Key Medical and Health databases
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowAn international database indexing the biomedical literature and produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). MeSH (medical subject headings) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, used in MEDLINE indexing.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Link to ECU subscribed full text via Findit@ECU.
Related Databases
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA core research database of Nursing and Allied Health information. Additional materials include Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and continuing Education Modules.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowInternational education database. Covers Early Childhood to Higher Education, Multilingual Education, Health Education, and Testing
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowProvides evidence based information on Dietary supplements, Natural medicines, and Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative therapies.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health specifically Psycho-social, Psychological or Human Experiences.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowKey database for sports science, indexing journals and other materials in all aspects of sport.
Australian databases
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet This link opens in a new windowThe Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet aims to inform policy and practice on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible. The database is a searchable catalogue of curated publications sourced from peer reviewed journals, grey literature and other authoritative sources on all aspects of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.
Citation Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Database Searching Tips
1. Find Synonyms (alternative keywords):
- pediatrics OR children
- teenagers OR adolescents
2. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem):
- child* (child, children, childhood, children's)
- adolesc* (adolescent, adolescence, adolescents)
4. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search)
- obesity AND children
- stress AND (occupation OR job)
5. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
- "mental health"
- "health promotion"
PubMed
PubMed database is an internet version of MEDLINE produced by the National Library of Medicine in the United States.
Open access articles are freely available in PubMed. To ensure that you also have access to journal articles available on subscription through ECU Library, use the PubMed links found via the Library. PubMed search results will then also include a FindIt link to locate the full text of articles available via ECU.
For information on the additional features of PubMed, and how it compares with MEDLINE:
OECD iLibrary
- OECD This link opens in a new windowIncludes OECD Health Data, which offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.