Biomedical Engineering
- Development and Application of Biomedical Titanium Alloys byISBN: 1681086190Publication Date: 2018"Titanium and its alloys have been widely used as biomedical implant materials due to their low density, good mechanical properties, superior corrosion resistance and biocompatibility when compared with other metallic biomaterials such as Co-Cr alloys and stainless steels. Recently, ?-type titanium alloys have been increasingly considered as excellent implant materials because of the remarkable combination of high strength-to-weight ratio, good fatigue resistance, relatively low Young's modulus, good biocompatibility and high corrosion resistance relative to conventional titanium biomaterials. This book covers recent information about biomedical titanium alloy development and 3D printing. Chapters describe the processing, microstructure, mechanical properties and corrosion properties in detail. Information about the surface modification of titanium alloys for biomedical applications, and manufacturing of titanium alloys by new technologies (such as selective laser melting and electron beam melting), is also presented. Readers will learn about the various types of biomedical titanium alloys, their advantages and disadvantages, their fabrication methods and medical applications. This book is a useful handbook for biomedical engineers, metallurgists and biotechnicians seeking information about titanium-based alloys for biomaterials research and development. "
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Titanium for Medical and Dental Applications by ISBN: 9780128124574Publication Date: 2018Titanium in Medical and Dental Applications is an essential reference book for those involved in biomedical materials and advanced metals. Written by well-known experts in the field, it covers a broad array of titanium uses, including implants, instruments, devices, the manufacturing processes used to create them, their properties, corrosion resistance and various fabrication approaches. Biomedical titanium materials are a critically important part of biomaterials, especially in cases where non-metallic biomedical materials are not suited to applications, such as the case of load-bearing implants. The book also covers the use of titanium for implants in the medical and dental fields and reviews the use of titanium for medical instruments and devices. Provides an understanding of the essential and broad applications of Titanium in both the medical and dental industries Discusses the pathways to manufacturing titanium into critical biomedical and dental devices Includes insights into further applications within the industry
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Additive manufacturing of cp-Ti, Ti-6Al-4V and Ti2448 | Sercombe, T.B., Zhang, L.-C., & Hao, Y. |
Civil Engineering
Advances in reinforced soil structures : proceedings of the 1st GeoMEast International Congress and Exhibition, Egypt 2017 on sustainable civil infrastructures by ISBN: 9783319635705Publication Date: 2018Soil reinforcement is a very useful technique to construct several cost-effective soil structures in an environmentally friendly and sustainable manner. The most commonly used reinforcement materials are galvanised steel strips, geosynthetics in the form of woven geotextiles, geogrids and geocomposites, and fibres from natural and waste products. In recent years, there have been advances in the area of soil reinforcement, especially in the utilization of the technique in field projects. The researchers have also been working to understand the behaviour of reinforced soil considering the field challenges of reinforced soil structures. This edited volume contains contributions on advances in reinforced soil structures, mainly flexible pavements, footings, embankments, stone columns/piles, and slopes, as covered in the subject areas of geosynthetic engineering and fibre-reinforced soil engineering. This volume is part of the proceedings of the 1st GeoMEast International Congress and Exhibition on Sustainable Civil Infrastructures, Egypt 2017.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
An Introduction to Geosynthetic Engineering (Print book) by ISBN: 9781138027749Publication Date: 2016-06-16The development of the use of polymeric materials in the form of geosynthetics has brought about major changes in the civil engineering industry. Geosynthetics are available in a wide range of compositions appropriate to different applications and environments. Over the past three to four decades, civil engineers have grown increasingly interested in geosynthetics and in understanding their correct use. Simultaneously, significant advances have been made in the use of geosynthetics in civil engineering applications as well as in the areas of aquaculture, agriculture and mining engineering. These developments have occurred because of the ongoing dialogue among leading engineers and researchers from several organizations and academic institutions. This concise introductory textbook on geosynthetics deals with the basic concepts of the subject, especially for meeting the requirements of senior undergraduate/graduate students as well as of practising engineers who have not been exposed to geosynthetics thus far. It includes recently developed fundamental concepts and new applications covering the use of polymer and other fibres in soil improvement.