Women's Health
Listed on this page is a selection of books, databases, journals and reports relevant to Women's Health. The focus is on women's health issues, including wellness, health promotion, research, social policy, theory and women's health care
Encyclopedias/Reference
- The encyclopedia of women's health [electronic resource] byISBN: 9780816074075Publication Date: 6th ed. 2009Facts on File series.
Global Health of Women, Newborns, Children, and Adolescents by
Maternal and child morbidity and mortality affect women and children all over the world. In low resource settings, it is often the result of an illness which under other circumstances would be preventable and treatable. The disease burden predominately occurs in developing countries, but thedangers facing women and children are global issues. To improve conditions for women and children everywhere, we must address maternal and child health in their own right, and ask how they affect each other.The Oxford Textbook of Global Health of Women, Newborns, Children, and Adolescents is a comprehensive study of the cycle of life. The development of children is traced from pre-natal through to newborns, childhood, and adolescence. Posing child health against maltreatment, injury, and malnutrition,this book asks uncomfortable but necessary questions, and discusses how to influence policy and inspire change. Following women from adolescence to motherhood, it discusses sexual and reproductive health, HIV, injury, pregnancy, mental health, and much more.With examples from high- and low-resource settings presented by experts in the field, the Oxford Textbook of Global Health of Women, Newborns, Children, and Adolescents is a unique resource for medical practitioners everywhere. Divided into eight sections, it takes a life course approach to femalehealth. With a clear structure, helpful illustrations, and study questions at the end of each chapter, it is an easy to use manual for healthcare workers treating patients in the clinic and out in the field.Through its descriptions of the main challenges and explanations of the key theories in the field, this is the ideal textbook for medical students in paediatrics, obstetrics, nursing, midwifery, and other related areas. Looking to the future, it is also an invaluable starting point for policymakersand anyone with a general interest in the subject area.
ISBN: 9780198794684Publication Date: 2019- Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge byISBN: 0415920884Publication Date: 2000
Books - Introductory
eBooks
- Childbirth, politics & the culture of risk [electronic resource] byPublication Date: 2006Journal special issue: Health sociology review, 1446-1242 ; v. 15, no. 4, 2006.
Evaluating Services for Survivors of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault by ISBN: 0761923527Publication Date: 2002
Maternal and Perinatal Health in Developing Countries by
The promotion of maternal health and mortality reduction is of worldwide importance, and constitutes a vital part of the UN Millennium Development Goals. The highest maternal mortality rates are in developing countries, where global and regional initiatives are needed to improve the systems and practices involved in maternal care and medical access. Taking a practical policy approach, this book covers the background and concepts underlying efforts to improve maternal and perinatal mortality, the current global situation and problems that prevent progress. It includes case studies and examples of successful strategies, recommends good practices, and provides a critical analysis of knowledge gaps to inform areas for future research. It is suitable for public health practitioners, policy makers, programme officers and agencies working in developing countries.
ISBN: 9781845937461Publication Date: 2012
Promoting Health for Working Women by
Based on European health initiatives on reducing workplace risks and promoting workplace health, this book focuses on issues that predominantly or exclusively affect women, or have gender-specific implications due to workplace inequalities. Among the topics covered: occupational hazards, work/life balance issues, pregnancy, smoking cessation, alcohol awareness, diet/exercise and other lifestyle concerns.
ISBN: 9780387730370Publication Date: 2007- Reaching for health : the Australian women's health movement and public policy byPublication Date: 2012ANU Press.
Violence Against Women in the 21st Century by
This book examines issues around violence against women in relation to contemporary experiences, theories and interventions. It provides insight from research and expertise of international scholars, which invites readers to critically reflect on the nature, impacts and complex responses to women's experiences of interpersonal violence, inequality and racism. The book raises awareness of different forms of violence, which include emerging types such as image-based abuse, sextortion and online stalking.The book is aimed at scholars, students, practitioners, policy makers and interested community members. A primary emphasis is on resituating major issues in the context of contemporary challenges and current research. Violence against women is an ongoing phenomenon that continues to confront and impact individuals, sub-populations and whole societies. Major misconceptions in the context of family and intimate relationships are highlighted along with prejudicial attitudes of those responding to the violence. Furthermore, cultural expectations and media representations are implicated and reasons for ongoing and new digital technology facilitated abuse are discussed.This book makes it abundantly clear that awareness needs to be raised continuously, along with discussions in relation to effective intervention and prevention. While progress has been made in recent years and decades, contemporary concerns need to be raised, challenges need to be considered to press forward, tolerance towards violence against women needs to be reduced and ultimately prevented altogether.
ISBN: 9781536136517Publication Date: 2018- Women's movements [electronic resource] : flourishing or in abeyance? byISBN: 9780415462457Publication Date: 2008
Selected Books (Print)
Women's health : new frontiers in advocacy & social justice research by Call Number: 362.1082 WOMISBN: 97807890333072006
Women across cultures : a global perspective by Call Number: 305.42 BURISBN: 97800735123343rd ed. 2011- Women's health : readings on social, economic, and political issues byCall Number: 362.1082 WOMISBN: 0757559689Publication Date: 5th ed. 2009
From revolution to deconstruction : exploring feminist theory and practice in Australia by Call Number: 305.420994 PAPISBN: 9783034303514Publication Date: 2010
Journal Articles : Key Databases
Key databases for Women's Health, Women's Studies and Social Sciences:
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowPremier international database for all aspects of health and medicine, including social aspects of health.
- Health Collection This link opens in a new windowAustralian health database providing full text for a selection of Australian health related journals.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowAustralian full text database with broad coverage of Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of journals published by Sage. Coverage includes Social Sciences and Humanities. - Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes full text academic journals. Covers a wide range of social science disciplines including Anthropology, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, and Sociology.
Key Journal Titles
- Feminist studies.Full text available in Proquest Central after 3 years.
- Gender and society.Official publication of Sociologists for Women in Society.