Skip to main content
Welcome to Evidence-Based Practice in Health
The classic definition of Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) is from Dr David Sackett. EBP is “the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patient. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research”.
EBP has developed over time to now integrate the best research evidence, clinical expertise, the patient's individual values and circumstances, and the characteristics of the practice in which the health professional works.
Sackett, D., Rosenberg, W., Gray, J., et al. (1996). Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't: it's about integrating individual clinical expertise and the best external evidence. BMJ, 312, 71-72. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/bmj.312.7023.71
Translating knowledge: A Joanna Briggs Insititue's expertise
An overview article from a JBI Centre of Excellence on evidence-based practice and what it means in real terms.
Published by the Journal of School of Nursing - University of San Paulo which includes The Brazilian Centre for Evidence-informed Healthcare: a Joanna Briggs Institute Centre of Excellence established in 2009
Evidence-based Health Databases
Consists of The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CDMR), Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) & About The Cochrane Collaboration.
How to use the Cochrane Library
Information on How to use the Cochrane Library including access to the self-paced tutorials
The Cochrane Library Reference Guide
Tips on getting the most out of the Cochrane Library
Part 1 - An introduction to the Cochrane Library
The first in a series of self-paced online tuorials on how to use The Cochrane Library; an introduction. [You will need to download Adobe Flash Player]
Part 2 - Browsing and Searching the Cochrane Library
The second in a series of self-paced online tuorials on how to use The Cochrane Library; an introduction. [You will need to download Adobe Flash Player]
Part 3 - Using MeSH and Search Manager
The third in a series of self-paced online tuorials on how to use The Cochrane Library; an introduction. [You will need to download Adobe Flash Player]
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
An Australian based, international not-for-profit research and development organisation that specialises in evidence-based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health.
It contains evidence-based publications which inform clinical decision-making at the point of care such as Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
BMJ Best Practice
Point of care reference database.
Trip Medical Database
Trip is a UK clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality evidence based research evidence. It searches over 75 sites of high quality medical information. The TRIP Database gives you direct, hyperlinked access to the largest collection of 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as articles from premier on-line journals such as the BMJ, JAMA, NEJM etc.
As well as research evidence TRIP also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.
Key Health Databases that inlcude evidence-based information
Click on the Database tab to access the full list of databases available.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The search can be restricted to evidence based practice, evidence based medicine reviews & clinical queries.
Alternatively, you can use the drop down menu next to Publication Type and restrict the search to clinical trials, evidence based care sheets, guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analysis, practice guidelines & random controlled trials.
Can limit to search results to EBM reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials & meta-analysis.
U.S. National Library of Medicine. PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research. A search on PubMed Health runs simultaneously in PubMed.
Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.