Refereed or Peer-reviewed?
Articles published in refereed or peer-reviewed journals are subjected to a strict review process. One or more experts on the subject act as referees who review the article before it is accepted for publication. This process is designed to ensure the article is accurate, well researched, and contributes to the body of knowledge a field. Peer-reviewed is synonymous with refereed.
Key journals
Subject Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage, core database for nursing and allied health.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health specifically Psycho-social, Psychological or Human Experiences.
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- Maternity & Infant Care Database (MIDIRS) This link opens in a new windowContains over 225,000 bibliographic references with abstracts to articles from 400 international English language journals, books, guidelines and grey literature. Covers Midwifery Profession, Pregnancy, Labor, Birth, Postnatal Care, Infant Feeding and Neonatal Care, and the Transition to Parenthood.
Citation databases
Point of Care databases
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides a user-friendly point-of-care resources including CINAHL nursing guide, patient education documents, HealthDay news with daily FDA (Food and Drug Administration), clinical, and drug updates.
Evidence-based practice databases
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Find Systematic Reviews, Clinical Trials, Method Studies and more.
- JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new windowA clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Drug guides
- Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new windowCovers Drug information, Pharmacology and Therapeutics.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowProvides evidence based information on Dietary supplements, Natural medicines, and Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative therapies.
Australian databases
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.