Resources
Listed on this page is a selection of Books and other resources relevant to Health Sociology.
Encyclopedia
-
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences [electronic resource]Describes all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. The online edition is browsable, searchable and includes regular updates.
Videos
-
In my blood it runsABC, 2020
Available via the Informit EduTV database. -
Unnatural causes : is inequality making us sick? "A four-hour documentary series arguing that "health and longevity are correlated with socioeconomic status, people of color face an additional health burden, and our health and well-being are tied to policies that promote economic and social justice. Each of the half-hour program segments, set in different racial/ethnic communities, provides a deeper exploration of the ways in which social conditions affect population health and how some communities are extending their lives be improving them"
Useful Websites
-
World Health Organization. Health TopicsWHO Health Topics contain links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts, organized by health and development topics.
-
World Health Organization. PublicationsUse the search box to search for publications on a topic.
Selected Government Reports
Following are a selection of government reports relevant to Health Sociology. These reports are generally freely available on the internet via the relevant government website.
-
Australia's healthBiennial report on the health of Australians.
-
Australia's welfareAustralian Institute of Health and Welfare
-
Health status and risk factors of Australians with disability 2007–08 and 2011–12Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2016
-
Indicators of socioeconomic inequalities in cardiovascular disease, diabetes and chronic kidney disease,Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2019
-
Social determinants approaches to public health: from concept to practice byPublication Date: 2011
-
Social inclusion in Australia : how Australia is faring byPublication Date: 2nd ed. 2012
Australian Databases
-
Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
-
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary Australian database. Subject coverage includes Social Sciences, Humanities and Current Affairs.
-
Families & Society Collection This link opens in a new window This database focusses on issues relating to families in an ever-changing society. Content includes peer reviewed journals from government and specialist organisations tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, parenting, marriage, divorce, division of labour, working mothers, birth rates and ageing.
-
Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers Ageing and Aged Care, Child Health and Breastfeeding, Indigenous Health Issues, Mental Health and Rehabilitation.
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The broad subject coverage ensures relevance to library users of all interests especially Aboriginal and Indigenous Studies, Arts, History, Law, Literary Studies, Media, Political Science and Sociology.
Journal Articles : International Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA core research database of Nursing and Allied Health information. Additional materials include Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and continuing Education Modules.
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowPremier international database for all aspects of health and medicine. Includes health/medicine and society.
-
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text international social sciences journals from Sage publishers. You search by keyword within this collection. -
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Key Journal Titles
-
Journal of sociologyFormerly: Australian and New Zealand Journal of Sociology. Official journal of the Australian Sociological Association.
Books: Introductory texts
-
Australia's Rural, Remote and Indigenous Health
by
ISBN: 9780729542418Publication Date: 3rd. ed. 2016 -
Climate change and the health of nations : famines, fevers, and the fate of populations
by
ISBN: 9780190262952Publication Date: 2017 -
-
-
Down and Out
by
This landmark study provides the first comprehensive assessment of the nature and associations between the three main forms of social disadvantage in Australia: poverty, deprivation and social exclusion. Drawing on the author's extensive research expertise and his links with welfare practitioners, it explains the limitations of existing approaches and presents new findings that build on the insights of disadvantaged Australians and views about the essentials of life, providing the basis for a new deprivation-based poverty measure.
ISBN: 9781847428400Publication Date: 2011 -
Health, illness and wellbeing : perspectives and social determinants
by
ISBN: 9780195576122Publication Date: 2012 -
Health and illness
by
From the website: "Michael Bury provides a lively introduction to the sociology of health and illness for students approaching the topic for the first time...He highlights a range of factors, such as gender, age, ethnicity and class, which influence the occurrence and distribution of illness over time."
