Theses: Find a thesis

The Research Online SEARCH BOX offers 2 options;

• Search "in this ECU repository" or

• Search "across all repositories", which searches the contents of over 550 institutional repositories worldwide which are using this same repository platform.

There are 2 ECU Theses Collections on Research Online

• The PhDs & Masters Collection
• The Honours Collection

Theses are listed initially by year, then alphabetically by author's last name
 

Availability of the fulltext of ECU theses on Research Online?

• the access level to a thesis is set by the author
• almost all ECU theses are now available in fulltext on Research Online
• some thesis may have parts omitted
• some may have a temporary embargo on the fulltext of the thesis
• some theses are available only to current ECU staff and students (email library@ecu.edu.au). You will need to create an account in Research Online to access theses of this type.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

• a tiny minority of theses have been totally restricted
   

Search Research Online for ECU thesis by topic

• enter your keywords in the search box
• use the refine panel in the results page to limit by Publication Type "thesis"

 

Search Research Online for ECU thesis by author

• scroll down the author list and click on the author's name
• in the results page, use the refine panel on the left to limit by Publication Type "thesis"

Search Research Online for ECU thesis by School

We have tried as far as possible to align previous Faculty and School names with current School names.

• click on the Advanced Search button
• enter the current School's name in the search box
• click on the green + sign to add another search line
• in the second search box, click on the drop down menu and select Document Type
• type in thesis
• click on Search

 

• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

  This subscription database is a collection of dissertations and theses dating from 1743 to the present day. It offers full text for works added since 1997 and selected full text for works written prior to 1997. 

• Research Online@ECU

  To search for ECU theses on a topic
  - use the Search Box and type in your search keywords
  To search for theses across >550 institutions using this platform
  Change the location> click on the downward pointing arrow to change location to be searched
  - from "in this collection"
  - to "across all repositories"
  - limit results (using side panel) to theses/dissertations
• Trove (National Library of Australia)

  Trove (National Library of Australia) can be used to find all Australian theses.

  - click on Explore & enter your search terms

  - on the right hand side of the search box, click on All categories and select "Research & Reports"

  - in the results list, look for the "Refine list" panel

  - under "format" click on MORE & the format "THESIS" will display

  - select "THESIS" to view the list of Australian theses on your selected topic
• Australian Education Research Theses Database

  Over 17,000 theses are listed dating back to 1919, and over 4,000 of these are available in full text. It also includes some overseas theses on Australian education topics.
• DART-Europe E-THeses Portal

  DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses
• Ebsco Open Dissertations

  More than 800,000 open access dissertations
• EThOS e-theses online service (British Library)

  Search over 450,000 theses fro UK institutions
• NDLTD

  Nearly 5 million theses are available on the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) database.
• New Zealand Theses

  This is a database of New Zealand’s most comprehensive selection of research papers and related resources - the site includes peer-reviewed and other research
  Tip: Search by topic than refine your results by thesis type
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

  An index of over 3.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.