Members of the community are welcome to become a borrower at ECU Library. A community member may borrow items from the Library collection, with the exception of items in the High Use or Special collections.
An annual membership fee is required to become a community borrower. The cost to join is as follows:
To join, pay the annual membership fee via the Online Payment system - select the relevant payment type and complete your details. Library staff will be notified of the payment (Monday to Friday) and create a record for you. To activate your record please attend any campus library during opening hours, and ensure you have photo I.D. with you. If you’ve selected the concession payment you will also need provide proof of your concession. Payment is non refundable. Community members are subject to overdue and replacement costs of items.
Any card can be used as your ECU Library card, we simply need to scan in the barcode of the card you select, or we can issue you an ECU Library barcode should that not work or you do not possess a card with a barcode.
Community membership does not provide remote access to library subject databases or eBook collections, however there are databases available for use in the Library at the Public Access Computers.
To borrow an item, take your selection and your borrower card to any Self Check machine located inside each of the ECU campus libraries. When you are finished with your loan, you may return it to any of the ECU campus libraries. After hours return chutes are located near the library entrances.
Please note that Library staff place holds on behalf of Community Borrowers. Please contact Library staff to place a hold on an item.
Collection |
Borrower |
Number of items |
Loan period |
Holds |
Overdue penalty |
| Main collection Curriculum Film/video General music Teaching |
Community |
100 |
4 weeks
|
Yes - up to 30 items To place a hold contact ECU Library Services on or email |
*Refer to 'long overdue' information below |
| Law Society of WA Public Purposes Trust |
Community |
5 |
30 days NOTE: Overdue items prevent automatic renewals |
Yes - up to 30 items To place a hold contact ECU Library Services on or email |
$2 per day, capped at $20. |
* Items move to 'long overdue' status after 10 days. Long overdue items that are billed will be sent to ECU's debt collection agency and include an additional $20 processing charge.
Library staff may recall items required for the High Use Collection.
Please check your nominated email account regularly to make sure that you receive important information regarding your library record such as overdue items, holds to pick up, items being recalled and fines.
Items that are damaged, lost, or not returned are billed a replacement cost (plus a $20 processing charge). Patrons cannot replace a lost book with one purchased themselves. If an item is lost and paid for, then subsequently found, the Library will not accept return of the item nor refund any payment.
Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Noongar people, who are
the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs
operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Noongar
people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.