Dictionaries, Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and key reference sources are useful in defining your terms and concepts, understanding key words and obtaining an overview of the area you are researching.
These lists are just a sample of what is available in the ECU Library Collection, please search to find more.
Click the following link to find the large range of APA Psychology Handbooks in the library holdings
-
The Cambridge Handbook of Community Psychology
by
This comprehensive handbook provides community psychology approaches to addressing the key issues that impact individuals and their communities worldwide. Featuring international, interdisciplinary perspectives from leading experts, the handbook tackles critical contemporary challenges. These include climate change, immigration, educational access, healthcare, social media, wellness, community empowerment, discrimination, mental health, and many more. The chapters offer case study examples to present practical applications and to review relevant implications within diverse contexts. Throughout, the handbook considers how community psychology plays out around the world: What approaches are being used in different countries? How does political context influence the development and extension of community psychology? And what can nations learn from each other as they examine successful community psychology-based interventions? This is essential reading for researchers, students, practitioners, and policy makers involved with community well-being.
ISBN: 9781108678971Publication Date: 2021-12-16 -
Counseling Around the World
by
This fascinating book provides a global exchange of information about counseling activities and services; counselor training; and existing professional practices, beliefs, and values. Native counselors and leading experts from 40 countries discuss the opportunities for growth in their countries and the challenges they face. After an introductory section that discusses global diversity themes and issues, chapters focus on key countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, North America, Oceania, and South and Central America. Each chapter covers the history and current state of counseling in the country, theories and techniques that have been shown to work best in meeting the needs of the population, diversity issues specific to the region, counselor education and training, and possibilities for the future of counseling in the country. A comprehensive list of international resources and counseling organizations is also included. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.
ISBN: 9781119026419Publication Date: 2015-01-12 -
Counseling Muslims
by
A young female client presents with anorexia nervosa and believes that her problem has its roots in magic; parents are helpless in the face of their son's substance abuse issues; an interracial couple cannot agree on how to discipline their children. How would you effectively help these clients while balancing appropriate interventions that are sensitive to religious, cultural, social, and gender differences? This handbook answers these difficult questions and helps behavioral health practitioners provide religio-culturally-competent care to Muslim clients living in territories such as North America, Australia, and Europe. The issues and interventions discussed in this book, by authoritative contributors, are diverse and multifaceted. Topics that have been ignored in previous literature are introduced, such as sex therapy, substance abuse counseling, university counseling, and community-based prevention. Chapters integrate tables, lists, and suggested phrasing for practitioners, along with case studies that are used by the authors to help illustrate concepts and potential interventions. Counseling Muslims is also unique in its broad scope, which reflects interventions ranging from the individual to community levels, and includes chapters that discuss persons born in the West, converts to Islam, and those from smaller ethnic minorities. It is the only guide practitioners need for information on effective service delivery for Muslims, who already bypass significant cultural stigma and shame to access mental health services.
Call Number: https://ecu.on.worldcat.org/oclc/798532617ISBN: 9781135859558Publication Date: 2013-06-17 -
The SAGE Handbook of Youth Work Practice
by
The SAGE Handbook of Youth Work Practice showcases the value of professional work with young people as it is practiced in diverse forms in locations around the world. The editors have brought together an international team of contributors who reflect the wide range of approaches that identify as youth work, and the even wider range of approaches that identify variously as community work or community development work with young people, youth programmes, and work with young people within care, development and (informal) education frameworks. The Handbook is structured to explore histories, current practice and future directions: Part One: ′Youth Work′ and Approaches to Professional Work with Young People Part Two: Professional Work With Young People: Projects and Practices to Inspire Part Three: Values and Ethics in Work with Young People Part Four: Current Challenges and Hopes for the Future
Call Number: 362.7 ALLISBN: 9781473939523Publication Date: 2018-12-27 -
Meeting the Needs of Ethnic Minority Children
by
Experts from a variety of disciplines contribute to this substantially revised edition of this popular handbook - new chapters are included on identity work, refugee children, and the work of the Asian Project. The book also examines the central importance for professionals of the Lawrence Enquiry; the move to include more public services in the Race Relations Act; increased awareness of institutional racism; and the specific inclusion of ethnic minority children in health improvement programmes. Offering practical guidance based on sound research and practice, the book provides a focus on some of the most difficult and topical aspects of this field of work.
ISBN: 9781853029592Publication Date: 2000-02-15
-
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling
by
This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. This encyclopedia makes counseling come alive through its user-friendly writing style; instructive examples that connect readers to practice, teaching, supervision, and research; and its helpful cross-referencing of entries, boldfaced important terminology, and suggested resources for further study. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
ISBN: 9781119025436Publication Date: 2015-04-15 -
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
by
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
ISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2015-02-17 -
Psychology: the Key Concepts
by
Psychology: The Key Concepts is a comprehensive overview of 200 concepts central to a solid understanding of Psychology and includes the latest recommendations from the British Psychology Society (BPS). The focus is on practical uses of Psychology in settings such as nursing, education and human resources, with topics ranging from Gender to Psychometrics and Perception.
ISBN: 9780203892930Publication Date: 2008-08-18 -
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods, a three-volume resource that is a first of its kind, developed by the leading publisher of social science research methods books and journals. This unique multi-volume reference set offers readers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers.
ISBN: 9781452261454Publication Date: 2004