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Core Concepts of Geotechnical Engineering (Ice Textbook) Series by Sanjay Kumar Shukla by ISBN: 9780727758590Publication Date: 2015-05-29Core Concepts of Geotechnical Engineering is a practical introduction for students to the analysis, design, construction, maintenance and renovation of geotechnical structures. It presents the key principles of engineering geotechnical structures beginning with shallow and deep foundations and retaining structures through to slopes, embankments, earth dams and machine foundations. The book guides the students through the analysis of soils and rocks, site investigation and ground improvement techniques as well as exploring the geotechnical structures with reinforcement and confinement. Produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers, ICE Textbooks offer clear, concise and practical information on the major principles of civil and structural engineering. They are an indispensable companion to undergraduate audiences, providing students with: A comprehensive introduction to core engineering subjects, Real-life case studies and worked examples, Practice questions, exercises and supplementary online solutions available at: www.icetextbooks.com, Key learning aims, revision points and chapter summaries, Further reading suggestions. Book jacket.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Core Principles of Soil Mechanics by Call Number: Joondalup Campus Library Main Collection. 624.15136 SHUISBN: 9780727758477Publication Date: 2014Core Principles of Soil Mechanics is a practical guide to the key concepts and latest developments in the field of soil mechanics. ... These core principles can be applied to soil-like materials, such as coal ashes and mine tailings, and are explored using real-life scenarios and worked examples
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Earth Anchors by ISBN: 9781604270778Publication Date: 2013-01-01Although earth anchors have been used in practice for several hundred years, proper theoretical developments for purposes of modern engineering designs have taken place only during the past 40 or 50 years. This book summarizes most theoretical and experimental works directed toward the development of proper relationships for the ultimate and allowable holding capacity of earth anchors.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Fundamentals of Fibre-Reinforced Soil Engineering by ISBN: 9789811030635Publication Date: 2017This book is intended to serve as a one-stop reference on fibre-reinforced soils. Over the past 30-35 years, the engineering behaviour of randomly distributed/oriented fibre-reinforced soil, also called simply fibre-reinforced soil, has been investigated in detail by researchers and engineers worldwide. Waste fibres (plastic waste fibres, old tyre fibres, etc.) create disposal and environmental problems. Utilization of such fibres in construction can help resolve these concerns. Research studies and some field applications have shown that the fibres can be utilized in large quantities in geotechnical and civil engineering applications in a cost-effective and environmentally friendly manner. This book covers a complete description of fibres, their effects when included within a soil or other similar materials such as the fly ash, and their field applications. It gives a detailed view of fibre-reinforced soil engineering. The book will be useful to students, professional, and researchers alike, and can also serve as a text for graduate coursework and professional development programs
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Fundamentals of Geosynthetic Engineering by ISBN: 9780415394444Publication Date: 2006-04-26The development of polymeric materials in the form of geosynthetics has brought major changes to the area of Civil Engineering. Increasing interest in these materials and their use has resulted in significant advances in their practical applications in the last few decades. Following this progress, geosynthetics have become a common and favoured construction component in present-day geotechnical engineering. A wide range of compositions is now used, with properties tailored to conditions required for application.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Shallow Foundations | Shukla, S. |
| Slopes – Stabilization | Shukla, S. |
| Earth Dams | Singh, D.N, & Shukla, S. |
| Geosynthetic Applications | Shukla, S. |
Geotechnical Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 9781932159837Publication Date: 2011This one-of-a-kind, definitive reference offers expansive coverage of geotechnical engineering for civil engineering professionals. Each of the 15 chapters is the work of an engineering expert - putting at your disposal a vast source of engineering experience. The Geotechnical Engineering Handbook brings together essential information related to the evaluation of engineering properties of soils, design of foundations such as spread footings, mat foundations, piles, and drilled shafts, and fundamental principles of analyzing the stability of slopes and embankments, retaining walls, and other earth- retaining structures. The Handbook also covers soil dynamics and foundation vibration to analyze the behavior of foundations subjected to cyclic vertical, sliding and rocking excitations, environmental geotechnology, and foundations for railroad beds. Comprehensive coverage, logical organization, and clear discussions make this the tool of choice for both experienced engineers and those just embarking on their careers.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Site Investigation and In Situ Tests | Shukla, S., & Sivakugan, N. |
Handbook of Geosynthetic Engineering. 2nd Edition. by ISBN: 9780727741752Publication Date: 2012Handbook of Geosynthetic Engineering details the different types of geosynthetics and their practical application for students and for practising engineers seeking efficient, cost-effective solutions to civil engineering problems.
