What is a Journal?
Journals publish original research and commentary on recent developments in specific disciplines.
Professional Association Journals
- The American journal of occupational therapyOfficial publication of the American Occupational Therapy Association.
- Australian occupational therapy journal.Official journal of Occupational Therapy Australia.
- The British journal of occupational therapy.Official journal of the College of Occupational Therapists.
Key journals
These are some key journals for Occupational Therapy available via ECU Library.
- International journal of caring sciencesOpen Access
Key databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing nursing and allied health literature. Also indexes key occupational therapy and physiotherapy journals.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing biomedical literature. This database is useful for searching for information relating to addiction, biomedical research, diseases, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition, occupational health, occupational therapy and epidemiological studies.
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowInternational education database. Covers Early Childhood to Higher Education, Multilingual Education, Health Education, and Testing
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing journals in psychology and related disciplines.
Note: Evidence-based journal articles can be found by searching journal indexing databases such as Cinahl and Medline. Use the "Evidence-Based-Practice" limit option in Cinahl and subject "Evidence-Based-Medicine" or limit option "EMB Reviews" in Medline.
Tip: EBSCO databases (CINAHL, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, etc.), click on "Choose Databases" to select more than one database to search simultaneously.
Evidence-based practice
- JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Find Systematic Reviews, Clinical Trials, Method Studies and more.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
- OTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts of thousands of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
Related databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowInternational index of Education related journals and research reports (Eric Documents).
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowkey database for sports science, indexing journals and other materials in all aspects of sport. It is suggested that to search for journal articles only, you use the limit option Journal Article (Under Publication Type). You may also wish to limit to English (Under Language).
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. - Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowcovers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & architecture database, but also covers art therapy. This database can be searched with other databases in the EBSCO suite. e.g. CINAHL.
Citation databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database includes: Science citation index, Social Sciences citation index, and Arts & Humanities citation index. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large international multidisciplinary database of peer reviewed literature, with a focus on the sciences. Subject areas include Life Sciences, Health Sciences (with 100% Medline coverage), Physical Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
Australian databases
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
Searching tips
1. Find Synonyms (alternative keywords):
- pediatrics OR children
- teenagers OR adolescents
2. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem):
- disab* (disability, disabilities, disabled)
- manag* (managment, manager, managers)
4. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search)
- occupational therapy AND children
- stress AND (occupation OR job)
5. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
- "mental health"
- "occupational therapy"
Drug guides
- MIMS Online This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of Australian medicines information – full prescribing information, consumer medicine information and product images for pharmaceuticals.
Access limited to 10 concurrent users - Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new windowCovers Drug information, Pharmacology and Therapeutics.