Skip to Main Content

Theses: PhD Oral Examinations

ECU Guidelines

About this guide

Please note that most of the ECU handbooks and training resources in this library guide link through to the Graduate Research School's Blackboard site. If you are having trouble accessing this site, you may need to enrol in the community site. ECU HDR students are usually automatically given access to the Blackboard site when they enrol. The GRS Programs site will be listed under My Communities on the left-hand side menu list of sites that you can access. If you are not enrolled, you will need to search for ‘GRS Programs’ using the Community Site Search box (on the right-hand side of the page). Once you find it, click the small grey arrow beside the name GRS Programs, and you can self-enrol. 

 

ECU Oral Examination Guidelines

The oral examination is part of the examination process for all doctoral candidates at ECU who commenced their studies from 1 January 2018 onwards. The oral examination is also available to PhD candidates who commenced before 2018 by request. The ECU Oral Examination Handbook contains information about rules, policies and guidelines, as well as the relevant documents for the oral examination process at ECU. 

To ensure that you are looking at the current version of any documents contained in this handbook, please visit the relevant websites:

Research student intranet: http://intranet.ecu.edu.au/research/for-research-students

Policies database: http://policysearch.ecu.edu.au/WebDrawer.PolicySearch/Search

 

Available in Blackboard Session 1Link to HDR Oral Examination Handbook via Blackboard

Handbook for ECU PhD Students 

This handbook is designed for students.

There is also a handbook available for supervisors. This can be found on the FOR SUPERVISORS tab on this guide.

 

Oral Examination Training and Resources
HDR Communication Advisers and the Graduate Research School will provide targeted training for oral examinations for HDR candidates. There will be five sessions over the course of a doctoral degree. Recordings of the 2018 training are available on the GRS Blackboard site via the link below.

Training support for oral examination (in Blackboard)

A series of training sessions will be held in 2019. Training will be accessible on-campus and online. The training provided for the oral examinations is optional but highly recommended. These sessions will be made available for booking through the GRS training calendar.