Written by subject specialists, the second edition of Handbook of Geosynthetic Engineering details the basic concepts of geosynthetics and their application in major civil engineering projects in an easily-readable form. With new chapters on filters and drains, tunnels, and the use of geosynthetics in sustainable development, the handbook is fully updated in line with current research and developments
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Railway Tracks | Tan, S., & Shukla, S. |
| Fundamentals of Geosynthetics | Shukla, S. |
| Shallow Foundations | Shukla, S. |
| Geosynthetic Applications – General Aspects and Selected Case Studies | Shukla, S. |
Rock Mechanics - An Introduction [eBook] by ISBN: 9780415809238Publication Date: 2012-12-06Rock mechanics is a multidisciplinary subject combining geology, geophysics, and engineering and applying the principles of mechanics to study the engineering behavior of the rock mass. With wide application, a solid grasp of this topic is invaluable to anyone studying or working in civil, mining, petroleum, and geological engineering.Rock Mechanics: An Introductionpresents the fundamental principles of rock mechanics in a clear, easy-to-comprehend manner for readers with little or no background in this field. The text includes a brief introduction to geology and covers stereographic projections, laboratory testing, strength and deformation of rock masses, slope stability, foundations, and more. The authors--academics who have written several books in geotechnical engineering--have used their extensive teaching experience to create this accessible textbook. They present complex material in a lucid and simple way with numerical examples to illustrate the concepts, providing an introductory book that can be used as a textbook in civil and geological engineering programs and as a general reference book for professional engineers.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Chemical Engineering
- Advances in crystallization processes byISBN: 9789535105817Publication Date: 2012Crystallization is used at some stage in nearly all process industries as a method of production, purification or recovery of solid materials. In recent years, a number of new applications have also come to rely on crystallization processes such as the crystallization of nano and amorphous materials. The articles for this book have been contributed by the most respected researchers in this area and cover the frontier areas of research and developments in crystallization processes. Divided into five parts this book provides the latest research developments in many aspects of crystallization including: chiral crystallization, crystallization of nanomaterials and the crystallization of amorphous and glassy materials. This book is of interest to both fundamental research and also to practicing scientists and will prove invaluable to all chemical engineers and industrial chemists in the process industries as well as crystallization workers and students in industry and academia.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Crystallization Behavior and Control of Amorphous Alloys | Zhang, L. |
Catalysis by ISBN: 9781782620549Publication Date: 2015Industrial and academic scientists face increasing challenges to find cost-effective and environmentally sound methods for converting natural resources into fuels, chemicals and energy. With over 7000 papers published in this field of catalysis each year, keeping up with the literature can be difficult. Catalysis Volume 27 presents critical and comprehensive reviews of the hottest literature published over the last twelve months. Covering major areas such as chemical transformations using two-dimensional hybrid nanocatalysts, conversion of biomass-derived syngas to fuels and catalytic oxidation of organic pollutants in aqueous solution using sulfate radicals, this book is a useful reference for anyone working in catalysis and an essential resource for any library.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Catalytic oxidation of organic pollutants in aqueous solution using sulfate radicals | Sun, H., & Wang, S. |
- Development and Application of Biomedical Titanium Alloys byISBN: 1681086190Publication Date: 2018"Titanium and its alloys have been widely used as biomedical implant materials due to their low density, good mechanical properties, superior corrosion resistance and biocompatibility when compared with other metallic biomaterials such as Co-Cr alloys and stainless steels. Recently, ?