Arts Guide: Editing

The ultimate editing handbook, updated for the digital age The Australian Editing Handbook has become an industry standard, recommended by the Society of Editors, and holds a prominent place on the shelves of writers, editors and students alike. Authors Elizabeth Flann, Beryl Hill and Lan Wang have assembled a comprehensive guide to every aspect of the editing process, from working with authors and receiving manuscripts, to editorial, production, printing and beyond. The modern editor must go beyond editing and proofreading, and is often tasked with obtaining permissions, sourcing supplementary material and keeping the author on schedule and on budget. That means the editor is also the ultimate mediator of style and propriety for the piece, acting as gatekeeper between the author and the public. It's a substantial role, requiring the fundamental knowledge of several different fields to achieve effective results. A guide to managing each aspect of the job, The Australian Editing Handbook is an invaluable resource. The Third Edition includes updated information about the new challenges that editors face in the digital age, including: Editing on-screen Digital publishing Handling ebooks Print media versus online publications The book includes two-color printing to make editing marks easier to understand, and a wealth of charts and diagrams that simplify complex topics and serve as handy quick-checks that make this guide the ultimate desk reference. For professionals and students in the field of editing, writing, publishing or journalism, The Australian Editing Handbook, 3rd Edition is the industry's number-one resource.

Editing Fact and Fiction is a concise, practical guide for people interested in book publishing or already working as editors who want to learn more about the opportunities in various kinds of book editing. Written in a lively, informal style, two editors with extensive experience in a wide variety of fields - fiction and nonfiction, trade and reference, academic and commercial publishing - explain what editors in different jobs really do. This is a book to be read, not just referred to. It will be an indispensable guide for anyone thinking about making a career in book publishing, a valuable resource for editors working in publishing who want to enlarge their knowledge, and a useful tool for senior editors in training their staff.

As the knowledge economy takes shape, editors face many challenges: technology is transforming publishing, text is losing out to graphics, and writing is distorted by clich, hype and spin. More than ever, editors are needed to add value to information and to rescue readers from boredom and confusion. The Editor's Companion explains the traditional skills of editing for publication and how to adapt them for digital production. It describes the editorial tasks for all kinds of print and screen publications - from fantasy novels, academic texts and oral history to web pages, government documents and corporate reports. It is an essential tool not only for professional editors but also for media and publications officers, self-publishers and writers editing their own work. With its broad coverage of editorial concerns The Editor's Companion is the 21st-century replacement for the friendly guidance of in-house mentors and colleagues.

Because of its unprecedented systematic approach to text editing, Text Editing is suitable for students and young practitioners and systematically guides them through all the aspects of the editor’s craft. It introduces the various roles an editor can play in the workplace and takes into account editing for an international English market, including the problems inherent in editing World Englishes. The book is based on an internationally recognized working model for the analysis of text quality and is an easy teaching tool that provides a comprehensive and multifaceted account of text editing.

Amoss is a children's book author/illustrator; Suben is a children's book editor. They discuss generating and shaping ideas as well as steps involved in writing, revision, and submission, and present exercises, extensive reading lists, and special hints as part of this course. Case histories illu

Editing is a tricky business. It requires analytical flair and creative panache, the patience of a saint and the vision of a writer. Transforming a manuscript into a book that edifies, inspires, and sells? That's the job of the developmental editor, whose desk is the first stop for many manuscripts on the road to bookdom--a route ably mapped out in the pages of "Developmental Editing." Author Scott Norton has worked with a diverse range of authors, editors, and publishers, and his handbook provides an approach to developmental editing that is logical, collaborative, humorous, and realistic. He starts with the core tasks of shaping the proposal, finding the hook, and building the narrative or argument, and then turns to the hard work of executing the plan and establishing a style. "Developmental Editing" includes detailed case studies featuring a variety of nonfiction books.

This collection of essays attempts to address some problems of editorial theory and practice which its contributors have either encountered in their own work as practicing editors or as critical users of English editions. It also discusses more general questions, i.e. linguistic problems of editing, the problems of editing bilingual editions or school editions and the difficult economics of scholarly editions today. There are also essays on editing performance poetry, the waning impact of analytical bibliography, the role of teaching and learning editing as well as on the situation of editorial theory and practice among Anglicists in Germany.

The development of digital technology and its widespread availability on the personal computer are bringing about a fundamental paradigm shift in the ways that literary texts are created, preserved, disseminated, and studied--a revolution that many scholars have argued is as profound as that created by Gutenberg's invention of movable type. At the same time, a major shift in textual theory--away from the notion of a "Definitive Edition" and toward a recognition of the integrity of discrete versions--has highlighted the fundamental limitations of the printed book. The Literary Text in the Digital Age addresses these developments from a wide range of perspectives. The essays discuss topics from the history of electronic editions to problems in encoding to the relationship between contemporary literary theory and the capabilities of digital technology. Other articles discuss the design of hypertext electronic editions now in progress or projected, including editions of the work of Chaucer, Thomas Hardy, and Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Individually and together these contributions show how such projects will go beyond the "electronic book" and exploit the full potential of the new medium.