Broadcasting & Digital Journalism: Journalism

One of the best ways to target your searches is via a Subject Heading in the Advanced Search page of Worldsearch.

Subject Headings are far more precise search terms than the default Keyword searches, and a Subject Heading directly reflects what an item is about, rather than returning incidental results.

They can be difficult to discover, though, so here is a selection of Subject Terms

You can also mix and match these, like: Photojournalism AND Censorship

Select Subjects & Call Numbers

Here are a selection of Subject Terms and Call Numbers (also known as Shelf Numbers).

This is not an exhaustive selection, but can get you started.

Note: Browsing the Library shelves at these numbers is fantastic for finding related items-especially if the item you thought you want is currently checked out!

Unit Texts

Select databases for Journalism, note multidisciplinary databases listed on the main Journal Articles page of this guide.

Academic Journals

• Digital Journalism
• Gateway Journalism Review
• Journal of sport and social issues
• Journalism History
• Journalism & Mass Communication Educator
• Journalism Practice
• Journalism Studies
• Masthead

A journal reporting on journalistic and editorial policy in the media for the trade and professional audience

• Sport in society: Cultures, commerce, media, politics
• Sporting traditions: The journal of the Australian society for sports history
• Teaching Journalism & Mass Communication

• WA Courts e-portal

To find details of court cases in all jurisdictions

• The West Australian Parliament
• WA Police Media releases

Grey Publications

"Grey Publications" are materials that have not been traditionally published, like Industry Reports, Government Reports and Statistics, Research and Conference Papers, etc. These sources are vital for Journalistic practice, as they provide primary data for investigative reporting.

Unfortunately, they can be difficult to find... One way to locate this material is to go directly to the Government Department website, Professional Conference site, etc.

There are other groups dedicated to providing access to collated data, or who bring together research to report on trends.

Clearinghouses

A 'clearinghouse' is an organisation that provides research, data and other information relating to a particular issues in order to raise awareness and facilitate discussion. This information can support a range of people and organisations including activists, service providers, researchers and government agencies.

Australian Data Archive

Australian Data Archive (ADA) includes a significant collection of Opinion and News Poll data. This data is freely available at: https://ada.edu.au/

From the ADA Home page select the ADA Dataverse catalogue, and the Social Science collection. All collections within the Social Science collection will be displayed. You can search for polls to display all available poll data. Each poll includes information on sample and you can also browse and select variables. Some data can be viewed online but analysis of data requires registration and a login for information on data access.

An introduction to the Data Archive and a User Guide are available from the ADA website http://www.ada.edu.au/ada/user-guides

Factiva

Factiva's content search will allow you to  locate news media coverage "primarily based on the results of a survey, poll or questionnaire". This search may  help you locate or identify an opinion poll or survey on your research area. One you have selected Survey/opinion poll from the content options you can limit your search to a region or country, a topic, a news source or date or date range.

Online Sources

• MEAA - Journalist's Code of Ethics

The Media and Entertainment Arts Alliance code of ethics and standards for journalists.

• ABC Media Watch: Resources - codes of conduct and ethics for key media organisations.

Interviews will help give your articles a personal voice.The websites of organizations and associations; directories and Biographical sources will help you locate:

• Organisations and the people who work in them
• Background and biographical information

Directories for organizations and associations will help you locate the people who represent them.

• Margaret Gee’s Australian Media Guide online Profiles Australia's media outlets, includes television and radio stations, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and press agencies, parliamentary press gallery, multicultural press and representatives of overseas press.
• Directory of Non-Profit and Community Organisations (Australia) Useful for locating opinions and information from a wide range of Australian organisations
• Australian Local Government Association: Source for local news and events
• @Directory.gov.au Australian Government Directory - members of parliament, government Departments .... (see also the Government press releases section of this Guide)