Skip to Main Content

Physical Sciences: Maths & Stats: eBooks and Academic Resources

eBooks and Academic Resources

The sources found here are a selection of academic titles and resources that cover mathematics and statistics. 

Books and Manuals by Subject - are a selection of resources you can use to find theory, formulas, and methods behind maths and stats. 

Databases will focused on Mathematics and the related applications in other subject areas. 

Journals are periodical publications of research in maths. 

 

For how to use academic sources see Researching a Topic for tips on filtering and searching for information

Books and Manuals by Subject

Use dictionaries, encyclopaedias, textbooks, handbooks, or manuals to define, explore, and expand on your concepts.

Formulas, Tables, & Equations

These are a selection of titles covering mathematical equations, tables, and formulas.

If you want to browse the collection of Mathematical Formula titles use the following link:

Mathematical Formulae @ ECU

Use dictionaries, encyclopaedias, textbooks, handbooks, or manuals to define, explore, and expand on your concepts.

Pure and Applied Mathematics

These are a selection of titles covering Calculus, Discrete Mathematics and Algebra.

If you want to browse the collection of Pure and Applied Mathematics titles use the following links:

Use dictionaries, encyclopaedias, textbooks, handbooks, or manuals to define, explore, and expand on your concepts.

Dictionaries and Handbooks

Use these to provide definitions for concepts. These sources will provide academic quality references for your work. 

Use dictionaries, encyclopaedias, textbooks, handbooks, or manuals to define, explore, and expand on your concepts.

Statistics

Use these as a reference for concepts in statistics. 

If you want to browse the collection of Statistics and Applied Statistics titles use the following link:

Statistics @ ECU

Use dictionaries, encyclopaedias, textbooks, handbooks, or manuals to define, explore, and expand on your concepts.

Biostatistics

These are a selection of titles covering Biostatistics and its applications

If you want to browse the collection of Biostatistics titles use the following links:

Mathematics Academic Databases

Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of mathematics. 

Broad Subject Databases

Start with these databases if you are just looking for research in Mathematics. These will give you research that also covers a broad range of disciplines. 

You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, or authors. You can also use these to find related topics. 

Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of mathematics. 

Maths Specific

These databases are focused on mathematics and adjacent topics. Use these to find research on mathematics and its applications.

Journals

Journals and Journal Articles

Journals, similar to magazines, have a consistent cover title, and are published at regular intervals. Individual articles may be written by different authors, and generally cover different topics. Journal articles generally contain specific and more up-to- date information than is found in books.

Here are a selection of journals publishing articles in statistics.

Journals and Journal Articles

Journals, similar to magazines, have a consistent cover title, and are published at regular intervals. Individual articles may be written by different authors, and generally cover different topics. Journal articles generally contain specific and more up-to- date information than is found in books.

Here are a selection of journals publishing articles in mathematics.

Journals and Journal Articles

Journals, similar to magazines, have a consistent cover title, and are published at regular intervals. Individual articles may be written by different authors, and generally cover different topics. Journal articles generally contain specific and more up-to- date information than is found in books.

Here are a selection of journals publishing articles in mathematics.

  • Last Updated: Sep 27, 2023 11:02 AM
  • URL: https://ecu.au.libguides.com/physical-sciences
  • Print Page

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Noongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Noongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.