Skip to main content

HARC: Helpful Academic Researchers Companion

HARC has been designed to answer the questions researchers ask at every step of the research life cycle

Subject library guides

ECU Library subscribes to more than 300 library databases some of which offer discipline coverage, while others provide publisher collections or aggregated collections.

 

If you are unsure of which databases to use, consult the:

  • Subject Guides which will identify the KEY discipline databases and resources in a subject area

  • If your topic is multidisciplinary, you will probably need to several relevant subject guides

  • use ECU library's ECU Worldsearch, a cross between a library catalogue & a library article database
     
  • search several databases as each database covers a slightly different range of publications

 

Tips for getting the most out of a database tips:

  • get to know the functionality of your key databases
  • create an account with the database to:
    • save your searches
    • save successful search terms for each database
    • keep up-to-date by setting up automatic author, journal title or topic email alerts
  • download useful references & PDFs to EndNote

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.