Copyright and Usage
It is important to understand how copyright material from third parties may be used in your work (which is distinct from the ethical requirements of attribution covered under referencing). Please see the page on Copyright & Ethics under this Guides main menu.
Finding Films
To find feature films, videos and documentaries you can browse the DVD collection located on Level 2 of the Mount Lawley Campus library or search ECU WorldSearch.
Searching for a film or video is the same as finding a book using ECU WorldSearch. You can use the "title," keyword, director, artist or designer name in the search, include the term DVD or use the Filters to the left hand side of the results list.
Any search can be limited with these filters to items held by Edith Cowan University, by Format: DVD or eVideo, by Year, etc.
Sound Effects
Mount Lawley Campus Library has a collection of sound effects for film and radio on Level 2 of the Library, alongside the CD music collection.
They are catalogued under the Dewey Decimal System, check title lists here. Many of these items are multi-volume, so there are a lot of effects to choose from.
Note: Some of these titles are royalty free, or Public Domain (and need to be attributed as such), others are under Copyright. Please see the Copyright & Ethics page for how you may utilise copyrighted material.
Streaming Audiovisual
ECU Library provides access to streaming video and audio collections that are available over the internet as a continuous real-time stream 24/7. Streaming videos allow you to create and share clips and playlists. You can watch the video before the entire file has been transmitted and you do not have to download a large file onto your computer. The ECU Library sources streaming Video and Audio content from the following service providers. For more information please refer to the Video and Audio Collection Subject Guide
Creative Commons CC Video & Audio
See the Creative Commons & Copyright Library Guide for more information.
Video & Image Collections
Please check the creative commons licensing before using any video or image for your video essay and remember to reference.
Music & Audio Collections
Please check the creative commons licensing before using any music or audio for your video essay and remember to reference.