Neuroscience and Neurological Rehabilitation resources
On this page are listed some books and other resources relevant to the study of Neuroscience and Neurological Rehabilitation. Search ECU Worldsearch for other resources available via the Library.
Reference
Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice by
Comprehensive, easy to read, and clinically relevant, Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice provides the most up-to-date information presented by a veritable "Who's Who" of clinical neuroscience. Its unique organization allows users to access content both by presenting symptom/sign and by specific disease entities--mirroring the way neurologists practice. A practical, straightforward style; templated organization; evidence-based references; and robust interactive content combine to make this an ideal, dynamic resource for both practicing neurologists and trainees.Authoritative, up-to-date guidance from Drs. Daroff, Jankovic, Mazziotta, and Pomeroy along with more than 150 expert contributors equips you to effectively diagnose and manage the full range of neurological disorders. Easy searches through an intuitive organization by both symptom and grouping of diseases mirrors the way you practice. The latest advances in clinical neurogenetics, brain perfusion techniques for cerebrovascular disease, the relationship between neurotrauma and neurodegenerative disease, management strategies for levodopa-related complications in movement disorders, progressive neuropsychiatric disorders arising from autoimmune encephalitis, and more keep you at the forefront of your field. Reorganized table of contents which includes new chapters on: Brain Death, Vegetative, and Minimally Conscious States; Deep Brain Stimulation; Sexual Dysfunction in Degenerative and Spinal Cord Disorders; Sports and Performance Concussion; Effects of Drug Abuse on the Nervous System; and Mechanisms of Neurodegenerative Disorders.
ISBN: 9780323339162Publication Date: 7th ed. 2016
Books
Applied Neurosciences for the Allied Health Professions by ISBN: 9780702030284Publication Date: 2012
The Brain: an introduction to functional neuroanatomy by
The authors of the most cited neuroscience publication, The Rat Brain in Stereotaxic Coordinates, have written this introductory textbook for neuroscience students. The text is clear and concise, and offers an excellent introduction to the essential concepts of neuroscience. Based on contemporary neuroscience research rather than old-style medical school neuroanatomy Thorough treatment of motor and sensory systems A detailed chapter on human cerebral cortex The neuroscience of consciousness, memory, emotion, brain injury, and mental illness A comprehensive chapter on brain development A summary of the techniques of brain research A detailed glossary of neuroscience terms Illustrated with over 130 color photographs and diagrams This book will inspire and inform students of neuroscience. It is designed for beginning students in the health sciences, including psychology, nursing, biology, and medicine. Clearly and concisely written for easy comprehension by beginning students Based on contemporary neuroscience research rather than the concepts of old-style medical school neuroanatomy Thorough treatment of motor and sensory systems A detailed chapter on human cerebral cortex Discussion of the neuroscience of conscience, memory, cognitive function, brain injury, and mental illness A comprehensive chapter on brain development A summary of the techniques of brain research A detailed glossary of neuroscience terms Illustrated with over 100 color photographs and diagrams
ISBN: 9780080920481Publication Date: 2010
The Brain and the Nervous System by ISBN: 9781615302567Publication Date: 2010Published by Britannica Educational. Basic introduction to the brain and nervous system.
The brain that changes itself : stories of personal triumph from the frontiers of brain science [Rev. ed.] by ISBN: 9781921753091Publication Date: 2010
Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications by ISBN: 9780323396325Publication Date: 5th ed. 2017
Gould's pathophysiology for the health professions by ISBN: 9780323292818Publication Date: 5th ed. 2014
Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience at a Glance by ISBN: 9781119168423Publication Date: 5th ed. 2018British Medical Association Book
Neurological Rehabilitation by
Neurological Rehabilitation is the latest volume in the definitive Handbook of Clinical Neurology series. It is the first time that this increasing important subject has been included in the series and this reflects the growing interest and quality of scientific data on topics around neural recovery and the practical applications of new research. The volume will appeal to clinicians from both neurological and rehabilitation backgrounds and contains topics of interest to all members of the multidisciplinary clinical team as well as the neuroscience community. The volume is divided into five key sections. The first is a summary of current research on neural repair, recovery and plasticity. The authors have kept the topics readable for a non-scientific audience and focused on the aspects of basic neuroscience that should be most relevant to clinical practice. The next section covers the basic principles of neurorehabilitation, including excellent chapters on learning and skill acquisition, outcome measurement and functional neuroimaging. The key clinical section comes next and includes updates and reviews on the management of the main neurological disabling physical problems, such as spasticity, pain, sexual functioning and dysphagia. Cognitive, emotional and behavioural problems are just as important and are covered in the next section, with excellent chapters, for example, on memory and management of executive dysfunction. The final part draws the sections on symptom management together by discussing the individual diseases that are most commonly seen in neurorehabilitation and providing an overview of the management of the disability associated with those disorders. The volume is a definitive review of current neurorehabilitation practice and will be valuable to a wide range of clinicians and scientists working in this rapidly developing field. A volume in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series, which has an unparalleled reputation as the world's most comprehensive source of information in neurology International list of contributors including the leading workers in the field Describes the advances which have occurred in clinical neurology and the neurosciences, their impact on the understanding of neurological disorders and on patient care
ISBN: 9780444595843Publication Date: 2013
