Search for the Evidence
Finding the evidence means you need to find high quality evidence-based resources that will help you make a decision. In this section the different levels of evidence are explained, and some recommended databases are listed.
Not all sources of information are equal. This evidence pyramid illustrates the hierarchy of evidence with the highest quality information at the top of the pyramid. The gold standard for any evidence is a systematic review. Going down the pyramid the information becomes less reliable as a source of evidence-based information. 
Study Type Definitions
| Systematic Review | A systematic and thorough search of the literature, validates the quality of the studies, summarises the data and provides recommendations. |
| Randomised Control Trial (RCT) | An experimental study in which participants are randomly allocated to treatment or control groups. |
| Cohort Study | Group are selected based on the basis of an exposure, then followed to examine the outcome prospectively. |
| Case Series, Case Reports |
Case report provides a detailed report on a single patient. Case series reports on a series of patients with a related outcome of interest. |
| Editorials, Expert Opinions | Opinions of expert authorities. May be based on clinical evidence, descriptive studies, and reports from expert committees. |
Search Strategy
Water Coolers and Childhood Obesity
Chandi is the health project officer at the City of Stirling. They would like to encourage high school students to choose chilled water in preference to soft drinks. Chandi is writing a grant application and is interested in finding any research showing an association between readily available chilled water and rates of overweight or obesity in high school students.
Using PICO to formulate a clinical question:
Population: Overweight/ obese high school students
Intervention: Chilled water
Comparison: Soft drinks
Outcome: Healthy weight
Clinical Question
Does having chilled water coolers available in high schools reduce the consumption of soft drinks and result in less childhood overweight/obesity?
Using the PICO search strategy worksheet, you can now form a search strategy for this question.
- Search strategy worksheetForm a search strategy using the PICO framework. Try running this search in some of the databases listed below.
A collection of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Contains Systematic reviews, Clinical trials, and Clinical answers.
Video: Navigating the Cochrane Library homepage (2.33 mins)
This short video introduces you to the Cochrane Library homepage.
Video: Searching the Cochrane Library (2.51 mins)
How to search for evidence-based information
Includes Evidence summaries, Best practice information sheets, Recommended practices, and Systematic reviews.
Video: Introduction to the JBI EBP database
Contents on the left side of the page allow you to easily jump to a particular section.
Provides advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach. Includes clinical guidelines, medical calculators, and patient information sheets.
Video: How to search in BMJ Best Practice
A short video that highlights the core content of the database.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database
Provides access to high quality evidence quickly and easily.
A series of videos to help you with searching, save results and browse result history.
A user-friendly point of care resource including CINAHL nursing guide, patient education, clinical, and drug updates.
Video: An introduction to the Nursing Reference Centre
For more databases refer to the health databases.