-type titanium alloys have been increasingly considered as excellent implant materials because of the remarkable combination of high strength-to-weight ratio, good fatigue resistance, relatively low Young's modulus, good biocompatibility and high corrosion resistance relative to conventional titanium biomaterials. This book covers recent information about biomedical titanium alloy development and 3D printing. Chapters describe the processing, microstructure, mechanical properties and corrosion properties in detail. Information about the surface modification of titanium alloys for biomedical applications, and manufacturing of titanium alloys by new technologies (such as selective laser melting and electron beam melting), is also presented. Readers will learn about the various types of biomedical titanium alloys, their advantages and disadvantages, their fabrication methods and medical applications. This book is a useful handbook for biomedical engineers, metallurgists and biotechnicians seeking information about titanium-based alloys for biomaterials research and development. "
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Graphene Science Handbook: Size-Dependent Properties by ISBN: 9781466591356Publication Date: 2016-04-25Size Up the Short- and Long-Term Effects of Graphene The Graphene Science Handbookis a six-volume set that describes graphene's special structural, electrical, and chemical properties. The book considers how these properties can be used in different applications (including the development of batteries, fuel cells, photovoltaic cells, and supercapacitors based on graphene) and produced on a massive and global scale.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Adsorption and catalysis of graphene in environmental remediation | Sun, H. |
Handbook of Nanoelectrochemistry by ISBN: 9783319152653Publication Date: 2015This edited book is devoted to different electrochemical aspects of nano materials. This comprehensive reference text is basically divided in 3 parts: electrochemical synthesis routes for nanosized materials, electrochemical properties of nano materials and electrochemical characterization methods for nanostructures. The Handbook is a reference work to chemists and materials scientists interested in the nano aspects of electrochemistry. The chapters are written by a number of international experts in the field and the content will assist members of both electrochemical and materials communities to keep abreast of developments in the field.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Self-Organized Nano-and Micro-structure of Electrochemical Materials by Design of Fabrication Approaches | Chu, Z., Shi, L., & Jin, W. |
Physical, Chemical and Biological Treatment Processes for Water and Wastewater by ISBN: 9781634833967Publication Date: 2015-01-01Water pollution occurs when toxic pollutants of varying kinds (organic, inorganic, radioactive and so on) are directly or indirectly discharged into water bodies without adequate treatment to remove such potential pollutants.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| The Removal of Heavy Metals from an Acidic Wastewater in Treatment Wetlands Filled with Recycled Materials | Sun, G. |
- Thermodynamics - Kinetics of Dynamic Systems byISBN: 9789533076270Publication Date: 2011Thermodynamics is one of the most exciting branches of physical chemistry which has greatly contributed to the modern science. Being concentrated on a wide range of applications of thermodynamics, this book gathers a series of contributions by the finest scientists in the world, gathered in an orderly manner. It can be used in post-graduate courses for students and as a reference book, as it is written in a language pleasing to the reader. It can also serve as a reference material for researchers to whom the thermodynamics is one of the area of interest.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Thermodynamic Approach for Amorphous Alloys from Binary to Multicomponent Systems | Zhang, L. |
Titanium alloys: formation, characteristics and industrial applications by ISBN: 9781628083293Publication Date: 2013Titanium and its alloys are one of the important engineering materials that are becoming increasingly popular for aerospace and biomedical applications due to their wide range of desirable properties. However, these unique properties of titanium and its alloys are strongly affected by different parameters including: chemical composition, microstructure, manufacturing details and heat treatment history. On the other hand, there has been considerable interest in recent years in the development of advanced titanium alloys in nanostructured, ultrafine-grained, and/or amorphous structure to achieve high performance compared with their conventional coarse-grained counterparts. These new titanium alloys show incomparable plasticity with respect to the conventional titanium alloys. This book highlights the recent advances in the understanding of the formation, characteristics and application of titanium alloys.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| High-strength ultrafine-grained titanium-based alloys with large plasticity. | Zhang, L. |
