Databases
Databases are more subject focused collections of academically published materials. To search for articles and publications which are related to computer science try using the following databases.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library offers a repository of resources which specifically aim to support community engagement on computing research and practice.
Curated by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to journals, books and conference proceedings they publish as well as exclusive computer subject specific search terms and collections. See this link for details about the “Computing Classification System” developed for ACM
- CIA (Computer Index Australasia) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic abstract only database: 1994-2001. Covers articles on popular Computing, Software, Hardware, Communications and Computer Applications.
Please note this database is no longer updated. CIA will remain available on Informit as an archive database. - Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers Computer Science, Information Systems, Computer Security, Database Design, Software Development, Web Commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets and Internet - Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village: Is the platform home of premium engineering databases like Compendex and Inspec, which provide access to a wide range of academic journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports related to a broad range of engineering topics. You can search both Compendex and Inspec on this platform using Engineering specific controlled vocabulary and specify searching within different numerical unit ranges. Learn more about Engineering Village here.
- Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) broader collection of books, journals, magazines, courses and conferences related to technology use and development. It is possible to browse by format and by topic area with curated topic collections provided in search results. Some Standards can also be searched from within IEEE Xplore. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new windowInternational multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowCovers General science, Materials science, Aerospace, Engineering, Computers, Physics, Telecommunications, Transportation and Military.
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Access Australian and International Standards
As an ECU student you have access to a range of standards. Use the following services to access Australian and International Standards.
- IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) provides one of the most comprehensive international collections of technical industry standards from over 175 countries. In helping to develop and make a wide range of global industry standards accessible IEEE seeks to foster global connectivity, interoperability, and security.
Learn more about the development of standardization across industries and technology here: IEEE SA - Standards in Action (ecu.edu.au)
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
Citation Metrics are a measure of how many times a resource has been used or 'cited' in other works, and where they have been cited. If you are looking for impactful research or highly ranked Journals use these services to compare.
Abstract and citation databases are services that present the citation connections of published articles in a field and compare their citation indexes with other published works.
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, literature or authors.
- SciVal This link opens in a new window
Provides customised research performance metrics and collaboration data on organisations, individual researchers or groups of researchers. SciVal uses the Scopus database publication, citation and usage data in all its calculations.
[Registration required. Sign in with your personal ScienceDirect/Scopus/SciVal account.] - Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Journals
- Information FusionPresents development in the field of information integration from multi-process systems.
Peer-reviewed [Science Direct] - Machine LearningPapers and articles focused on how machine learning is conducted. Reports on a vast collection of learning problems.
- Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital EconomyCovers telecommunication technology and the impact and implications of telecommunications in the economy.
Use to be the Australian Journal of Telecommunications and the Digital Economy - IEEE Transactions on Control of Network SystemsPublications on networked control systems and control over networks. Topics covered include Computation and communication constraints over sensor and physical networks.
- IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in CommunicationsPublications from the IEEE Communications Society covering network communication systems, architecture, protocol and applications
- IEEE NetworkCovers: Network protocols and architectures, Protocol design and validation, Communication software development, Network control, and Network management and implementation.
- Computer Fraud and SecurityComputer Fraud & Security has grown with the fast-moving information technology industry and has earned a reputation for editorial excellence with IT security practitioners around the world.
- ACM Privacy and SecurityAssociation for Computing Machinery
- Journal of Computer-Mediated CommunicationFocuses on the social and political aspects of computerised communications