eBooks
-
-
Alive and Well at the End of the Day : The Supervisor's Guide to Managing Safety in Operations. [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9780470593424Publication Date: 20102010 -
Asbestos [electronic resource]: risk assessment, epidemiology, and health effects
by
ISBN: 9781040105658Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2024 -
-
Construction Hazardous Materials Compliance Guide [electronic resource] : Asbestos Detection, Abatement and Inspection Procedures.
by
ISBN: 0124158412Publication Date: 2012Link to ebook via ScienceDirect or EBL. No print or download restrictions with ScienceDirect option. -
-
Definitions, conversions, and calculations for occupational safety and health professionals [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9781420012576Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2006 -
The Design, Implementation, and Audit of Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems
by
ISBN: 9781000750980Publication Date: 2019 -
Emergency Response Management of Offshore Oil Spills [electronic resource] : Guidelines for Emergency Responders.
by
ISBN: 9781118011706Publication Date: 2011Print copy also available. -
Environmental risk assessment: a toxicological approach
by
ISBN: 9781000754377Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2019 -
-
Fundamentals of occupational safety and health
by
ISBN: 9781598889833Publication Date: 7th ed. 2018Ch.5. Accident Causation and Investigation: Theory and Application -
-
-
Handbook of Safety Principles
by
Presents recent breakthroughs in the theory, methods, and applications of safety and risk analysis for safety engineers, risk analysts, and policy makers Safety principles are paramount to addressing structured handling of safety concerns in all technological systems. This handbook captures and discusses the multitude of safety principles in a practical and applicable manner. It is organized by five overarching categories of safety principles: Safety Reserves; Information and Control; Demonstrability; Optimization; and Organizational Principles and Practices. With a focus on the structured treatment of a large number of safety principles relevant to all related fields, each chapter defines the principle in question and discusses its application as well as how it relates to other principles and terms. This treatment includes the history, the underlying theory, and the limitations and criticism of the principle. Several chapters also problematize and critically discuss the very concept of a safety principle. The book treats issues such as: What are safety principles and what roles do they have? What kinds of safety principles are there? When, if ever, should rules and principles be disobeyed? How do safety principles relate to the law; what is the status of principles in different domains? The book also features: * Insights from leading international experts on safety and reliability * Real-world applications and case studies including systems usability, verification and validation, human reliability, and safety barriers * Different taxonomies for how safety principles are categorized * Breakthroughs in safety and risk science that can significantly change, improve, and inform important practical decisions * A structured treatment of safety principles relevant to numerous disciplines and application areas in industry and other sectors of society * Comprehensive and practical coverage of the multitude of safety principles including maintenance optimization, substitution, safety automation, risk communication, precautionary approaches, non-quantitative safety analysis, safety culture, and many others The Handbook of Safety Principles is an ideal reference and resource for professionals engaged in risk and safety analysis and research. This book is also appropriate as a graduate and PhD-level textbook for courses in risk and safety analysis, reliability, safety engineering, and risk management offered within mathematics, operations research, and engineering departments. NIKLAS M#65533;LLER, PhD, is Associate Professor at the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. The author of approximately 20 international journal articles, Dr. M#65533;ller's research interests include the philosophy of risk, metaethics, philosophy of science, and epistemology. SVEN OVE HANSSON, PhD, is Professor of Philosophy at the Royal Institute of Technology. He has authored over 300 articles in international journals and is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. Dr. Hansson is also a Topical Editor for the Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science. JAN-ERIK HOLMBERG, PhD, is Senior Consultant at Risk Pilot AB and Adjunct Professor of Probabilistic Riskand Safety Analysis at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Holmberg received his PhD in Applied Mathematics from Helsinki University of Technology in 1997. CARL ROLLENHAGEN, PhD, is Adjunct Professor of Risk and Safety at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Rollenhagen has performed extensive research in the field of human factors and MTO (Man, Technology, and Organization) with a specific emphasis on safety culture and climate, event investigation methods, and organizational safety assessment.
ISBN: 9781118950708Publication Date: 2018 -
-
Human factors methods and accident analysis: practical guidance and case study applications
by
ISBN: 9781409405207Publication Date: 2011Use the Search option to find sections on "Swiss cheese" model and Domino theory related to accident causation. -
The Human Factors of Process Safety and Worker Empowerment in the Offshore Oil Industry: Proceedings of a Workshop
by
ISBN: 9780309473378Publication Date: 2018Chapter 2. The Piper Alpha and the Deepwater Horizon -
International Health and Safety at Work: for the NEBOSH International General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety
by
ISBN: 9781003125549Publication Date: 2021 -
Introduction to Human Factors and Ergonomics
by
ISBN: 9781498795944Publication Date: 4th ed., 20173 simultaneous user access. -
Introduction to occupational health in public health practice
by
ISBN: 9780470504048Publication Date: 2009 -
-
Keeping People Safe : The Human Dynamics of Injury Prevention
by
ISBN: 9781605906775Publication Date: 20102010 -
Lees' Loss Prevention in the Process Industries: Hazard Identification, Assessment and Control
by
ISBN: 9780123971890Publication Date: 4th ed. 2012Full text available online in ScienceDirect and Proquest eBooks. -
-
Lu's Basic Toxicology : Fundamentals, Target Organs, and Risk Assessment
by
ISBN: 9781315391694Publication Date: 7th ed. 2017 -
Making safety work : getting management commitment to occupational health and safety by
ISBN: 9781863738699Publication Date: 1995 -
-
Managing for health and safety [electronic resource]. byISBN: 9780717664566Publication Date: 3rd 2013
-
Managing noise and vibration at work [electronic resource] : a practical guide to assessment, measurement and control
by
ISBN: 0750663421Publication Date: 2004 -
-
Monitoring for Health Hazards at Work
by
ISBN: 9781119614968Publication Date: 5th ed. 2021Online and print. -
Occupational Ergonomics : Theory and Applications
by
ISBN: 9781439819340Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2012 -
Occupational Health and Safety in Small Enterprises - The Need for a Diversity of Strategies [electronic resource].
