Find Books & More
Books (or monographs as they are often called) are available in print and/or electronic format from the ECU Library Service.
Books provide a useful starting point for an introduction to the subject, and generally also provide an in-depth coverage of a topic. They may not be the most up-to-date research, however, try searching for academic journal articles for current material.
Find print books or eBooks by using ECU Worldsearch. A keyword search is a quick way to start your research on a particular topic, if you are looking for a particular title, search using "quotation marks" around the title.
You can also use the Advanced Search options to assist you to refine your search by keyword, author, title, etc.
Searching by Subject Terms may find a range of items as the search is from the subject perspective. In ECU WorldSearch, there are a couple of ways to use Subject Headings, included Advanced Search, which allows you to link a number of Subjects together with title words, authors, etc.
Finding Subject Headings
Find Subject Headings by searching for one item that matches part of your overall search, then identify which Subjects have been used for that.
Searching Subject Headings
Then directly type in su: and the subject term. Be sure to choose the library option of Edith Cowan University to display items in the library collection. Refer to the Useful Subject Terms for Video and Film for a list of the main subject terms that you can use to search for resources in the library.
Advanced search
You can also combine Subject Headings with other Subjects, or titles, authors, etc. in the Advanced Search page of ECU Worldsearch.
A good search strategy is only the beginning, you may end up with many results that are on your topic, but that are unsuitable for other reasons, such as availability, format, age, etc.
ECU Worldsearch allows you to narrow your search results with Filters. You will also find that most Databases have similar functions.
|
Make sure to narrow them down by using the filters on the left hand side of the web page. |
|
|
|
Pick: Library: Edith Cowan University For academic material select: Peer Reviewed Select: Format: Book, DVD, Music, etc. |
|
For new material, click: Year: Last 5 / 10 Years This will not change your search, but will narrow the number of results. |
|
|
For a more precise search, click into the Title and the Description, to find the Subjects an item has been catalogued under. These are more precise than standard Keyword searches, and can be searched via the Advanced Search screen. |
|
Combine these Subjects to get strong results. |
|
To find feature films, videos and documentaries you can browse the DVD collection located on Level 2 of the Mount Lawley Campus library or search ECU WorldSearch.
Searching for a film or video is the same as finding a book using ECU WorldSearch. You can use the "title," keyword, director, artist or designer name in the search, include the term DVD or use the Filters to the left hand side of the results list.
Any search can be limited with these filters to items held by Edith Cowan University, by Format: DVD or eVideo, by Year, etc.
ECU Library provides access to streaming video and audio collections that are available over the internet as a continuous real-time stream 24/7. Streaming videos allow you to create and share clips and playlists. You can watch the video before the entire file has been transmitted and you do not have to download a large file onto your computer. The ECU Library sources streaming Video and Audio content from the following service providers. For more information please refer to the Video and Audio Collection Subject Guide.
- Informit EduTV This link opens in a new windowProvides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, it includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowThe world´s largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 143,000 CDs with more than 2,223,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
- Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new windowMultiple users can simultaneously listen to the same content or different contents at the same time. The Naxos Music Library Jazz is available around the clock for unlimited simultaneous access.
- PsycTHERAPY This link opens in a new windowAPA's database of streaming psychotherapy videos. Featuring expert psychotherapists demonstrating the approaches for which they are known in unscripted, spontaneous sessions, it provides access to hundreds of hours of therapy demonstrations involving diverse participants and various presenting issues.
If ECU does not have an item (or it is already checked out), you can borrow from other university libraries under reciprocal borrowing. Just visit them with your library card and get them to set it up.
Western Australia
Australian
Worldwide
Fashion Films
Fashion Films
To find films on contemporary fashion you can browse the DVD collection located on Level 2 of the Mount Lawley Campus library at 746.92 or click on this link for a quick search Fashion Films and Videos, or use our streaming services.
Fashion Designers
Fashion Designers
There are several resources that are useful to locate information about fashion designers.
-
Search for the designer name in online dictionaries and encyclopedias to obtain biographical information, images and related content. Oxford Art online is a good starting point.
-
See the Fashion Subject Guide in Art Online as a start.
-
Use the ECU WorldSearch to locate books, ebooks, journal and industry articles that are in the library collection
-
Start with a simple keyword search like "Josh Goot" ("quotes" to search the words as a whole phrase)
-
Add keywords or Subjects like AND "Fashion designer" to cut out all those pesky Astrophysicists!
-
Use the Filers to the left of the results to narrow to books, DVDs, journal articles, etc.