articles published in 2012-2016 have at least h citations each.
For a publication is the median number of citations for the articles that make up its h5-index.