by
ISBN: 9781780522173Publication Date: 2011 -
Occupational health and safety [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9781409432074Publication Date: 2011Series: Psychological and behavioral aspects of risk series. -
-
Occupational safety and health : fundamental principles and philosophies
by
ISBN: 9781351979566Publication Date: 2017 -
Offshore Safety Management: Implementing a SEMS Program
by
ISBN: 9781437735246Publication Date: 2011 -
-
Physical and Biological Hazards of the Workplace
by
ISBN: 9781118928608Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2016 -
Physical Hazard Control: Preventing Injuries in the Workplace
by
ISBN: 9781605907628Publication Date: 2011 -
Preventing Occupational Exposures to Infectious Disease in Health Care
by
ISBN: 9783030560386Publication Date: 2020 -
Process Risk and Reliability Management: Operational Integrity Management
by
ISBN: 9780128017968Publication Date: 2014 -
The psychology of safety handbook [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9781566705400Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2001 -
The Psychology of Workplace Safety [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9781591470687Publication Date: 2003 -
Regulating workplace risks: a comparative study of inspection regimes in times of change
by
ISBN: 9780857931641Publication Date: 2011 -
The Regulation and Management of Workplace Health and Safety
by
ISBN: 9780429265679Publication Date: 2020 -
-
Safety at work
by
ISBN: 9780415656962Publication Date: 8th ed. 2014Part 2. Management of risk
2.2.6 Accident causation models
2.4.1 Risk identification, assessment and control -
-
Safety Culture: Assessing and Changing the Behaviour of Organisations
by
ISBN: 9781409401285Publication Date: 2010 -
Safety Management [electronic resource] : A Comprehensive Approach to Developing a Sustainable System.
by
ISBN: 9781439862612Publication Date: 2012 -
Steps to Safety Culture Excellence [electronic resource].
by
ISBN: 9781118530245Publication Date: 2013 -
Treating Worker Dissatisfaction During Economic Change [electronic resource].
by
ISBN: 9780123970060Publication Date: 2013 -
Understanding human error in mine safety [electronic resource]
by
ISBN: 9780754678694Publication Date: 2009 -
-
WHS: A management guide
by
ISBN: 9780170289023Publication Date: 2020Note: eBook access: 3 simultaneous users. Older editions available. -
Work Health and Safety [Nutshell series]
by
ISBN: 9780455232904Publication Date: 2014Note: eBook 3 simultaneous user access.
Print copies also held. -
Work health and safety law and policy
by
Call Number: 344.940465 JOHISBN: 9780455229836Publication Date: 3rd. ed. 2012Online and print copies. -
-
Work, health and wellbeing [electronic resource] : The challenges of managing health at work.
by
ISBN: 9781847428097Publication Date: 2012 -
Workplace health and safety [electronic resource] ; International perspectives on worker representation
by
ISBN: 9780230214859Publication Date: 20092009 -
Workplace safety : a guide for small and midsized companies
by
ISBN: 9780782136043Publication Date: 2006
more useful eBooks
Bioavailability, bioaccessibility and mobility of environmental contaminants (2007)
A comprehensive guide to the hazardous properties of chemical substances (2007)
Dust explosions in the process industries (2003)
Engineering catastrophes: causes and effects of major accidents (2005)
Evaluation of the effects and consequences of major accidents in industrial plants (2018)
Handbook of occupational health psychology (2024)
Health and safety pocket book (2018)
Human factors and behavioural safety (2007)
Human safety and risk management (3rd. ed. 2016)
Introduction to emergency management (4th ed. 2011)
Introduction to human factors and ergonomics for engineers (2nd ed. 2013)
Learning from accidents (2001)
Managing health and safety: learning made simple (2007)
Monitoring for health hazards at work (2021)
Operational risk management: a case study approach to effective planning and response (2008)
Prevention of accidents and unwanted occurrences: theory, methods, and tools in safety management (2017)
Research methods in occupational epidemiology (2nd ed. 2004)
Safe use of chemicals (2009)
Time bomb : work, rest and play in Australia today (2012)
Tolley's handbook of disaster and emergency management (2006)