What is a journal?
- Journals are published on a regular basis (monthly, bi-monthly, yearly etc.).
- They contain articles written by experts in the subject.
- Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by experts in the field before being accepted for publication in peer reviewed journals.
- The information is up-to-date and is specific to a particular aspect of your topic.
- Journals contain the research information required for your assignments.
Featured journal
- The Lancet2013 to the present via ScienceDirect.
1992 to 90 days ago via Proquest.
Key Journals
- The Lancet2013 to the present via ScienceDirect.
1992 to 90 days ago via Proquest. - The Lancet Neurology2013 to the present via ScienceDirect.
2002 to 60 days ago via Proquest. - Maturitas Official Journal of the European Menopause and Andropause Society (EMAS). Affiliated with the Australasian Menopause Society (AMS). Maturitas is an international multidisciplinary peer reviewed scientific journal of midlife health and beyond publishing original research, reviews, consensus statements and guidelines, and mini-reviews. The journal provides a forum for all aspects of postreproductive health in both genders ranging from basic science to health and social care.
- New England Journal of MedicineAvailable via Proquest 1980 to 90 days ago.
Core Databases
- Embase This link opens in a new window International biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the core database for the medical sciences. It is international and provides authoritative medical information on pre-clinical sciences from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Link to ECU subscribed full text via Findit@ECU.
Additional Databases
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA core research database of Nursing and Allied Health information. Additional materials include Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and continuing Education Modules.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health specifically Psycho-social, Psychological or Human Experiences.
Australian Databases
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
Citation Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Evidence - Based Databases
- JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new windowAn international not-for-profit research and development organisation specialising in evidence-based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
Annual Reviews Journals Collection
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSummary: Provides full text access to journals in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Includes: Biomedical/Life Sciences Collection (25 Annual Reviews journals) ; Physical Sciences Collection (13 Annual Reviews journals) ; Social Sciences Collection (8 Annual Reviews journals).
News - The Conversation: Health + Medicine
Loading ...
Google Scholar search - link to full text available via ECU
Go to Settings in Google Scholar to set up a Findit@ECU link to full text available via ECU.
Follow these simple instructions.
Click on Settings in Google Scholar > Scroll down to Library Links > type in Edith Cowan University > click on Find Library > then Save Preferences.
Postgraduate students and staff are eligible to use the Document Delivery service to request any articles not available by subscription via ECU.
Google Scholar - Export References into EndNote
Change your Google Scholar Preferences following the steps below:
Go to Google Scholar Preferences (http://scholar.google.com/scholar_preferences)
Scroll down to Bibliography Manager
Choose the option Show links to Import Citations into ... and choose EndNote from the drop down menu
Click on Save Preferences
You will now see an Import into EndNote option below each record
To import a record into EndNote simply click on Import into EndNote and choose Open