Getting Started
About this guide
This guide will help you with:
- Understanding and accessing key resources available at ECU that are relevant to Engineering.
- Beginning your research. The aim of this guide is to provide a starting point for research. Visit the Researching a Topic page to learn how to begin your research. If you would like help finding different types of resources, such as ebooks, standards, and scholarly articles, visit the pages that begin with Finding... located in the side menu.
- Accessing further help. Find links to workshops on this page. Times and locations for referencing and assignment drop-in sessions are located under Further Assistance.
- Developing skills that will help you succeed in your degree and your career, such as academic writing, maths, and digital skills.
Quick links
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library Press is the publishing arm of the American Society of Civil Engineers. This collection includes books, journals and magazines covering construction, geotechnical and structural engineer with a special focus on transportation and urban development; utilities, pipelines and surveying; and environment and water resource engineering. Search the whole collection or browse by ‘Topics’. - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village provides access to a wide range of academic journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, and trade magazines related to a broad range of engineering topics. It also provides access to index and analytical tools such as Compendex and Inspec providing engineering specific controlled vocabulary and material property searching.
- Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench by Accuris provides access to Australian and International Standards (including ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE standards). The database allows you to search for related bibliographic information including technical articles, journals, books, patents and patent applications, and utility modes.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a large inter-disciplinary engineering database platform covering topics including chemical, civil, mechanical or materials engineering. Also includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for all engineering disciplines. - Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new window
Australian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key
4 things you need to know...
-
You have access to a wide range of ebooks - use your reading lists and then ECU Library Search or Knovel to find relevant books.
-
Look for journal articles and conference papers to find innovative information from the researchers who made the discoveries.
-
Ask for help when you need it. Come to a drop-in session for help with referencing, academic writing, teamwork, and more.
-
Learning online can be tricky. If you're having trouble with learning technologies, contact the Library for help.