| Fabrication of Titanium-based Composites by Spark Plasma Sintering and Crystallization of the Amorphous Phase | Yang, C., Liu, L., & Zhang, L. |
| Selective laser melting of Ti-24Nb-4Zr-8Sn alloy for biomedical applications | Zhang, L., Attar, H., & Yang, C. |
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
Application framework for wireless sensor networks : a focus into the impact of WSNs on environmental and social applications by ISBN: 3659253944Publication Date: 2012
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Barcodes for Mobile Devices by ISBN: 9780511723193Publication Date: 2010-04-08Contents; Preface; 1 Introduction; 2 Barcode technology evolution; 3 Two-dimensional barcode for mobile phones; 4 Evolution of barcode applications; 5 Technologies for enhancing barcode robustness; 6 A prototype colour 2D barcode development; The colour plate section is to be found between pp.~182 and 183.; 7 Evaluation of the prototype colour 2D barcode; Appendix A Barcode applications; Appendix B Automatic identification technologies; Appendix C Barcode history timeline; Appendix D MicroPDF417 data capacity and error correction capability.
Appendix E QR Code symbol version and data capacityAppendix F Data Matrix data capacity and error correction capability; Appendix G An image under the every-other-line effect; Appendix H Colour susceptibility and distance between colours; Appendix I MMCC encoding and decoding; Appendix J First-read-rate test samples; Appendix K Subsampling method; References; Index.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Bit Error Analysis in Wimax at Vehicular Speeds Using Nakagami-M Model by ISBN: 9783659377549Publication Date: 2013-08-01
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Digital Signal Processing by ISBN: 9783642155901Publication Date: 2011-02-26In three parts, this book contributes to the advancement of engineering education and that serves as a general reference on digital signal processing. Part I presents the basics of analog and digital signals and systems in the time and frequency domain. It covers the core topics: convolution, transforms, filters, and random signal analysis. It also treats important applications including signal detection in noise, radar range estimation for airborne targets, binary communication systems, channel estimation, banking and financial applications, and audio effects production. Part II considers selected signal processing systems and techniques. Core topics covered are the Hilbert transformer, binary signal transmission, phase-locked loops, sigma-delta modulation, noise shaping, quantization, adaptive filters, and non-stationary signal analysis. Part III presents some selected advanced DSP topics.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Emerging Research on Swarm Intelligence and Algorithm Optimization by ISBN: 9781466663282Publication Date: 2014-07-31Throughout time, scientists have looked to nature in order to understand and model solutions for complex real-world problems. In particular, the study of self-organizing entities, such as social insect populations, presents a new opportunity within the field of artificial intelligence. Emerging Research on Swarm Intelligence and Algorithm Optimization discusses current research analyzing how the collective behavior of decentralized systems in the natural world can be applied to intelligent system design. Discussing the application of swarm principles, optimization techniques, and key algorithms being used in the field, this publication serves as an essential reference for academicians, upper-level students, IT developers, and IT theorists.
| This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) | |
Artificial Insect Algorithms for Routing in Wireless Sensor Systems |
Ang, K., Zungeru, A. M., Seng, J., & Habibi, D. |
- Fuzzy Inference System - Theory and Applications Edited by Mohammad Fazle Azeem PublicationISBN: 9789535105251Publication Date: Date: 2012This book is an attempt to accumulate the researches on diverse inter disciplinary field of engineering and management using Fuzzy Inference System (FIS). The book is organized in seven sections with twenty two chapters, covering a wide range of applications. Section I, caters theoretical aspects of FIS in chapter one. Section II, dealing with FIS applications to management related problems and consisting three chapters. Section III, accumulates six chapters to commemorate FIS application to mechanical and industrial engineering problems. Section IV, elaborates FIS application to image processing and cognition problems encompassing four chapters. Section V, describes FIS application to various power system engineering problem in three chapters. Section VI highlights the FIS application to system modeling and control problems and constitutes three chapters. Section VII accommodates two chapters and presents FIS application to civil engineering problem.