Call Number: 306.461 BURISBN: 9780745630311Publication Date: 2005 -
The Health Gap : the Challenge of an Unequal World.
by
ISBN: 9781408857984Publication Date: 2016eBook. -
-
-
-
-
-
Second Opinion: An Introduction to Health Sociology
by
ISBN: 9780190306496Publication Date: 6th ed. 2018Note: 3 simultaneous user access. -
-
Social determinants, health disparities and linkages to health and health care
by
ISBN: 9781781905876Publication Date: 2013 -
Social determinants approaches to public health : from concept to practice
by
ISBN: 9789241564137Publication Date: 2011WHO publication -
-
-
Social determinants of Indigenous health
by
Call Number: 362.849915 SOCISBN: 9781741751420Publication Date: 2007 -
-
-
Understanding Health
by
ISBN: 9780195597417Publication Date: 4th ed. 2016Note: eBook has 3 simultaneous user access. -
Unequal health : how inequality contributes to health or illness
by
ISBN: 9781442248519Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2017
Books
-
-
Closing the gap in a generation : health equity through action on the social determinants of health : Commission on Social Determinants of Health final report. by The Final Report of the Commission on Social Determinants of Health sets out key areas of daily living conditions and of the underlying structural drivers that influence them in which action is needed. It provides analysis of social determinants of health and concrete examples of types of action that have proven effective in improving health and health equity in countries at all levels of socioeconomic development.--Publisher's description.ISBN: 9789240683334Publication Date: 2008
-
-
Culture, health and illness
by
Call Number: 362.1042 HELISBN: 9780340914502Publication Date: 5th ed. 2007 -
Don't go back to where you came from : why multiculturalism works
by
ISBN: 9781742233369Publication Date: 2012 -
Down and out [electronic resource] : poverty and exclusion in Australia
by
ISBN: 9781847428394Publication Date: 2011 -
Equity, Social Determinants and Public Health Programmes [electronic resource].
by
ISBN: 9789241563970Publication Date: 2010 -
Ethnicity, health and health care [electronic resource] : understanding diversity, tackling disadvantage
by
ISBN: 9781405168984Publication Date: 2008 -
Gender and health [electronic resource] : the effects of constrained choices and social policies
by
ISBN: 9780511386701Publication Date: 2008 -
Handbook of the Sociology of Health, Illness, and Healing [electronic resource].
by
ISBN: 9781441972613Publication Date: 2011 -
-
Health and sustainability : an introduction
by
ISBN: 9780199325337Publication Date: 2015Print & Online -
Health and well-being : a social and cultural perspective
by
Call Number: 362.10994 HEAISBN: 9781611226485Publication Date: 2011 -
Multiculturalism and integration [electronic resource] : a harmonious relationship
by
ISBN: 9781921862144Publication Date: 2011 -
Occupational therapies without borders. Volume 2 : towards an ecology of occupation-based practices
by
Call Number: 362.178 OCCISBN: 9780702031038Publication Date: 2011 -
Occupational therapy without borders : learning from the spirit of survivors. v.1.
by
Call Number: 615.8515 OCCISBN: 0443074402Publication Date: 2005 -
Prevention is primary : strategies for community well-being
by
Call Number: 362.1 PREISBN: 9780470550953Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2010 -
Public sociology : an introduction to Australian society
by
ISBN: 9781743315873Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2015 -
Service delivery for vulnerable populations : new directions in behavioral health
by
ISBN: 9780826118554Publication Date: 2011 -
Sick Societies [electronic resource] : Responding to the global challenge of chronic disease.
by
ISBN: 9780191621055Publication Date: 2011 -
Social determinants of child health and well-being [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9781921348631Publication Date: 2009Health sociology review ; v. 18, n. 1. -
Social inequalities in health : new evidence and policy implications
by
ISBN: 9780198568162Publication Date: 2006 -
Social injustice and public health [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9780199939220Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2013 -
Society, culture and health : an introduction to sociology for nurses
by
Call Number: 610.73 WILISBN: 9780195574623Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2011 -
Sociology and health [electronic resource] : an introduction
by
ISBN: 9780203881323Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2009 -
-
Tackling health inequities through public health practice : theory to action
by
Call Number: 362.1 TACISBN: 9780195343144Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2010A project of the National Association of County and City Health Officials (U.S.). -
