Useful Books
How to Write a Paper by
One of the best known guides to writing a paper for publication in biomedical journals. Its straightforward format - a chapter covering each of part of the structured abstract - makes it relevant and easy to use for any novice paper writer.
Call Number: 808.0665 HOWISBN: 9781118488737Publication Date: 5th ed. 2012
Understanding Research Methods for Evidence-Based Practice in Health by ISBN: 9780730369264Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2019
Writing your journal article in 12 weeks : a guide to academic publishing success by Call Number: 070.50973 BELISBN: 97814129570142009
Journal Information
- Journal AbbreviationsNational Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Journals referenced in the NCBI databases.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJCR uses the citation data tracked in the Web of Science database to identify the high impact factor journals titles in different subject categories.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed serials information. You can check whether a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed.
Citation Databases: Scopus and Web of Science
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources, with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Journals from the Embase database are also included in Scopus.
Features include: Journal Analyzer which provides a quick insight into journal performance, Affiliation Identifier which enables you to automatically identify and match an organization with all its research output. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Cited reference search allows you to locate documents that have been cited by authors in the scholarly journals that are indexed by Web of Science. Use the Analyze Results feature to rank a set of results by Author, Institution, Publication Year, Source Title, Subject Area etc.
Measuring Published Research
What is a 'Journal Impact Factor'?
"Impact Factor: The measure of the frequency with which the average article in a journal has been cited in a particular year. The impact factor will help you evaluate a journal’s relative importance, especially when you compare it to others in the same field. It is calculated by dividing the number of current citations to articles published in the two previous years by the total number of articles published in the two previous years." JCR information and help.
Impact Factor is one indication of the journal's relative importance and prestige. It may be useful when selecting a journal in which to publish. i.e. a journal with a high impact factor.
Web of Science and Scopus also provide information related to a journal's publishing impact. e.g. Scopus via the Journal Analyzer provides a SJR which is a measure of the scientific prestige of scholarly sources. However, you need to consult Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for the Impact Factor.
The 'H-Index' - is a measure of an author's publishing impact.
"The h-index is based on a list of publications ranked in descending order by the Times Cited. The value of h is equal to the number of papers (N) in the list that have N or more citations." Web of Science help.
Web of Science and Scopus provide h-index data, however the calculation may differ between the databases, as based on different journals and years covered by each database.