Neuropsychology for Occupational Therapists by ISBN: 9781118711309Publication Date: 4th ed. 2017eBook
Neuroscience by
Boost your skills in planning and managing physical rehabilitation! Neuroscience: Fundamentals for Rehabilitation, 5th Edition provides a practical guide to the nervous system and how it affects the practice of physical and occupational therapy. Case studies and first-person stories from people with neurologic disorders make it easier to apply your knowledge to the clinical setting. New to this edition is a new chapter on neuroanatomy imaging. Written by noted PT educator Laurie Lundy-Ekman, this book uses evidence-based research to help you understand neurologic disorders and treat clients who have physical limitations due to nervous system damage or disease. Logical, systems approach to neuroscience makes it easier to master complex information and provides a framework for conducting a neurologic examination and evaluation. A clinical perspective of neuroscience is provided through case studies, personal stories written by patients, and summaries of key features of neurologic disorders and the body systems they affect. Five sections - Overview of Neurology, Neuroscience at the Cellular Level, Development of the Nervous System, Vertical Systems, and Regions - first show how neural cells operate, and then allow you to apply your knowledge of neuroscience. Emphasis on topics critical to physical rehabilitation includes coverage of abnormal muscle tone, chronic pain, control of movement, and differential diagnosis of dizziness. Hundreds of color-coded illustrations show body structures and functions across systems. Clinical Notes case studies demonstrate how neuroscience knowledge may be applied to clinical situations. Pathology boxes provide a quick summary of the features of neurologic disorders commonly encountered in rehabilitation practice. New! Neuroimaging and Neuroanatomy Atlas chapter includes MRI and CT images. NEW! Neurologic Disorders and the Neurologic Examination chapter provides detailed descriptions and photographs of techniques. NEW! Diagnostic Clinical Reasoning boxes help you develop the ability to recognize patterns of signs and symptoms associated with specific diagnoses. NEW! Updated content reflects the most current research findings. NEW! Reader-friendly approach converts long, technical chapters into smaller, more accessible chapters. NEW! Reorganized chapters progress from the cellular view to the systems view to the regional view.
ISBN: 9780323478410Publication Date: 5th ed. 2017
Neuroscience basics: A guide to the brain's involvement in everyday activities by ISBN: 9780128110171Publication Date: 2017eBook
Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions by
While diagnosis with a neurological condition may not be life-threatening, it can have significant impact on everyday life and on participation in activities. Occupational therapists must be able to fully consider the physical, cognitive, emotional, psychological and behavioural problems which may occur as a consequence of a neurological disorder, and understand the impact of diagnosis from a person-centred perspective. Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions incorporates theoretical, clinical and research evidence to support occupational therapists in the management of people with neurological conditions. Covers the key symptoms of neurological conditions and the biological basis of these within the ICF framework Provides an overview of therapy and management for all neurological conditions Includes key occupational therapy theory Case studies root concepts in real-life practice End-of-chapter self-evaluation questions help test understanding Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions is the ideal resource to support students, newly-qualified practitioners, and occupational therapists looking for an overview or introduction to this key area of practice.
ISBN: 9781118936122Publication Date: 2016
Physical Management for Neurological Conditions by ISBN: 9780702071744Publication Date: 4th ed. 2018
Quick Reference Neuroscience for Rehabilitation Professionals : The Essential Neurologic Principles Underlying Rehabilitation Practice by ISBN: 9781630911546Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2016
Sports Concussions : a Complete Guide to Recovery and Management. by ISBN: 9781498701631Publication Date: 2017
Textbook of Neural Repair and Rehabilitation by
In two volumes - available individually and as a set - the Textbook of Neural Repair and Rehabilitation provides comprehensive coverage of the science and practice of neurological rehabilitation. Volume 1 - Neural Repair and Plasticity - covers the basic sciences relevant to recovery of function following injury to the nervous system. Volume 2 - Medical Neurorehabilitation - stands alone as a clinical handbook for neurorehabilitation, providing authoritative guidelines on the management of disabling symptoms, and describing comprehensive rehabilitation approaches for all categories of disabling neurological disorders. The two volumes are better integrated with significant new material on outcome measures, clinical trials, combination therapies, animal models of locomotor function, nerve stimulation, and neuroprosthetics, including robotic rehabilitation strategies. Revised throughout, bringing the book fully up to date, and edited and written by leading international authorities, this essential resource provides a foundation for the work of both neuroscientists and clinical rehabilitation professionals.
ISBN: 9781107010475Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2014
Umphred's Neurological rehabilitation by ISBN: 9780323676984Publication Date: 7th ed. 2019Print only.
Journals
- Annual Review of Neuroscience The Annual Review of Neuroscience covers the significant developments across the entire field of neuroscience, including molecular and cellular neuroscience, neurogenetics, development, plasticity and repair, systems neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, behavior, and neurobiology of disease, with occasional reviews in history of neuroscience and ethics.
- BMC NeuroscienceOpen access journal.
- Developmental NeurorehabilitationDevelopmental Neurorehabilitation (2007 - current). Formerly known as Pediatric Rehabilitation (1997 - 2006).
- The Lancet Neurology2013 to the present via ScienceDirect.
2002 to 60 days ago via Proquest.
Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowInternational nursing and allied health database. Key database for occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowInternational database covering all aspects of psychology and psychiatry.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowBiomedical and pharmacological database which complements MEDLINE.