Skip to Main Content

Promote: Author metrics

Author metrics

There are several ways an author may measure research performance:

  • Number of publications
  • Citations received overall or for an item
  • Average number of citations
  • Download numbers
  • h-index

The services and information below are tools commonly used to measure the impact and performance of your research

Web of Science

The Web of Science database is a suite of products that combine to show performance and impact of research.  The index includes over 21,000 peer reviewed scholarly journals across disciplines to show the citation connections between the content.

ECU Researchers can register with Web of Science to access further products including the InCites Benchmarking and Analytics tool.

  • Follow the link above to Web of Science or from the ECU Library list of databases
  • From the landing page,  select Sign In and register

        undefined

 

  • View this information from Web of Science to help you track your own research impact and learn more about their author metrics.

Analyse your own citation count and impact

The Citation Report in Web of Science displays articles which have attracted the most citations.

1. Search for your topic.

2. View your results list and modify your search keywords if necessary.

3. Click on Create Citation Report (You will only be able to do this if there are fewer than 10,000 results. Further filter or change your search until you are under this limit).

undefined

 

4. Records on the Results page are sorted by Times Cited -- highest to lowest by default. However, you can sort the results by selecting another sort option from the Sort by menu located at the top and bottom of the table.

 

undefined

Search the Web of Science database

View results found and if necessary, modify your search terms.

Click on Analyze Results.

Image showing location of the Web of Science's Analyze Results link at the top of the results list

 

The Results Analysis will allow you to rank up to 500 records

1. Your search terms will be displayed.

2. Select Authors (scroll to view the many other options available).

3. In show above the list of authors, select how many top authors you wish to view ... 10, 25, 50, 100, 250, 500.

4. Analyse.

5. Authors will be ranked by number of articles published.

Web of Science Analyze by author

 

To View Records of a listed author

  • Tick box to select author.
  • Scroll dow & Click on View selected.

1.Search for the author whose profile you would like to view using either the drop down option for Author on the Basic search, or by selecting Author search from the banner.

2.View the results list to check the profile, if there are papers from multiple authors, click on the name of the correct author in one of the citations.

3.Once you have the list of publications click on the Create Citation Report Link.

4.View author's metrics.

Scopus and SciVal

SciVal and Scopus, products of the Elsevier Group are web-based tools that allow in-depth analysis of the publications indexed and cited in the Scopus database.

ECU Researchers can register with SciVal to use different modules that track and visualise an individual's research performance, benchmark an individual relative to peers, compare groups of individuals, track collaboration patterns and find new potential collaborators.

  • Follow the link above to SciVal or from the ECU Library list of databases
  • From the landing page, select Create Account and register

undefined

 

  • View this information from Scopus to help you locate your own research outputs, citations and learn more about author metrics.

Searching for authors and Reviewing author details

 

  • ECU has arranged with SciVal to have predefined groups of researchers, these groups are updated annually, you may search for new a new researcher or create your own groups using the Overview Module.

undefinedSearching for authors and Defined new authors

 

On Scopus the Author search helps you find information about publications by a specific person on the Scopus database.

Follow these steps to search for an author

  • On Scopus click the ‘Search’ tab along the top banner.
  • Click Authors
  • You can enter the author’s last name, initials, first name, affiliation, and / or ORCID.
  • Click the magnifying glass to search
  • After selecting the correct author and the list of documents an further analysis of the documents can be seen

undefined

Further information on working with author search results in Scopus is available at the support center.

Begin in the overview module:

  • Click on Researchers and Groups along the side panel.
  • Find either a single author or create a group of authors by selecting the + Researchers and Groups.
  • Once you have selected the researcher a summary of their work will display in the right panel.

Although SciVal uses Scopus citation data, an author's research metrics may differ in each database if the user does not make sure that both databases are searching the same date ranges.
 

SciVal draws its data from Scopus.

If you're interested in knowing the top 10 authors in a field, using the Analyze tool in Scopus is sufficient. However, if you wish to see ALL authors, SciVal has an upper limit of displaying the top ~500 authors

 

To find top authors, sources etc. publishing on a topic

1. Click on Trends along the top banner.

2. In Topics and Research Areas, use a pre-defined topic OR search and define a new topic.

Screenshot of SciVal Trends Module

1. In Trends

2. Select the Topic

3. Click on Authors

4. Select Table view

5. Select all authors

 The Author List provides the following author metrics for each author:

  • scholarly output
  • views count (citations viewed on Scopus)
  • field Weighted Citation (higher scores are better)
  • citation Count (number of times cited) 

clicking on each author displays further metrics options.

7. Click on the small red arrow next to each metric to SORT authors by that metric.

8.. Export results and PDF/Print or Save as a CSV or XML file.

Image of SciVal Trends module - viewing a Topic

Google Scholar

  • You will only find an author profile if the author has set their GS Profile themselves.
  • Search Google Scholar for an author.
  • Click on the Author link provided.
  • View GS metrics for the author (these metrics will look different from the ones you see either in Scopus or Web of Science).

An author's h-index attempts to measure both the productivity and citation impact of the publications of a scientist or scholar.

The h-index is based on the highest number of papers included that have had at least the same number of citations. e.g. a h-index of 8 indicates that at least 8 of the author's articles have each received at least 8 citations.

The h-index can vary between databases, as the set of citations they are using to calculate the metric can be different.


The h5-index is based upon data from the last completed 5 years e.g. when selecting 2016, the h5-index will be for 2012-2016.

 

Expand all