Skip to main content

Exercise and Sports Science: Journals/Databases

This guide provides information and links about resources relevant to Exercise and Sports Science in the ECU Library and other useful external resources

Feature Journal

Medicine and science in sports and exercise

Official journal of the American College of Sports Medicine.

Features original research and review articles in sports medicine and exercise science.

Key Journals

Key Databases

EBSCO Databases: Click on "Choose Databases" to mark up more than one database to search simultaneously. e.g. you can search SPORTDiscus, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, etc. in the one search.

ECU WorldSearch

ECU Worldsearch is a search engine that searches across the Library's books (print and online) and some online journal articles. This is a good place to start searching for information on your topic.

PubMed

database is an internet version of Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine in the United States.

Open access articles are freely available in PubMed. To ensure that you also have access to journal articles available on subscription through ECU Library, link to PubMed via the Library.

Do not use Internet Explorer to access PubMed. Choose another browser such as Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

PubMed search results will then also include a FindIt link to locate full text articles available via ECU.

What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed? Fact Sheet explains the additional features of PubMed.

Using PubMed MeSH thesaurus subject terms. NLM YouTube video 2013 "Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query":
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyF8uQY9wys

Searching Tips

1. Find Synonyms (alternative keywords):

  • pediatrics OR children
  • teenagers OR adolescents

2. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem):

  • child* (child, children, childhood, children's)
  • adolesc* (adolescent, adolescence, adolescents)
  • behavio*r

4. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search)

  • obesity AND children
  • stress AND (occupation OR job)

5. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase

  • "mental health"
  • "health promotion"

6. "...." (inverted commas)

  • "exercise physiology" 

Citation Databases

Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology Online

Table of Contents Alerts

A Table of Contents (ToC) service sends you the table of contents each time a new issue of a journal is published.

Alerts can usually be set up from the journal website or from databases such as Current Contents Connect  in Web of Science suite of databases.

Website: JournalTOCs is a Current Awareness Service (CAS) where you can discover the newest papers coming directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online. This is a free service for individual users.

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.