Australian Legislation
- Federal Register of Legislation
The official Australian Government site for access to the most current Commonwealth of Australia legislation.
Other Legislative Instruments are also available on this website and include: Regulations (otherwise known as Statutory Rules), ordinances, orders, determinations and proclamations. - Federal Register of Legislation - Legislation TablesLegislation tables are tools that were used before the internet to track the history of Acts and important instruments
- Western Australian Legislation
Parliamentary Counsel's Office - the official WA Government site for access to Western Australian legislation, and the most up-to-date resource.
- Interpretation Act 1984 (WA) - statutory interpretation: the law on interpreting legislation.
- WA Government Gazettes - include published Regulations, Rules (also known as subsidiary legislation) and Government notices. Online only.
- Access PDF versions of the gazettes from 1836 to present.
Other Australian State legislation sites are below:
Australian Cases
Unreported cased are generally freely available in AustLII. Cases in law reports, such as the Commonwealth Law Reports (CLR) are accessible in the law databases Link from ECU Worldsearch.
- AustLII - Australian Health Practitioner Law LibraryAustralian Health Practitioner Law Library contains cases from Australian courts and tibunals accessible via AustLII. The Library includes decisions of National Health Practitioner Boards that regulate chiropractors, dentists, nurses, midwifes, optometrists, osteopaths, pharmacists, physiotherapists, podiatrists and psychologists.
- Australian tort personal injury health and medical law trackerReports and interprets significant court cases and tribunal decisions and summarises relevant information, including: Tort law, Personal injury cases, Medical negligence cases, Health and medical law, NSW Motor Accident legislation, National Registration Scheme for Health Practitioners.
- Torts and Personal Injury Law (CCH)CCH Australia publication.
Contents: Australian torts commentary -- Australian torts legislation -- Australian torts cases -- Australian medical liability commentary -- Australian medical liability leading cases.
- Lexis+ (previously Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the CaseBase legal citator and Halsbury's Laws of Australia encyclopaedia.
- CaseBase (Lexis Advance)An Australian case citator that provides details of where a case has been reported and where the main case has been considered. Also provides subject access to cases and journal articles which discuss a specific case
- Westlaw AUAustralian Case Law and Legislation database with a comprehensive index of Australian law journals
- Commonwealth law reportsThe Commonwealth Law Reports database is Australia's most respected law reports series, containing a complete collection of authorised decisions from the High Court of Australia dating back to 1903 and extending to the present day.
- FirstPoint (via Westlaw database)FirstPoint provides access to case references, citation, history, and digest information for Australian cases since 1825. All case material is classified to a detailed classification scheme, which can be browsed or searched to locate cases on legal topics. Information is sourced from the Australian Case Citator, Australian Digest and Australian Legal Monthly Digest (published by Lawbook Co.). See also CaseBase.