Finding academic resources can be tricky, but with the right tools, you can easily access the full-text content you need. Edith Cowan University offers several options to help you, whether you're on campus or working remotely.
Benefits of LibKey Nomad
ECU researchers will benefit from LibKey, gaining one-click access to full-text articles. Once you install LibKey Nomad, it will automatically scan for direct links and PDFs available from the library, wherever you browse, including publisher websites.
Benefits:
- LibKey simplifies access, removing multiple links or logins.
- Integrates with PubMed, Scopus, EBSCO and Proquest databases for quick article access.
- Integration has been added to Library Search, View PDF option will be available in Library Search taking users direct to the article.
- The LibKey Nomad browser extension for staff and students will streamline citation searches from Google Scholar, publisher sites and wherever users are searching online.
- Future integrations include the Reading List System (eReserve), Cabells Predatory Reports and eBooks by year-end.
Follow the steps below to install the LibKey Nomad browser extension
- Install LibKey Nomad: Add the LibKey Nomad browser extension to your browser.
Libkey Nomad browser extension can be downloaded from: https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/
- Select Your Institution: When prompted, choose Edith Cowan University.
- Activate the Extension: Ensure LibKey Nomad is turned on in your browser settings.
- Start Using LibKey Nomad: The extension will now automatically scan for full-text articles in the library's collection.
Accessing content beyond ECU's subscription
If Edith Cowan University doesn't subscribe to the content you need, the library offers several options to help you access it:
Access full text from off-campus
To access full text resources from off-campus locations you may use tools like: Endnote Click and Google Scholar settings to link to ECU full-text resources.
| EndNote Click |
It harnesses your library subscriptions to get you the highest quality PDFs. When your subscriptions do not grant you access, EndNote Click will search for an open access alternative from its vast database of Open Access articles. |
|---|---|
| Google Scholar settings |
Google Scholar's "Library Links" identifies ECU subscription content in search results when using off-campus computers. How to set up Google Scholar's Library Links:
|
Sources of datasets
Portals tend to be smaller and cater to specific audiences, which can be helpful for targeted data. Directories usually contain a wider variety of research outputs from multiple disciplines or aggregate smaller portals or repositories.
| Directories and Data Portals | Data.gov.au A user-friendly platform to discover, explore, and reuse public data from Australia. |
|---|---|
| Data Portals An extensive list of open data portals worldwide, facilitating global data access and sharing. | |
| FAIRsharing A well-curated resource offering information on data and metadata standards, databases, and data policies. | |
| re3data.org Simplifies data sharing by helping you find the right repository for your data through the Repository Finder tool. | |
| Zenodo A versatile repository welcoming all research outputs across various fields, from Sciences to Humanities. | |
| Data Cite A service to locate, access, and reuse research data efficiently. | |
| Mendeley datasets A secure, cloud-based repository for storing and sharing your research data, ensuring easy access and citation. | |
| Research Data Australia A platform to find, access, and reuse research data from over a hundred Australian organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. | |
| Portals and Repositories | AURIN- Australia’s spatial intelligence network Provides essential data and tools for researchers, government, and industry to make evidence-based decisions quickly and confidently. |
| Data One A community-driven project offering access to Earth and environmental data across multiple repositories, promoting best practices in data management. | |
| DRYAD A nonprofit repository dedicated to storing data underlying international scientific and medical literature. | |
| Global Biodiversity Information Facility An international network providing open access to biodiversity data, funded by governments worldwide. | |
| IEEE DataPort™ A comprehensive data platform for storing, searching, accessing, and managing datasets up to 2TB, supporting a wide range of topics. | |
| PLOS ONE list of recomended repositories A curated list of trusted repositories recognised within their respective research communities. | |
| Harvard Dataverse - An open-source repository for sharing, citing, and archiving research data. | |
| VertNet A collaborative project offering free and accessible biodiversity data on the web, designed to help discover, capture, and publish biodiversity information. | |
| OSF (Open Science Framework) - A free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration. | |
| Figshare - A repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner. | |
| Borrow from other libraries | |
|
|