| This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) | |
Fuzzy Inference System in Energy Demand Prediction |
|
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Intelligent analysis of utilization of special purpose machines for drilling operations | Tolouei Rad, M. |
Investigation on the Mobile Robot Navigation in an Unknown Environment by ISBN: 9783659487552Publication Date: 2014-06-03This book focuses on designing a mobile robot's navigation system. More specifically, it considers the challenges of designing and operating a mobile search robot used to search for, find and relocate a target object in an indoor environment. A step-by-step mobile robot construction approach guides us in the design and implementation of a mobile robot. This work proposes construction methods for two different types of mobile robots. For exploration of a path, we will develop an algorithmic strategy known as a 'bug navigation', in which, the robot navigates by following the walls or obstacle boundaries. The most common object detection and recognition techniques are presented in a simple style. This book also helps one to develop an efficient way to identify the location and orientation of a robot with an effective mechanism of control.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
- New Frontiers in Graph Theory byISBN: 9789535101154Publication Date: 2012Nowadays, graph theory is an important analysis tool in mathematics and computer science. Because of the inherent simplicity of graph theory, it can be used to model many different physical and abstract systems such as transportation and communication networks, models for business administration, political science, and psychology and so on. The purpose of this book is not only to present the latest state and development tendencies of graph theory, but to bring the reader far enough along the way to enable him to embark on the research problems of his own. Taking into account the large amount of knowledge about graph theory and practice presented in the book, it has two major parts: theoretical researches and applications. The book is also intended for both graduate and postgraduate students in fields such as mathematics, computer science, system sciences, biology, engineering, cybernetics, and social sciences, and as a reference for software professionals and practitioners.
| This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) | |
Graph Theory for Survivability Design in Communication Networks |
Habibi, D. & |
Software Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, Networking and Parallel/Distributed Computing 2011 by ISBN: 9783642222870Publication Date: 2011The purpose of the 12th Conference Software Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, Networking and Parallel/Distributed Computing (SNPD 2011) held on July 6-8, 2011 in Sydney, Australia was to bring together scientists, engineers, computer users, and students to share their experiences and exchange new ideas and research results about all aspects (theory, applications and tools) of computer and information sciences, and to discuss the practical challenges encountered along the way and the solutions adopted to solve them. The conference organizers selected 14 outstanding papers from SNPD 2011, all of which you will find in this volume of Springer's Studies in Computational Intelligence.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Dynamic resource allocation for improved QoS in WiMAX/WiFi integration | Rabbani, M., Kamruzzaman, J., Gondal, I., Ahmad, I., & Hassan, M. |
Time-Frequency Signal Analysis and Processing by ISBN: 9780123984999Publication Date: 2016Time-Frequency Signal Analysis and Processing (TFSAP) is a collection of theory, techniques and algorithms used for the analysis and processing of non-stationary signals, as found in a wide range of applications including telecommunications, radar, and biomedical engineering. This book gives the university researcher and R&D engineer insights into how to use TFSAP methods to develop and implement the engineering application systems they require. New to this edition: New sections on Efficient and Fast Algorithms; a "Getting Started" chapter enabling readers to start using the algorithms on simulated and real examples with the TFSAP toolbox, compare the results with the ones presented in the book and then insert the algorithms in their own applications and adapt them as needed. Two new chapters and twenty three new sections, including updated references. New topics including: efficient algorithms for optimal TFDs (with source code), the enhanced spectrogram, time-frequency modelling, more mathematical foundations, the relationships between QTFDs and Wavelet Transforms, new advanced applications such as cognitive radio, watermarking, noise reduction in the time-frequency domain, algorithms for Time-Frequency Image Processing, and Time-Frequency applications in neuroscience (new chapter). A comprehensive tutorial introduction to Time-Frequency Signal Analysis and Processing (TFSAP), accessible to anyone who has taken a first course in signals Key advances in theory, methodology and algorithms, are concisely presented by some of the leading authorities on the respective topics Applications written by leading researchers showing how to use TFSAP methods
