Conducting a Systematic Review
What is a Systematic Review and how is it different from other types of review?
- Video: Features and benefits of a systematic review (1.49 mins)
A systematic review follows a methodology, involving developing a review question, creating a structured search and critically appraising the literature. - Video: What are Systematic Reviews? (3.23 mins)This short video from Cochrane provides a clear explanation about what a systematic review is, and how they are conducted.
How to systematically search for information
- Video: Systematically searching for information Part 1Part 1 of this interactive Learning Activity takes you through the initial steps of systematically search for information - the Planning step and how to select the most relevant types of information.
- Video: Systematically searching for information (Part 2)Part 2 covers the steps of locating information, evaluating it and managing it. It includes access to resources available from JBI and also how to get started using EndNote
- Search techniquesThis library guide from UQ library has help on quick ways to improve your search strategy to get more relevant precise search results.
- Database Searching: How to search CINAHL PlusHow to do a keyword search in the CINAHL database.
- How to set up an Alert (in EbscoHosted Databases)Slides only. Find out how to get up-to-date notifications of newly published articles in your subject area.
- Evaluation Websites and internet sourced informationThis CRAAP acronym is great for evaluating non-academic sources of information.
- AACODS Grey Literature Evaluation ChecklistA checklist to evaluate the credibility and reliability of grey literature. Developed by Jess Tyndall, Flinders University, 2010.
Useful Journal Articles on conducting a Systematic Literature Review
- Developing the Review Question and Inclusion Criteria.Article 2 in a series of 6 articles by JBI
- Constructing a search strategy and searching for evidence.Article 3 in a series of 6 articles by JBI. The complete series can be accessed from the homepage of the Systematic Reviews Library Guide
Search Strategy Protocol
- Search Strategy ProtocolThis search strategy protocol is based on the framework proposed with the JBI article titled "Conducting a search strategy and searching for evidence" which is accessible above.
- Search Strategy Protocol (Exemplar)This is an exemplar of a completed Search Strategy Protocol, kindly provided by Amanda Fowler, one of our SNM academics. You can see how this was then documented in her published paper below.
- An integrative review of rural and remote nursing graduate programmes and experiences of nursing graduates byPublication Date: 2017This article published by Amanda Fowler provides some direction on how to document a systematic search strategy in a publication.
- Video: NST6100 Systematic SearchingThis is the recording of the tutorial delivered in NST6100 Systematic Literature Review Unit on the systematic review search process.
Critical Appraisal Tools
- Joanna Briggs InstituteThe JBI critical appraisal tools are the preferred tools used within the School of Nursing and Midwifery.
- Centre for Evidence-Based MedicineAlternative critical appraisal tools that cover systematic reviews, Diagnostics, Prognosis and RCT's. Included are explanations and examples
- CASP ChecklistsChecklists cover Systematic Reviews, RCT's, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic studies and Clinical Prediction rule.
- Making Sense of a Research Article - the Tool
This interactive evaluation tool guides you through a series of questions to help you to review and interpret a published health research paper. The tool was developed by the University of Glasgow in conjunction with the UK Medical Research Council and the Chief Scientist Office.
How to Critically Review an Article
- How to read a scientific paperScientific papers can seem complicated, but they usually follow a similar template. Following these guidelines will make them easier to understand.
EndNote (a Reference Management tool)
EndNote is a reference management software application, also known as a citation manager. Other examples include Zotero, Mendeley, RefWorks and Papers
Use Endnote to:
- Create a list of references from your searches
- Insert citations into a document
- Produce a bibliography in any style within your document
Click on the link below to learn more about how to use EndNote at ECU.
N.B. Endnote® retrieves the information from the database to create the reference. It is bibliographic software and does not correct the errors in the information that is imported. It is important to check all references to ensure they are in line with the APA style of referencing used within the School of Nursing and Midwifery.
- EndNote 20 workbookWork through everything you need to know to get started using EndNote.
- EndNote 20 workbook (Mac)Work through everything you need to know to get started using EndNote on Mac.
EndNote can take time to learn. I would strongly recommend attending an EndNote Workshop which are delivered in the campus libraries. Click here to view a workshop recording.