A Good Starting Point
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and key reference sources are useful in defining your terms and concepts, understanding key words and obtaining an overview of the area you are researching.
Dictionaries
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions (3rd Australian and New Zealand edition) by Call Number: 610.3 MOSISBN: 9780729541381Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2015
- StatPearls (NCBI Bookshelf)A searchable online guide to medical topics. Check the references for journal article evidence.
Control of Communicable Disease Manual
- Control of communicable diseases manual : an official report of the American Public Health Association20th edition with updates.
Key Reference Books
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by ISBN: 9781119328049Publication Date: 4th ed. 2019
Control of communicable diseases manual : an official report of the American Public Health Association (20th ed.) [e-version] by Call Number: 614 CONISBN: 9780875530185Publication Date: 2015Online manual with regular updates
Global Health of Women, Newborns, Children, and Adolescents by ISBN: 9780198794684Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of health psychology and behavioral medicine [e-version] by ISBN: 9781606238974Publication Date: 2011- Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions (3rd Australian and New Zealand edition) by Call Number: 610.3 MOSISBN: 9780729541381Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford handbook of health communication, behavior change, and treatment adherence [e-version] by ISBN: 9780199795888Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford handbook of health economics by Call Number: 338.433621 OXFISBN: 9780199238828Publication Date: 2011
Oxford textbook of global public health (6th ed.) [e-version] by ISBN: 9780191030024Publication Date: 2015
Oxford Textbook of Medicine by
Advances in biomedical sciences, the broader context of health and disease, patients and their expectations, and access to medical knowledge are some of the key areas examined in detail among the 30 sections of the book. Sections include introductory sections on patients and their treatment, background to medicine, cell biology, and immunological mechanisms, as well as more subject-specific sections such as infectious diseases, neurological disorders, cardiovascular disorders, rheumatology, and the kidney, as well as many more.
ISBN: 9780198746690Publication Date: 6th ed. 2020
The SAGE handbook of mental health and illness by Call Number: 616.89 SAGISBN: 9781847873828Publication Date: 2010
MIMS
- MIMS Online This link opens in a new windowMIMS online is the web version of MIMS - Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database.
Description: MIMS Online provides access to information on over 3,000 prescription and non-prescription drugs. Both abbreviated and full product information is presented, including dosage, adverse reactions, and drug interactions, as well as PBS data, price, use in sport, and much more.
ECU has a single user license, providing for one simultaneous user access.