Choreographer Websites and YouTube Channels
Useful Websites
- AusdanceAustralia's professional dance advocacy organisation.
- The Congress on Research in DanceThe Congress on Research in Dance (CORD) is a nonprofit organization that provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies through publication, international and regional conferences, and workshops.
- Dance Informa Digital Dance MagazineIncludes auditions guide
- Internet Broadway DatabaseIBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
- McCoy's Guide to internet resources for Theatre and Performance studiesA very comprehensive site. Well worth looking at.
- NIDAThe National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA)
- realtimeAustralian and international exploratory performance and media arts
- Talkin' BroadwayTalkin Broadway is in its 20th successful year providing readers worldwide with up to the minute news, interactive discussion, and information about Broadway, Off-Broadway and the current theatre scene in Los Angeles, Boston, Chicago and other regional areas across the United States.
- The Tony AwardsOfficial site of the Tony Awards
- Vault – the Tasdance archiveA digital archive of the people and work of Tasdance since 1981
- WAAPAThe Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) at Edith Cowan University
Subject Headings & Call Numbers
Subject Headings and Call numbers are useful to know as items are shelved by subject area in our library.
Searching any of these Subject Headings will find you all items (Books / Ebooks, Documentaries, Journal Articles, etc.) related to that topic.
You may also wish to browse each call number (Dewey Decimal Number) as they represent a particular subject, and these numbers can be used to browse the library's physical shelves on Level 4.
Of course, anything we hold in electronic format will not be found by browsing the shelves, but there is still a lot of very valuable information to be found on our shelves.
You can also use the subject heading to search Library Search which will bring up electronic items as well as hardcopy.
Visit the Advanced Search page on the Library website and enter the exact Subject Heading and select the "Subject" field in the "Search Index"
|
Carnival 791.1 Choreography 792.82 Circus 791.3 Dance, Aboriginal Australian 305.89; 781.6 Dance music 781.55 Dance production 792.84 Dance, general 793.3 - 34 Dancers Health and hygiene 617.585 |
Juggling 793.8 Kinesiology (mechanics of body movement) 612.76 Mime 792.3 - 4 Modern Dance 793.3 Performance Art 828.91409 Production music 781.54 Puppets 791.5 Sound effects 792.024 Theatre, general 792 Theatre sound 792.024 |
Databases
- Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new windowAnatomy.tv is an engaging and effective web-based interactive 3D anatomy resource with 20 interactive modules covering every body system with accurate and interactive 3D anatomy and media rich physiology content that is brings this complex subject to life.
- Human Kinetics LibraryIncludes the following:
Human Kinetics Dance Technique Collection
Human Kinetics Dance Technique 2021 Update
Human Kinetics Dance Technique 2023 Update
- Intellect Performing Arts Collection This link opens in a new windowContent includes ebooks and journal articles on visual and performing arts, film and media studies as well as dance, music and popular culture.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including Dance, Drama, Theater, Stagecraft, Musical Theater, Circus Performance, Opera, Pantomime, Puppetry, Magic, Performance Art, Film, Television and More.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowKey database for sports science, indexing journals and other materials in all aspects of sport.
Journals
- Brolga: An Australian Journal about Dance byFounded in 1994, is the journal of Ausdance. It is the premier resource for dance performance theory and practice in Australia.
Coverage: 1994 - 2017 - Dance Australia byDance Australia is aimed at dance professionals, students, and lovers of dance. The magazine is published bimonthly, and includes articles and reviews written by the cream of Australia's dance journalists.
Coverage: 2018-Onward - Dance Forum byAusdance's national industry journal, published quarterly in March, June, September and December. Each issue focuses on a selected theme ranging across diverse and relevant topics such as career pathways, contemporary media, youth and international dance, and education and training.
Coverage: 1999-2007
Recommended Books for Dance and Movement
Ballet body narratives : pain, pleasure and perfection in embodied identity by Publication Date: 2015
Choreography : a basic approach using improvisation by Call Number: 792.82 MINPublication Date: 1997
Choreography and corporeality : relay in motion by Publication Date: 2016
Composing While Dancing by Publication Date: 2010
Dance Dramaturgy by Publication Date: 2015
Dramaturgy in motion : at work on dance and movement performance by Publication Date: 2015
Envisioning Dance on Film and Video by Call Number: 792.82 ENVISBN: 9780415941709Publication Date: 2002-11-22Envisioning Dance on Film and Videochronicles this 100-year history and gives readers new insight on how dance creatively exploits the art and craft of film and video.
I Want to Be Ready by Publication Date: 2010
The Place of Dance by Publication Date: 2014
Stretching anatomy by Publication Date: 2014
Theatre of Movement and Gesture by Call Number: 792.028 LECISBN: 9780415359436Publication Date: 2006
Understanding Dance by Publication Date: 1992When Men Dance by
Publication Date: 2009
The Wise Body by Publication Date: 2011
Your move : a new approach to the study of movement and dance by Call Number: 793.3 GUEPublication Date: 1983
