Dictionaries, Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and key reference sources are useful in defining your terms and concepts, understanding key words and obtaining an overview of the area you are researching.
These lists are just a sample of what is available in the ECU Library Collection, please search to find more.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology.
ISBN: 9780511633980Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of Psychology and Allied Sciences by
This book will prove beneficial for psychology & medical undergraduate and postgraduate students. Also it is useful for civil service aspirants and students preparing for various other competitive examinations. This dictionary is specifically written in a simple language for easy grasping of psychology and allied sciences. About 8000 wards used in the fields of psychiatry, psychology and neurology have been arranged in an alphabetical order along with their definitions. Some of the important terms of psychology and allied science related with India have also been included. This book will act as a supplement to Textbook of Clinical Psychology written by same author and published by the same publishers.
ISBN: 8122429491Publication Date: 2009
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
The American Psychological Association is proud to announce the publication of an invaluable addition to your reference shelf, one that represents a major scholarly and editorial undertaking. With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology. Ten years in the making and edited by a distinguished editorial board of nearly 100 psychological scholars, researchers and practitioners, the APA Dictionary of Psychology is destined to become the most authoritative reference of its kind. authoritative definitions; thousands of incisive cross-references directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, and related terms and concepts that deepen the user's understanding of related topics; and balanced coverage of over 100 subject areas across the field of psychology including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality and social, developmental, health, psychopharmacology, methodology and statistics, and many others. Entries include nearly 8,000 terms from the APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms registered] which helps students and researchers refine their APA database searches (such as the flagship PsycINFO registered] bibliographic database's 2+ million records). It also includes A Guide to Use and Quick Guide to Format that together explain important stylistic and format features to help readers most effectively use the Dictionary. covering biographies; institutions, associations and organizations; psychological therapies and interventions; and psychological tests and assessment instruments. It contains thumb tabs for locating definitions quickly and easily. Academicians, researchers, clinicians, undergraduates and graduate students, and professionals in allied mental health, education, medicine, and law, as well as academic and public libraries, will find the Dictionary essential.
ISBN: 9781591473800Publication Date: 2006-07-15
A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience by
This is the essential reference work for any student studying psychology for the first time. Packed with easy-to-understand definitions and helpful diagrams, the new edition has been expanded to include the key concepts within the growing field of neuroscience, as well as greater coverage of positive psychology. Key features include: over 2,500 entries extensive cross-referencing for easy navigation mini biographies of key psychologists list of key reference works study notes section list of common abbreviations Also including a list of key references in the field and a guide to writing essays and referencing your work, this is the perfect accompaniment for any student newly encountering this fascinating subject, those taking related disciplines in the health or social sciences, or professionals wanting to familiarise themselves with key terms and ideas.
ISBN: 9781351803175Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Click the following link to find the large range of APA Psychology Handbooks in the library holdings
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine by ISBN: 9780511289194Publication Date: 2007-08-23
APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology by
Discussions of ethics in psychology often focus primarily on misconduct, punishment, and legal sanctions, and too often ignore aspirations, values, principles, and virtues. The net effect of this unbalanced approach creates an atmosphere in which psychologists have viewed ethics as unpleasant and frightening, instead of inspiring and uplifting. Psychologists naturally must be concerned about laws, codes, and regulations, but these documents do not constitute the beginning and end of the conversation on ethics. The editors of this 2-volume reference propose that ethics is best viewed as a striving toward the highest ethical ideals, not just as an injunction against rule violation--a perspective they refer to as 'positive ethics' or 'active ethics'--and they encourage psychologists to elevate their ethical observance above the minimal standards found in law and enforceable ethics codes. Against this backdrop, handbook contributors investigate the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, forensic, health, and "tele-" psychology. Several chapters zero in on the teaching of ethics and on ethically minded research relevant to professionals working in experimental psychology. By comparison with many ethics textbooks, this two-volume handbook covers a wider range of subjects and pursues them in greater detail. For instance, it reflects important recent advances in research and technology that present new opportunities and challenges for practice and scholarship. Also, it takes a serious look into some burgeoning new areas such as life coaching and providing services over the Internet. These are just two examples of developments that present fascinating, novel ethical questions that deserve attention.
