Encyclopedias
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Measurement and StatisticsSage Research Methods Online
NVivo
eBooks
Data analysis and research for sport and exercise science [electronic resource] : a student guide by ISBN: 9780203642245Publication Date: 2004
Designing and conducting health surveys [electronic resource] : a comprehensive guide by ISBN: 9780787983857Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2006
Evaluating Clinical and Public Health Interventions [electronic resource] : A Practical Guide to Study Design and Statistics. by ISBN: 0521735599Publication Date: 2010
Interpreting statistical findings : a guide for health professionals and students by ISBN: 9780335235971Publication Date: 2010
An introduction to statistical analysis in research : with applications in the biological and life sciences by ISBN: 9781119454205Publication Date: 2018
Introductory statistics for the behavioral sciences [electronic resource] by ISBN: 9781118149713Publication Date: 7th ed. 2012
P I Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS and Excel/i /p by
Provides a step-by-step approach to statistical procedures to analyze data and conduct research, with detailed sections in each chapter explaining SPSS® and Excel® applications This book identifies connections between statistical applications and research design using cases, examples, and discussion of specific topics from the social and health sciences. Researched and class-tested to ensure an accessible presentation, the book combines clear, step-by-step explanations for both the novice and professional alike to understand the fundamental statistical practices for organizing, analyzing, and drawing conclusions from research data in their field. The book begins with an introduction to descriptive and inferential statistics and then acquaints readers with important features of statistical applications (SPSS and Excel) that support statistical analysis and decision making. Subsequent chapters treat the procedures commonly employed when working with data across various fields of social science research. Individual chapters are devoted to specific statistical procedures, each ending with lab application exercises that pose research questions, examine the questions through their application in SPSS and Excel, and conclude with a brief research report that outlines key findings drawn from the results. Real-world examples and data from social and health sciences research are used throughout the book, allowing readers to reinforce their comprehension of the material. Using Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences with SPSS® and Excel® includes: Use of straightforward procedures and examples that help students focus on understanding of analysis and interpretation of findings Inclusion of a data lab section in each chapter that provides relevant, clear examples Introduction to advanced statistical procedures in chapter sections (e.g., regression diagnostics) and separate chapters (e.g., multiple linear regression) for greater relevance to real-world research needs Emphasizing applied statistical analyses, this book can serve as the primary text in undergraduate and graduate university courses within departments of sociology, psychology, urban studies, health sciences, and public health, as well as other related departments. It will also be useful to statistics practitioners through extended sections using SPSS® and Excel® for analyzing data.
ISBN: 9781119121053Publication Date: 2016
A Practical Guide to Cluster Randomised Trials in Health Services Research (2nd ed.) [e-version]. by ISBN: 9781119966258Publication Date: 2012
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by
A practical introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community This comprehensive text, which has been extensively revised with new material and additional topics, utilizes a practical slant to introduce health professionals and students to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology. It draws examples from a wide range of topics, covering all of the main contemporary health research methods, including survival analysis, Cox regression, and systematic reviews and meta-analysis--the explanation of which go beyond introductory concepts. This second edition of Quantitative Methods for Health Research: A Practical Interactive Guide to Epidemiology and Statistics also helps develop critical skills that will prepare students to move on to more advanced and specialized methods. A clear distinction is made between knowledge and concepts that all students should ensure they understand, and those that can be pursued further by those who wish to do so. Self-assessment exercises throughout the text help students explore and reflect on their understanding. A program of practical exercises in SPSS (using a prepared data set) helps to consolidate the theory and develop skills and confidence in data handling, analysis, and interpretation. Highlights of the book include: Combining epidemiology and bio-statistics to demonstrate the relevance and strength of statistical methods Emphasis on the interpretation of statistics using examples from a variety of public health and health care situations to stress relevance and application Use of concepts related to examples of published research to show the application of methods and balance between ideals and the realities of research in practice Integration of practical data analysis exercises to develop skills and confidence Supplementation by a student companion website which provides guidance on data handling in SPSS and study data sets as referred to in the text Quantitative Methods for Health Research, Second Edition is a practical learning resource for students, practitioners and researchers in public health, health care and related disciplines, providing both a course book and a useful introductory reference.
ISBN: 9781118665268Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2017
SPSS statistics version 22 : a practical guide by ISBN: 9780170348973Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2014eBook
Statistical Rethinking by
Statistical Rethinking: A Bayesian Course with Examples in R and Stanbuilds readers' knowledge of and confidence in statistical modeling. Reflecting the need for even minor programming in today's model-based statistics, the book pushes readers to perform step-by-step calculations that are usually automated. This unique computational approach ensures that readers understand enough of the details to make reasonable choices and interpretations in their own modeling work. The text presents generalized linear multilevel models from a Bayesian perspective, relying on a simple logical interpretation of Bayesian probability and maximum entropy. It covers from the basics of regression to multilevel models. The author also discusses measurement error, missing data, and Gaussian process models for spatial and network autocorrelation. By using complete R code examples throughout, this book provides a practical foundation for performing statistical inference. Designed for both PhD students and seasoned professionals in the natural and social sciences, it prepares them for more advanced or specialized statistical modeling. Web Resource The book is accompanied by an R package (rethinking) that is available on the author's website and GitHub. The two core functions (map and map2stan) of this package allow a variety of statistical models to be constructed from standard model formulas. practical foundation for performing statistical inference. Designed for both PhD students and seasoned professionals in the natural and social sciences, it prepares them for more advanced or specialized statistical modeling. Web Resource The book is accompanied by an R package (rethinking) that is available on the author's website and GitHub. The two core functions (map and map2stan) of this package allow a variety of statistical models to be constructed from standard model formulas.
ISBN: 9781482253467Publication Date: 2018
Print Books
Essentials of statistics for the behavioral sciences by ISBN: 9781133956570Publication Date: 8th ed. 2014
Fundamental statistics for the behavioral sciences by ISBN: 1285076915Publication Date: 8th ed. 2014
Munro's statistical methods for health care research by ISBN: 9781451187946Publication Date: 6th ed. 2013
Qualitative data analysis : a methods sourcebook by ISBN: 9781452257877Publication Date: Matthew B. Miles, A. Michael Huberman, Johnny Saldana
