Key Databases
-
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) This link opens in a new windowCovers Australia's Political, Economic and Social Affairs on topics such as Current Affairs, Economics, Humanities, Law, Literature, Politics and Social Sciences.
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Covers Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. -
AHB (Australian Heritage Bibliography) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic abstract only database: 1987-2012. Formerly called HERA. Covers published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment.
-
English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867) This link opens in a new windowContains more than 100,000 cases and the Indexes and Book of Charts. Includes multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator and Chart Tool. Also included is the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), along with Pre-1865 Law Reports.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new windowContains more than 32,000 entries to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
-
FactivaCoverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements, and journals.
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The broad subject coverage ensures relevance to library users of all interests especially Aboriginal and Indigenous Studies, Arts, History, Law, Literary Studies, Media, Political Science and Sociology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of Art, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
-
MIHILIST (Australasian Military History Database) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic abstract only database: 1987-1999. Indexes articles from published material on pre-1980 Australian, New Zealand and Papua-New Guinean military history and related topics.
-
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowA major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
-
Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowAccess hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. Includes recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
-
Trove (National Library of Australia) This link opens in a new windowA great resource of Australian material, covering a wide range of sources, formats and digitised full-text of Australian photographs, magazines and newspapers. It also provides the library location of items held by Australian libraries.
-
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new windowA landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Key Journals
Key History Journals
Key Australian Politics Journals
- Australian Journal of International Affairs
- Australian Journal of Political Science
- Australian Journal of Politics and History
- Global Change, Peace and Security
International Politics Journals
- American Journal of Political Science
- The American Political Science Review
- The Atlantic Monthly
- British Journal of Politics and International Relations
- British Journal of Political Science
- Comparative Political Studies
- European Journal of International Relations
- European Journal of Political Theory: EJPT
- International Political Science Review: IPSR
- International Studies Quarterly
- International Studies Review
- Millennium: Journal of International Studies
- The Political Quarterly
- Review of International Studies
Websites
History Websites
- Australians at War - provides access to information on the experiences of Australians at war.
- Australian War Memorial - a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive.
- British History Online - digital library of primary and secondary sources of information on the British Isles.
- German Propaganda Archive - a digital archive of German Propaganda materials.
- History - British Isles (Rutgers University Libraries) - research guide on British history.
- History - North America (Rutgers University Libraries) - research guide on North American History.
- Vietnam Center and Archive - provides access to a collection of digital materials relating to the Vietnam War.
Politics Websites
- australia.gov.au - portal to Australian government websites.
- Parliament of Australia Hansard - transcipts of the parliamentary proceedings of the Senate and House of Representatives.
- Parliament of Australia Parliamentary Paper Series - documents presented to Parliament.
- Parliament of Wesetern Australia Hansard Index - includes questions and speeches index and a subject index.
- wa.gov.au - portal to Western Australian government information.
- Western Australian Consolidated Acts - database of legislation for the State of Western Australia
International Relations