Skip to main content
The core Health Science Databases
The Cochrane Library
Consists of The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CDMR), Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) & About The Cochrane Collaboration.
The Cochrane Library Reference Guide
Tips on getting the most out of the Cochrane Library
Other Evidence-based Databases
Trip is a commercial website, however the Library has critically evaluated the Database as being suitable for use within an academic environment.
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
The database has been developed to give physiotherapists and others access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy.
Free internet version of Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine in the United States.
Use the limit options to filter citations citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
Catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). The types of studies contained on this database are Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials (RCT), Non-Randomised Controlled Trials (non-RCT), Case Series (CS), and Single-Case Experimental Designs (SCED)
Provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia. Studies on this database include Systematic Reviews (SR), Randomised Controlled Trials (RCT), Non-Randomised Controlled Trials (non-RCT), Case Series (CS), and Single Case Experimental Design (SCED).
REHAB+ is a searchable database of best evidence from the health care literature of particular interest to rehabilitation professionals, supported by Canadian Institutes of Health Research.
Best Practice is an online-only resource with international coverage. Some PDFs of the topics are available for download.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
An Australian based, international not-for-profit research and development organisation that specialises in evidence-based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health.
It contains evidence-based publications which inform clinical decision-making at the point of care such as Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
When using this Database it is best to select the MULTI-FIELD SEARCH Option
Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.