| This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) | |
|
IF Estimation for Multicomponent signals |
Hussain, Z. & Boashash, B. |
|
Instantaneous frequency estimation and localization |
El-Jaroudi, A., Emresoy, M., Stankovic, L., Hussain, Z., Boashash, B., O'Shea, P., Barkat, B., Sucic, V., Lerga, J., Rankine, L., Djurovic, I., Simeunovic, M., Djukanovic, S. & Ristic, B. |
Wireless Multi-Access Environments and Quality of Service Provisioning by ISBN: 9781466600171Publication Date: 2012Wireless Multi-Access Environments and Quality of Service Provisioning: Solutions and Application serves as a vital resource for practitioners to learn about the latest research and methodology within the field of wireless technology. This book covers important aspects of emerging technologies in the heterogeneous next generation network environment with focus on wireless communications and their quality. It presents network selection mechanisms, handover solutions and adaptive techniques and identifies the research issues and challenges and presents a survey of the proposed solutions in the literature. It includes important chapters written by researchers from prestigious laboratories from Australia, China, Mexico, Portugal, Greece, Germany, the United Kingdom, and India, presenting the current advancements in wireless communications.
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Multi-Access Environments in Next Generation Networks | Ramraj, R., Ahmad, I., & Habibi, D. |
Wireless Multimedia Sensor Networks on Reconfigurable Hardware by ISBN: 9783662513569Publication Date: 2016-08-23Traditional wireless sensor networks (WSNs) capture scalar data such as temperature, vibration, pressure, or humidity. This book describes how reconfigurable hardware technologies such as field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) offer cost-effective, flexible platforms for implementing WMSNs, with a main focus on developing efficient algorithms and architectures for information reduction, including event detection, event compression, and multicamera processing for hardware implementations.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
- Kah Phooi Seng
- Wai Chong Chia
|
This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) |
|
| Gradient descent localization in wireless sensor networks | Alwan, N., & Hussain, Z. |
Engineering Education
- Proceedings of the 22nd Annual Conference for the Australasian Association for Engineering Education : 5-7 December 2011, Fremantle, Western Australia : developing engineers for social justice : community involvement, ethics and sustainability. byISBN: 9780858259980Publication Date: 2011Proceedings of the 22nd Annual Conference of the Australasian Association for Engineering Education, held in Fremantle, Western Australia in December 2011. The theme for the conference is 'Developing engineers for social justice : community involvement, ethics and sustainability' and the four sub-themes: humanitarian engineering; inclusivity; ongoing graduate professional development; and pathways into engineering.
|
This book was authored by the following ECU author(s) |
Mechanical Engineering
Advances in Mechanical Engineering Research, Volume 2 by ISBN: 9781617619847Publication Date: 2011Mechanical engineering is an engineering discipline that applies the principles of physics and materials science for analysis, design, manufacturing, and maintenance of mechanical systems. This book covers leading-edge research in a cross-section of fields centering on mechanical engineering including current research data on the fracture mechanics of wood and wood-like reinforced polymers; thulium-doped fiber amplifiers; the role of microalloying elements on the microstructure of hot rolled steels; and high-strength titanium base alloys.
| This book includes the following book chapter(s) authored by ECU author(s) | |
| High-Strength Titanium Base Alloys with Multiple Length-Scale Microstructure | Zhang, L., Calin, M., & Eckert, J. |