Medical & Health Sciences - Academic Staff - Teaching Resources: DRM-free & Open Educational Resources (OERs)

OERs - General Resources

BCcampus - Open Textbook Collection
The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is Canada’s first major repository of open educational resources.
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Source)
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS searches open content from around 114 different sources and contains 440,269 records.
Taylor & Francis Open Access Books and Chapters
Peer-reviewed books and chapters across all subjects covered by Routledge, CRC Press and other Taylor & Francis imprints in STEM, the humanities, social sciences and behavioural sciences.
Taylor & Francis Open Access Journals
Peer-reviewed open access (OA) research across all disciplines.

OERs - Cultural Studies: Australian Indigenous Health

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet This link opens in a new window
The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet aims to inform policy and practice on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible. The database is a searchable catalogue of curated publications sourced from peer reviewed journals, grey literature and other authoritative sources on all aspects of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Community-Led Research: Walking New Pathways Together (eBook)
Publication from Sydney University Press - an open-access book on research methods for partnership with Aboriginal communities. A number of authors are from the Wiradjuri and Kamilaroi nations, giving it a NSW perspective.
Rural and Remote Health journal
Rural and Remote Health is an open-access international academic journal serving rural and remote communities and publishing articles by rural health practitioners, educators, researchers and policy makers.

OERs - Addiction Studies

Addictive Behaviors journal
Addictive Behaviors is an international peer-reviewed journal publishing high quality human research on addictive behaviors and disorders since 1975. Some articles are available as open access.
Alcoholism and Drug Addiction journal
Alcoholism and Drug Addiction/Alkoholizm i Narkomania is an official journal of the Institute of Psychiatry and Neurology in Warsaw, and is open access.
Emerging Trends in Drugs, Addictions, and Health journal
Emerging Trends in Drugs, Addictions, and Health is a new, open-access, international journal devoted to the rapid publication of authoritative papers on Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS), Addictions and associated health phenomena.
MERLOT Materials - Addiction
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials.

OERs - Biomedical Science

Biomedical Journal
Biomedical Journal publishes 6 peer-reviewed, open-access issues per year in all fields of clinical and biomedical sciences for an internationally diverse authorship.
BMJ Open Science journal
BMJ Open Science is an open access, peer-reviewed journal publishing preclinical and basic research that is close to medicine. Our mission is to improve the transparency, integrity and reproducibility of biomedical research.
Journal of Biomedical Science
Journal of Biomedical Science is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that encompasses all fundamental and molecular aspects of basic medical sciences, emphasizing on providing the molecular studies of biomedical problems and molecular mechanisms.
PLOS Medicine journal
PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The open-access journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.

OERs - Exercise and Sports Science

Arthroscopy, Sports Medicine, and Rehabilitation journal
Arthroscopy, Sports Medicine, and Rehabilitation (ASMAR) is an open access journal publishing clinical and basic science articles of interest to health care providers and scientific researchers.
BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation journal
BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation is an open access, peer reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of sports medicine and the exercise sciences, including rehabilitation, traumatology, cardiology, physiology, and nutrition.
BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine journal
BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine is an open-access journal covering all aspects of sport and exercise medicine and associated areas such as physical activity for chronic disease prevention.
MERLOT Materials - Exercise Science
The MERLOT Collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials.
Sports Medicine and Health Science journal
The purpose of the Sports Medicine and Health Science (SMHS) journal is to provide an open-access scientific, merit-based, high-quality publication platform for all relevant biomedical studies worldwide with a primary focus on sports medicine, physical activity, and the exercise-related health sciences.

OERs - Health Law & Ethics

BMC Medical Ethics journal
BMC Medical Ethics is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in relation to the ethical aspects of biomedical research and clinical practice, including professional choices and conduct, medical technologies, healthcare systems and health policies.
Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law and Ethics
The Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law, and Ethics is a biannual publication of the Yale Schools of Law, Medicine, Epidemiology and Public Health, and Nursing. The Journal strives to provide a forum for interdisciplinary discussion on topics in health policy, health law, and biomedical ethics.

OERs - Health/Medical Sciences

BCcampus - Open Textbooks (Health/Medical)
Open textbooks in a variety of digital formats.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - Medicine
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.
IGI Global - journals (Medicine & Healthcare)
IntechOpen Books - Medicine
Approximately 1621 peer-reviewed open access books.
IntechOpen Books - Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical Science
Approximately 86 peer-reviewed open access books.
MERLOT Materials - Health Sciences
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials.
Open Textbook Library - Medicine
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalogue of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
Teaching Commons (Medicine & Health Sciences)
OERs from leading colleges and universities.

OERs - Human Biology

MERLOT materials - Human Anatomy and Physiology
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials.
Open Textbook Library - Human Biology
Open access textbooks.

OERs - Life Sciences

IntechOpen Books - Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology
Approximately 297 peer-reviewed open access books.
IntechOpen Books - Environmental Sciences
Approximately 198 peer-reviewed open access books.
IntechOpen Books - Immunology and Microbiology
Approximately 74 peer-reviewed open access books.
IntechOpen Books - Neuroscience
Approximately 63 peer-reviewed open access books.
MERLOT Materials - Biology
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials.

OERs - Nutrition and Dietetics

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) - Dietetics and Nutrition
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Human Nutrition & Metabolism journal
Human Nutrition & Metabolism is a new Open Access venue for human research in the field of nutrition and metabolism.
Journal of Nutrition and Dietetics
Journal of Nutrition & Dietetics is a peer reviewed, open access journal that aims to publish the latest research updates in the field of nutrition and diet.

OERs - Occupational Health and Safety

International Journal of Occupational Safety and Health
International Journal of Occupational Safety and Health (IJOSH) is an international peer-reviewed, open-access journal covering occupational health and safety related disciplines.
Journal of Occupational Health
The Journal of Occupational Health (JOH) is the official English language open access journal of the Japan Society for Occupational Health with the aim of publishing original contributions relevant to occupational health.
Safety and Health at Work journal
Safety and Health at Work (SH@W) is an international, open-access, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal published quarterly in English beginning in 2010.

OERs - Occupational Therapy

The Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
The mission of The Open Journal of Occupational Therapy (OJOT) is to publish high quality articles that focus on applied research, practice, and education in the occupational therapy profession. OJOT is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal with quarterly publications.
OER Commons - Occupational Therapy
Open education resources of different kinds.

OERs - Paramedicine

Australasian Journal of Paramedicine
The Australasian Journal of Paramedicine is an open access, peer-reviewed international journal.
Australian Journal of Emergency Management
A quarterly, open-access journal of analysis, considered views, lessons learned and insights into current and future issues from researchers and practitioners at all levels of emergency management.

OERs - Speech Pathology

Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
The Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (CJSLPA) is an open-access, peer-reviewed, online journal of clinical practice for audiologists, speech-language pathologists and researchers.
Teaching and Learning in Communication Sciences & Disorders journal
Teaching and Learning in Communication Sciences & Disorders (TLCSD) publishes articles that reflect current and exemplary scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) research in speech-language pathology and audiology. TLCSD is a peer-reviewed, open-access, not-for-profit journal.

Academic Staff - Teaching Resources: DRM-free & Open Educational Resources (OERs): Medical & Health Sciences

OERs - General Resources