Books, Reference Works, and Manuals
If you need an overview of a subject area, locate definitions or theory, or if you need an introductory guide use reference works, textbooks, handbooks, and manuals to get started.
We have links to the library collection for the following subject areas as well as some suggested titles. Explore these to find the books located in these collections.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Artificial Intelligence @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Artificial Intelligence by
Negnevitsky shows students how to build intelligent systems drawing on techniques from knowledge-based systems, neural networks, fuzzy systems, evolutionary computation and now also intelligent agents. The principles behind these techniques are explained without resorting to complex mathematics, showing how the various techniques are implemented, when they are useful and when they are not. No particular programming language is assumed and the book does not tie itself to any of the software tools available. However, available tools and their uses are described, and program examples are given in Java. The lack of assumed prior knowledge makes this book ideal for any introductory courses in artificial intelligence or intelligent systems design, while the contemporary coverage means more advanced students will benefit by discovering the latest state-of-the-art techniques, particularly in intelligent agents and knowledge discovery.
ISBN: 9781408225745Publication Date: 2011-08-19
Artificial Intelligence by
This textbook covers the broader field of artificial intelligence. The chapters for this textbook span within three categories: Deductive reasoning methods: These methods start with pre-defined hypotheses and reason with them in order to arrive at logically sound conclusions. The underlying methods include search and logic-based methods. These methods are discussed in Chapters 1through 5. Inductive Learning Methods: These methods start with examples and use statistical methods in order to arrive at hypotheses. Examples include regression modeling, support vector machines, neural networks, reinforcement learning, unsupervised learning, and probabilistic graphical models. These methods are discussed in Chapters~6 through 11. Integrating Reasoning and Learning: Chapters~11 and 12 discuss techniques for integrating reasoning and learning. Examples include the use of knowledge graphs and neuro-symbolic artificial intelligence. The primary audience for this textbook are professors and advanced-level students in computer science. It is also possible to use this textbook for the mathematics requirements for an undergraduate data science course. Professionals working in this related field many also find this textbook useful as a reference.
ISBN: 9783030723569Publication Date: 2021-07-17
Fundamentals of Artificial Intelligence by
Fundamentals of Artificial Intelligence introduces the foundations of present day AI and provides coverage to recent developments in AI such as Constraint Satisfaction Problems, Adversarial Search and Game Theory, Statistical Learning Theory, Automated Planning, Intelligent Agents, Information Retrieval, Natural Language & Speech Processing, and Machine Vision. The book features a wealth of examples and illustrations, and practical approaches along with the theoretical concepts. It covers all major areas of AI in the domain of recent developments. The book is intended primarily for students who major in computer science at undergraduate and graduate level but will also be of interest as a foundation to researchers in the area of AI.
ISBN: 9788132239703Publication Date: 2020-04-05
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Augmented and Virtual Reality @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Virtual and augmented reality (VR/AR) : foundations and methods of extended realities (XR) by ISBN: 9783030790622Publication Date: 2022
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Cloud Computing @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Computer Networks @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Computer and Information Security Handbook (2-Volume Set) by ISBN: 9780443132247Publication Date: 2024-08-28
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Internet of Things @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Machine Learning @ ECULCSH search excluding conferences, proceedings, and workshops
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
AI and Machine Learning by
Was Rahman′s AI and Machine Learning achieves that rare balance of making a difficult and complex topic accessible to non-specialists, without dumbing down.He starts with an enlightening and entertaining explanation of what artificial intelligence (AI) is and how it works. This includes often-overlooked fundamentals like what we actually mean by ′intelligence′, artificial or otherwise.Rahman brings his explanations to life with lucid and, at times, surprising examples of AI already in use around us. He takes these back to first principles, deftly avoiding any need to understand the maths or computing involved. This allows him to demystify what the technology is really doing and show us that much of it is reassuringly mundane, despite the hype.This distinctive approach comes into its own when examining the challenges and risks of AI. It allows the author to remove the drama and fear of sensationalized headlines and doom-laden movie plots. In their place, he offers an insightful analysis of how the major issues surface, what options we have for addressing them and why some dilemmas may prove intractable.A must-read to understand the reality and implications of AI beyond the hype!
ISBN: 9789353884413Publication Date: 2020-11-14
Machine Learning by
Machine Learning, a vital and core area of artificial intelligence (AI), is propelling the AI field ever further and making it one of the most compelling areas of computer science research. This textbook offers a comprehensive and unbiased introduction to almost all aspects of machine learning, from the fundamentals to advanced topics. It consists of 16 chapters divided into three parts: Part 1 (Chapters 1-3) introduces the fundamentals of machine learning, including terminology, basic principles, evaluation, and linear models; Part 2 (Chapters 4-10) presents classic and commonly used machine learning methods, such as decision trees, neural networks, support vector machines, Bayesian classifiers, ensemble methods, clustering, dimension reduction and metric learning; Part 3 (Chapters 11-16) introduces some advanced topics, covering feature selection and sparse learning, computational learning theory, semi-supervised learning, probabilistic graphical models, rule learning, and reinforcement learning. Each chapter includes exercises and further reading, so that readers can explore areas of interest. The book can be used as an undergraduate or postgraduate textbook for computer science, computer engineering, electrical engineering, data science, and related majors. It is also a useful reference resource for researchers and practitioners of machine learning.
ISBN: 9811519668Publication Date: 2021-08-21
Machine Learning by
AN INTRODUCTION TO MACHINE LEARNING THAT INCLUDES THE FUNDAMENTAL TECHNIQUES, METHODS, AND APPLICATIONS PROSE Award Finalist 2019 Association of American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction offers a comprehensive introduction to the core concepts, approaches, and applications of machine learning. The author--an expert in the field--presents fundamental ideas, terminology, and techniques for solving applied problems in classification, regression, clustering, density estimation, and dimension reduction. The design principles behind the techniques are emphasized, including the bias-variance trade-off and its influence on the design of ensemble methods. Understanding these principles leads to more flexible and successful applications. Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction also includes methods for optimization, risk estimation, and model selection-- essential elements of most applied projects. This important resource: Illustrates many classification methods with a single, running example, highlighting similarities and differences between methods Presents R source code which shows how to apply and interpret many of the techniques covered Includes many thoughtful exercises as an integral part of the text, with an appendix of selected solutions Contains useful information for effectively communicating with clients A volume in the popular Wiley Series in Probability and Statistics, Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction offers the practical information needed for an understanding of the methods and application of machine learning. STEVEN W. KNOX holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics from the University of Illinois and an M.S. in Statistics from Carnegie Mellon University. He has over twenty years' experience in using Machine Learning, Statistics, and Mathematics to solve real-world problems. He currently serves as Technical Director of Mathematics Research and Senior Advocate for Data Science at the National Security Agency.
ISBN: 9781119439196Publication Date: 2018-04-17
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Computer Systems and Software @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Systems Analysis and Design @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Systems analysis and design in a changing world (7th ed.) by Publication Date: 2015 [ebook]
Systems Analysis and Design An Object-Oriented Approach with UML. by ISBN: 9781119746102Publication Date: 2020
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Wireless Networks @ ECUBooks and eBooks available at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Wireless Communication Networks and Systems, Global Edition by ISBN: 9781292108728Publication Date: 2015
CWNA Certified Wireless Network Administrator Study Guide by ISBN: 9781119477433Publication Date: 2018-08-29
