Finding Journal Articles
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles are one of the best sources of information for academic assignments.
Most journals are online. Some art journals remain in magazine/ hard copy format.
Library Databases hold Journals which contain thousands of Journal Articles.
Journal articles tend to be smaller in length (1-25 pages) and more specific studies or examples than eBooks/books.
You can go to a specific database and use the search capabilities it offers to really refine your search.
See A-Z databases > Subject
It is rare to search via a Journal Title itself, but they are great way to browse and discover unexpected work.
Indexes are a type of Database.
Some Journals and Databases are listed below.
Databases / Journals / Indexes / Collections
Databases
You can go direct to databases to search for articles and information. Search using keywords and combinations of keywords.
Example: identity AND art
Below are a few great Databases for Arts & Humanities subjects, including Visual Arts.
- Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new windowA collection of information and eBooks for the arts, humanities and social sciences, Global authors and research
- Cambridge Core - Journals & eBooks This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database, coverage includes: Art, Chemistry, Computer Science, Drama and Theatre, Economics, Education, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Music, Psychology, and more...
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing a wide range of journals, ebooks and research reports in the field of art, history, social sciences and more - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
500 peer reviewed journals published by oxford University Press and learned societies from around the world - ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowCovers all art forms, including Fine Art, Digital Art, Crafts, Design and Photography from the late 1960s onwards.
Journals
This list of Art journals is a guide to the variety available through the ECU library. (It is not a comprehensive list.) Click on a title to access the journal. Note: Some are online journals, some are print.
- Art and AustraliaA biannual digital magazine, the country's longest-running art journal, since 1963. Print version.
- Art In AmericaFeatures articles on major achievements & events in the art world; painting, sculpture, photography and prints
- Art HistoryArt History Journal
- Flash Art InternationalCover the contemporary art scene
- FriezeContemporary art and culture
- Oxford Art JournalPublishing innovative critical work in art history
- Artforum InternationalAn international journal from NYC
- Art Monthly AustraliaAustralian and International Art Monthly from Sydney
- Art MonthlyInformed and highly readable coverage of the British and international art scene since 1976.
- Textile historyInternationally recognised, peer reviewed and a leading journal in its field. Viewed as an important outlet for current research.
Topics linking to ECU Library's journal collections in the area:
- Architecture journals
- Art Periodicals
- Art & Design
- Australian Art
- Ceramics
- Computer Arts & Graphics
- Contemporary Visual Arts, 20th Century
- Contemporary Visual Arts, 21st Century
- Decorative Arts
- Design
- Glass
- Graphic Arts
- Industrial Arts
- Sculpture
Checkout these Databases
- ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new windowCombines all four of ProQuest's multidisciplinary products: ProQuest Central, ProQuest Ebook Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global and Academic Video Online (AVON).
- Informit EduTV This link opens in a new windowProvides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, it includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
Watch
- The private life of a masterpieceA series which reveals the stories behind famous works of art. How they came to be created, their influence and how it leads to some works of art have a life of their own.
- How art made the worldReveals how the first big artistic discoveries were made and how they have cascaded down through the centuries