Social Work: Starting Your Assignment

The first step to beginning your research is to look at your assignment question and analyse what it is asking you to do. 

A tip here is to use a dictionary to look up the words used in the question, i.e. discuss, analyse, explain.

You can also use this same technique for the phrases surrounding the assignment topic to help you identify key terms or phrases, and their synonyms can help you identify the search terms you can use in ECU Library or the databases. 

Where to search:

• Use the ECU Library to search for books, reports, videos, journal titles and electronic publications.
• Use the subject specific databases to find journal articles on a topic. 
• Library Guides or pathfinders provide an overview of library resources and relevant links for each subject
• You can access the databases, or Library search, from the Library homepage or from the Social Work Library Guide.

The scope of the literature search and type of information required will depend on the requirements of the assignment.

Books:

Books provide a useful starting point for an introduction to the subject. Books generally also provide an in-depth coverage of a topic.

Journal Articles:

If you are looking for current research or information on a very specific topic, journal articles may be the most useful, as they are published on a regular basis. It is normally expected that you will use some journal articles in your assignment. You are also required to view the whole publication (the full text), not just the abstract, if using the information in your assignment. It is generally preferred that you use peer reviewed or scholarly articles in your assignments. 

Free Web Publications:

Useful information can also be found in free web publications from government, professional or research organizations (e.g. reports from Australian Bureau of Statistics and other Government Departments). Statistical information can generally be found in government publications. Any web publication should be carefully evaluated using the four Rs - Recent, Reliable, Readable and Relevant - to ensure that you are looking at useful information. You are also required to view the whole publication (the full text), not just the abstract, if using the information in your assignment.

When selecting and reviewing sources of information to use for your assignments and other academic work, it is necessary to ensure that they are of the appropriate standard. 

Keep in mind the following 4 R's. (This is particularly important when selecting publications freely available on the internet, i.e. they were found through Google).

• Recent - Is the publication timely and up-to-date? 
• Reliable - Who is the source? Is the source an expert? Can the information verified? Is the information biased?
• Readable - Can you easily read and understand the information?
• Relevant - Is the information appropriate for your topic? 

To confirm if a particular journal article is peer reviewed, look up the journal on Ulrich'sweb

Referencing is a formal, systematic way of acknowledging sources that you have used in your assignments or written essays and a way of formatting references so that they can be easily traced. The referencing style generally used at ECU is the APA style. 

It is important to reference all sources that you have relied on in your assignment for a number of reasons, including:

• to provide evidence of your research, 
• to provide support for your argument, 
• to avoid plagiarism, and
• to allow the reader to follow on from your research. 

Take a look at the Referencing Library Guide Library for more information. 

ALL external students resident in Australia may borrow, in person, from other Australian University Libraries

• if you work or live near any of the participating Australian university libraries listed in the link below and would like to borrow directly from that library, you will need to take your photo ID and proof of enrolment to the library. Some libraries who are not members of the reciprocal agreement may still allow you to join if you approach them individually. If you require a letter of introduction from ECU library, please ask the External Library service for the introductory letter
• if you wish to borrow from another WA university library, read the information on Reciprocal borrowing and fill in the online registration form
• if you wish to request a copy of a journal article held by UWA, Curtin or Murdoch University Library, place the request through  Document Delivery's VDX online request form

ALL: Material from ECU Library

• you may borrow from ECU Library. Request books through ECU Library search & set your campus location as Remote. Books will be posted out to you but you will need to pay for the return postage for these items
• you may request a copy of a chapter of a book held by ECU Library by completing the online form in the link below (or by printing, faxing or emailing the PDF form in the same link) to the External Library
• you may request a copy of a journal article if it's available in print at ECU Library - use the Place Hold button through the ECU Library search record
• Request a copy of a chapter of a book
   

ALL: Material from ECU Library

• the Library does not lend books to off-shore students, however you have access to thousands of titles through the library's ebook collection. Find ebooks through ECU Library Search.
• you may request a copy of a chapter of a book held by ECU library - by completing the online form in the link below (or by printing, faxing or emailing the PDF  form in the same link) to the External Library
• may request a copy of a journal article if it's available in print at ECU Library. Use the Place Hold button in the Library Search record

Borrowing in person, from a local university library in your country

Some libraries may allow you to join if you approach them individually. Some may charge a small annual fee (payable by you). If you require a letter of introduction from ECU Library, ask the External Library service for the introductory letter

Document Delivery Services

PostGraduate students may ALSO use Document Delivery's VDX online request form

• to request to borrow books which are unavailable at ECU (This is for students resident in Australia only, not for Off-shore students)
• to request copies of journal articles which are unavailable at ECU or UWA university libraries
• to request a copy of a chapter or 10% of a book not held by ECU Library

Telephone: (61 8) 6304 5525
Email: docdel@ecu.edu.au