Listed below are some of the citation databases which provide metrics of highly cited journals - you may wish to use these databases together with other criteria when selecting which journal to submit your paper.
Journal rankings are intended to reflect the importance of a journal within its field. The metrics are centered around the number of citations accumulated by articles in that journal. Implicit in this is the assumption that the greater the number of citations, the more important and relevant that journal is.
The journal metrics generated by both Scopus and the Web of Science are used by institutions and organisations to rate both research and journal performance
An author's h-index attempts to measure both the productivity and citation impact of the publications of a scientist or scholar. The h-index is based on the highest number of papers included that have had at least the same number of citations
A journal's h-index attempts to measure both the productivity and citation impact of the publications ... the journal's number of articles (h) that have received at least (h) citations. It is best used to compare journals within a discipline as it does not take into account differing citation practices across disciplines (unlike the weighted SJR and SNIP).
An article's citation data in the Scopus database is used by Scimago, CiteScore, SciVal etc. to rank journals by their level of importance.
SciVal uses citation data generated in the Scopus database in its calculations
The metric Field Weighted Citation Index (FWCI) in SciVal is used to inform ASPIRE allocations.
the Scimago Journal Rankings (SJR) score of a journal is calculated by taking into account both the number of citations
a journal receives as well as the "importance" of the citing journal
SJR is a normalised score which allows journals from different disciplines to be compared
click on a title to see more information e.g. the subject categories it covers. For journals that have been categorised under more than one subject area, the SJR for each subject area may be different.
The Quartile level indicates where the journal sits in it's subject category
with Q1 indicating that the title is in the top 25% of journals in that subject category
multidisciplinary journals may attain different Quartile metrics for each of their different subject category
The Scopus Source list is located above in the blue Scopus database banner
CiteScore also uses the citation data from Scopus to rank journals by their level of importance.
The Sources list provides a range of metrics which can be used to evaluate a journal.
CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received in a calendar year by all items published in that journal in the preceding three years. The calendar year to which a serial title’s issues are assigned is determined by their cover dates, and not the dates that the serial issues were made available online.
CiteScore and CiteScore percentile should not be used to compare journals from different subject areas as they are not field-normalised
for more information, view the CiteScore metrics FAQs
The Compare sources tool can be found in the Scopus database on the Search Screen. It is a customisable tool which will allow you to compare up to 10 Scopus indexed sources on a variety of parameters: CiteScore, SJR, SNIP, citations, documents, and percentage of documents not cited.
The Compare sources tool is available in both a Chart and a Table view. The Chart displays information in a line graph, with separate graphs for each parameter. The Table lists parameters together in one table.
search for a source by it's title (keyword search), ISSN or Publisher, Limit to All subject areas or A specific area
entering "nursing" will bring up a list of source titles which include "nursing"
the source list can be ranked by CiteScore, SJR, SNIP or ISSN
tick up to 10 source title to compare the titles visually over a range of metrics
The Scopus compare sources tool enables you to compare up to 10 sources on a variety of parameters.
The Compare sources tool is available in both a chart and a table view. The chart displays information in a line graph, with separate graphs for each parameter. The table lists parameters together in one table.
From a search page:
From the source page:
Set an appropriate date range - view recent metrics or metrics across all dates
For definitions of Metrics provided: see
Quick Reference Cards for Research Impact Metrics
JCR uses citation data sourced from the Web of Science Core Collection database.
JCR is published annually in two editions, and only the editions and years to which ECU subscribes appear on the home page. Some subjects can appear in both editions.
Journal Impact Factor (IF)
An impact factor of 1.0 indicates that on average, the articles published one or two years ago have been cited once
An impact factor of 3 indicates that on average, the articles published one or two years ago have been cited 3 times. (more on calculations).
The Journal Impact Factor (JIF) Percentile transforms the rank in category by Journal Impact Factor into a percentile value, allowing more meaningful cross-category comparison.
The Average Journal Impact Factor (JIF) Percentile takes the sum of the JIF Percentile for each category under consideration, and then calculates the average from those values.
1. Search Web of Science
2. If you're happy that the results list match you topic expectations, click on Analyze Results
3. Sort Results options:
There are lots of sorting options including
Th following journal metrics record the titles performance on Google Scholar :
h5-index is the h-index for articles published in the last 5 complete years. It is the largest number h such that h articles published in 2012-2016 have at least h citations each
h5-median for a publication is the median number of citations for the articles that make up its h5-index
Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) is the research quality evaluation initiative of the Australian Government, administered by the Australian Research Council (ARC). ERA is used to evaluate the quality of research undertaken by each university in Australia.
Your choice of journal will affect whether your article will be eligible to be counted as part of the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) evaluation.
If you are looking for a current ERA Ranked Journal list - it is no longer used (the explanation below is from the ERA website)
In 2009, the ARC developed a ranked journal list in consultation with members of the public, expert reviewers and academic peak bodies. This list included quality ranks for each journal. Ranked journal publishing profiles were used as part of the suite of indicators in the ERA 2010 evaluation. Following feedback from Research Evaluation Committees that they relied on their own expert knowledge of the quality of research outlets relevant to their discipline, ranked journal profiles were removed as an indicator for the ERA 2012 evaluation. The ranked journal list is no longer available from the ARC website. This is because it was intended solely for the purposes of the ERA 2010 evaluation, and because journals may have changed significantly in the number of years since the rankings were developed.
An easy way to to discover the h-index of a journal is to go to Scimago (Scimago uses Scopus citation data to calculate it's metrics)
The journal's landing page will display the journal's h-index
In Google Scholar:
Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.