Skip to Main Content

Nursing: Nursing Reference Examples

Nursing/Midwifery Reference Examples

This page provides some examples for referencing Nursing/Midwifery resources. Some examples may not be up-to-date, please make sure you reference the current version in your assignment. For other reference examples please refer to the library referencing guide.

 

Standards and Guidelines

Nursing Standards

Author. (year). Title of work (Report No. xx). Publisher. URL

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2018). Code of conduct for midwives. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-Guidelines-Statements/Professional-standards.aspx

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2018, Principles 3.1-3.2, 4.4)

Narrative citation: Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA, 2018, Principles 3.1-3.2, 4.4)
  • Standards follow the same format as a Report. If there is no report number then leave that out of the reference; use the principle of cite what you see on the document or webpage.
  • Use the most recent version of the Standard or Code of Ethics.
  • Include the specific Principle or Standard in the in-text citation.
  • Reference the whole standard once in your end-reference list.
  • If the group author is the same as the publisher, do not repeat for publisher.
  • Further information about abbreviating an organisation name.

For more information about Standards and Code of Ethics: APA Style guidelines

Clinical Guidelines

Guideline Adaption Committee. (2016). Clinical practice guidelines and principles of care for people with dementia. NHMRC Partnership Centre for Dealing with Cognitive and Related Function Decline in Older People. https://cdpc.sydney.edu.au/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/CDPC-Dementia-Guidelines_WEB.pdf

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Guideline Adaption Committee, 2016)

Narrative citation: Guideline Adaption Committee (2016)

Living Guideline

Stroke Foundation. (2022). Australian and New Zealand living clinical guidelines for stroke management - chapter 1 of 8: Pre-hospital care. https://app.magicapp.org/#/guideline/NnV76E

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Stroke Foundation, 2022)

Narrative citation: Stroke foundation (2022)
  • For living guidelines where information is continually updated and the publication date for a section is unclear, use (n.d.) for no date and include the retrieval date and URL.

For more information about Clinical Guidelines: APA Style guidelines

Evidence-based practice

Article from a proprietary database (not available elsewhere)

Some databases publish original content or works that are only available in their collection; this is a proprietary database and is a special case where the name of the database is included in the reference in place of the journal title. Some examples are: Cochrane Systematic Reviews, JBI, BMJ Best Practice, and Nursing Reference Center Plus.

  • Treat the database as you would a journal: the article title is not in italics, but the name of the database is.
  • If there is no DOI and you need to login for access to the database, provide a link to the homepage of the database.
  • If the work is designed to change over time and there is no permanent link to the work at the time you used it, include a retrieval date. For the year, use the year of last update.

BMJ Best Practice

Author, A. (year). Title of work. Database name. Homepage URL

Goldfarb, S., & Josephson, M. (2020). Cystic fibrosis. BMJ Best Practice. https://bestpractice.bmj.com/

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Goldfarb & Josephson, 2020)

Narrative citation: Goldfarb & Josephson (2020)

CINAHL Evidence-based Care Sheet

 

Schub, T., & Cabrera, G. (2018). Bites: Head lice [Evidence-based care sheet]. Cinahl Information Systems. https://www.ebscohost.com

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Schub & Cabrera, 2018)

Narrative citation: Schub and Cabrera (2018)

JBI: Evidence summary

Swe, K. K. (2022). Blood glucose levels: Self-monitoring [Evidence summary]. JBI EBP Database. https://jbi.global

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Swe, 2022)

Narrative citation: Swe (2022)

JBI: Best practice information sheet

Bellman, S. (2022). Experiences of living with juvenile idiopathic arthritis [Best practice information sheet]. JBI EBP Database, 24(1), 1-4.

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Bellman, 2022)

Narrative citation: Bellman (2022)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Srijithesh, P. R., Aghoram, R., Goel, A., & Dhanya, J. (2019). Positional therapy for obstructive sleep apnoea. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD010990.pub2 

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Srijithesh et al., 2019)

Narrative citation: Srijithesh et al. (2019)
  • Check the PDF for author information.
  • Different versions of a Cochrane review may include different information. Use the principle of cite what you see in the version you use.

For more information: APA Style guidelines

Drug Information

Title of entry. (year, Month day). In Title of work. Retrieved Month day, year, from URL homepage
Codeine. (2023, January). In Australian medicines handbook. Retrieved February 2, 2023, from https://amhonline.amh.net.au

In-text

Parenthetical citation: ("Codeine," 2023)

Narrative citation: "Codeine" (2023)
  • Use title in place of author.
  • For online content that is continually updated include the full date (year, Month day) and a retrieval date.
  • Use the revised/ modified/ updated date. This may be on the PDF, full product information, or at the bottom of the page.
  • Provide the URL homepage.
  • The in-text citation is in quotation marks because it is a chapter or section heading.

Webpages and other online sources

Author. (year, Month, Day). Title of work. Publisher. URL

Perth Children's Hospital. (2022, April). Appendicitis [Emergency Department Guidelines]. Child and Adolescent Health Service. https://www.pch.health.wa.gov.au/For-health-professionals/Emergency-Department-Guidelines/Appendicitis 

Parenthetical citation: (Perth Children's Hospital [PCH], 2022)

Narrative citation: Perth Children's Hospital (PCH, 2022)

Department of Health. (n.d.). Who is being active in Western Australia? https://ww2.health.wa.gov.au/Articles/U_Z/Who-is-being-active-in-Western-Australia

Parenthetical citation: (Department of Health [DoH], n.d.)

Narrative citation: Department of Health (DoH, n.d.)

Donaldson, L. (Ed.). (2017, May 1). Healthier, fairer, safer: The global health journey 2007-2017. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/publications/i/item/9789241512367

Parenthetical citation: (Donaldson, 2017)

Narrative citation: Donaldson (2017)
  • Reports from United Nations and other non-governmental organisations include the date; (year, Month day)
  • If author and publisher are the same do not repeat as part of the source.

NCBI Bookshelf

Rodriguez Ziccardi, M., Goyal, G., & Maani, C. V. (2020, August 10). Atrial flutter. In Statpearls. StatPearls Publishing. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK540985/

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Rodriguez Ziccardi et al., 2020)

Narrative citation: Rodriguez Ziccardi et al. (2020)

Hospital Policy (Only available from Canvas)

Author. (year). Title of work. LMS. URL homepage

Royal Perth Hospital. (2016). Procedural management: Pre and post (24-48 hours) NPS. Canvas. https://courses.ecu.edu.au

In-text

Parenthetical citation: (Royal Perth Hospital, 2016)

Narrative citation: Royal Perth Hospital (2016)
  • Include Canvas as part of the source.
  • Use the Canvas home page for the URL, not your specific unit.

Library Contact

Library Links

Quick Links

More about ECU

  • Last Updated: Nov 15, 2024 9:56 AM
  • URL: https://ecu.au.libguides.com/nursing
  • Print Page
Subjects: Nursing
Tags: nursing

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Noongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Noongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.