Alumni and Other Borrowers: ECC Borrowers

Welcome to ECU Library. As an Edith Cowan College (ECC) student, you can borrow items from the ECU Library collection.

Computers are available for ECC students to use at each of our Campus Libraries. You can use the computers to access Library resources, search the internet and work on assignments. You can also use your own device anywhere on campus. Printing facilities are available on campus.

Please note that notifications from the Library are sent to ECC students' nominated ECU student email address.

There are how to guides to support you to make the most of ECU Library collections.

The Library's full range of databases and eBooks are not available to ECC students due to licence restrictions. Some databases can be accessed from Library computers. To use the public access databases onsite, please see the Library's A-Z Databases: Walk-in Guest Users.

Digital access to theses may be available. Visit Research Online to browse theses.

Open access databases are also available.  Please see the Library's A-Z Databases: Open Access databases list.

Google Scholar is a useful Web search engine for searching scholarly literature including free journal articles.

Borrowing conditions

*Items move to 'long overdue' status after 10 days. Long overdue items that are billed will be sent to ECU's debt collection agency and include an additional $20 processing charge.

• For items that are damaged, lost, or not returned you will be billed a replacement cost plus a $20 processing charge (per item).
• Rare or valuable books will be charged the full replacement cost.
• Patrons cannot replace the item with one purchased themselves.
• If an item is lost and paid for, then, subsequently found, the Library will not accept return of the item nor refund any payment.

*** Items with a hold must be returned by the due date or penalties apply.

Note: Library staff may recall items you have on loan, including items required for the High Use Collection. Recalled items must be returned by the revised due date or penalties will be applied.

Please check your ECU email account regularly to make sure that you receive important information regarding your Library record such as overdue items, holds to pick up, items being recalled and fines.