Getting Started
About this guide
This guide will help you with:
- Beginning your research and finding the best scholarly information sources in Occupational Health and Safety
- Identifying and locating key books, journals and other resources relevant to Occupational Health and Safety that are available via ECU Library
- Accessing specialist databases to find relevant research
- Linking to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources
Library search
Use Library search to search and access the Library's collections of books (print and online), journal articles and other resources. This is a good place to start searching for information on your topic. From your search you can link directly to the full text of articles and ebooks or to the location of print copies on the shelves.
Standards & Legislation
Access to Australian Standards is now available via Techstreet. Details for setting up a personal login using your ECU email are available on the landing page, once you've linked to Techstreet via the Library. ACGIH publications also available via Techstreet. [Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Please see Techstreet user guide to download PDFs with FileOpen
- Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
- The Federal Register of Legislation (Commonwealth Legislation)The Federal Register of Legislation incorporates all content previously published on ComLaw.
- OHS solution finder (CCH Australia)Provides commentary on Australian OHS law and legislation. Includes "Journal of Health, Safety and Environment".
Key Journal Databases
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowInternational Health & Medical database. Key database for Occupational Health and Medicine.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary research database. Click on Findit@ECU icon to link to available full text. Postgraduate students have access to Document Delivery (VDX) to request articles not held at ECU. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research and citation database.
From Web of Science users can link to subscribed full text via the Library and open access full text freely available on the internet.
Other relevant databases are listed on the Databases page.