ISBN: 9781433810008Publication Date: 2011-09-15
The International Handbook of Psychology by
The International Handbook of Psychology is an authoritative resource covering all the main areas of psychological science and written by an outstanding set of authors from around the world. The 31 chapters cover not only scientific but also applied cross-disciplinary aspects. Supervised by an International Editorial Advisory Board (IEAB) of 13 eminent psychologists and edited by Professors Kurt Pawlik and Mark R Rosenzweig, it is being published under the auspices of the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS) by SAGE Publications Ltd in London. The International Handbook of Psychology will be invaluable to advanced undergraduates, graduate students and academics in psychology, and will also be of interest to students of education, sociology, political science, humanities, philosophy, informatics, cognitive sciences, neuroscience, legal sciences and criminology, and will serve as a general resource reference text, written at a level comparable to" Scientific American." This impressive volume covers a tremendous amount of work. It is well organized: authors have generally kept to a standard brief. It is also truly international both in authorship and the origin of the work referenced. This will provide a very useful reference book for undergraduate and post-graduate students' - "British Journal of Educational Psychology
ISBN: 9781281240187Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology by
The exponential growth of clinical psychology since the late 1960s can be measured in part by the extensive-perhaps exhaustive-literature on the subject. This proliferation of writing has continued into the new century, and the field has come to be defined as much by its many topics as its many voices.The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology synthesizes these decades of literature in one extraordinary volume. Comprising chapters from the foremost scholars in clinical psychology, the handbook provides even and authoritative coverage of the research, practice, and policy factors that combine to form today's clinical psychology landscape.In addition to core sections on topics such as training, assessment, diagnosis, and intervention, the handbook includes valuable chapters devoted to new and emerging issues in the clinical field, including heath care reforms, cultural factors, and technological innovations and challenges. Each chapter offers a review of the most pertinent literature, outlining current issues and identifying possibilities for future research.Featuring two chapters by Editor David H. Barlow -- one on changes during his own 40-year odyssey in the field, the other projecting ten themes for the future of clinical psychology -- The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Psychology is a landmark publication that is sure to serve as the field's benchmark reference publication for years to come. It is an essential resource for students, clinicians, and researchers across the ever-growing clinical psychology community.
ISBN: 9780199328727Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine by
This third edition of the much acclaimed Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine offers a fully up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for doctors, health care professionals, mental health care professionals (such as psychologists, counsellors, specialist nurses), academics, researchers, and students specializing in health across all these fields. The new streamlined structure of the book features brief section overviews summarising the state of the art of knowledge on the topic to make the information easier to find. The encyclopaedic aspects of the Handbook have been retained; all the entries, as well as the extensive references, have been updated. Retaining all the virtues of the original, this edition is expanded with a range of new topics, such as the effects of conflict and war on health and wellbeing, advancements in assisted reproduction technology, e-health interventions, patient-reported outcome measures, health behaviour change interventions, and implementing changes into health care practice.
ISBN: 9781316783269Publication Date: 2019-06-05
The Cambridge Handbook of Community Psychology by
This comprehensive handbook provides community psychology approaches to addressing the key issues that impact individuals and their communities worldwide. Featuring international, interdisciplinary perspectives from leading experts, the handbook tackles critical contemporary challenges. These include climate change, immigration, educational access, healthcare, social media, wellness, community empowerment, discrimination, mental health, and many more. The chapters offer case study examples to present practical applications and to review relevant implications within diverse contexts. Throughout, the handbook considers how community psychology plays out around the world: What approaches are being used in different countries? How does political context influence the development and extension of community psychology? And what can nations learn from each other as they examine successful community psychology-based interventions? This is essential reading for researchers, students, practitioners, and policy makers involved with community well-being.
ISBN: 9781108678971Publication Date: 2021-12-16
The Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice by
An authoritative new work exploring the themes of communication and implementation of research within developmental psychology - a scientific field with extensive real world value in addressing problems faced by individuals, families and services Brings together the insights of a stellar group of contributors with personal experience translating developmental psychology research into practice Accessibly structured into sections exploring family processes and child rearing practices; educational aspects; and clinical applications Goes beyond traditional reviews of literature in the field to report on practical implementation of research findings, including the challenges faced by authors Serves as an invaluable resource for developmental psychologists, practitioners working in the field of child development, and policymakers working on issues affecting children and families
ISBN: 9781119095668Publication Date: 2015-12-16
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by
The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
ISBN: 9780126574104Publication Date: 2004-09-21
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
ISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2015-02-17
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods, a three-volume resource that is a first of its kind, developed by the leading publisher of social science research methods books and journals. This unique multi-volume reference set offers readers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers.
ISBN: 9781452261454Publication Date: 2004
Psychology: the Key Concepts by
Psychology: The Key Concepts is a comprehensive overview of 200 concepts central to a solid understanding of Psychology and includes the latest recommendations from the British Psychology Society (BPS). The focus is on practical uses of Psychology in settings such as nursing, education and human resources, with topics ranging from Gender to Psychometrics and Perception.
ISBN: 9780203892930Publication Date: 2008-08-18
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
"The American Psychological Association, under the editorial direction of Alan Kazdin, has produced an exceptional multidisciplinary and multicultural encyclopedia."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.
ISBN: 9781557986504Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion by
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion is a greatly expanded and updated reference work that builds on the foundation of the highly successful previous edition. The first to integrate psychology and religion in the context of modern social and behavioral sciences, Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion continues to offer a rich contribution to the development of human self-understanding. A significant number of new entries and of updated original entries provide even more comprehensive coverage. This reference work provides a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world's religious and mythological traditions. A broad range of psychological approaches are used in order to help readers understand the form and content of religious experience as well as offer insight into the meanings of religious symbols and themes. It provides a technical and phenomenological vocabulary that will enable collaboration and dialogue among researchers in both fields. Easy to read and scrupulously edited, the encyclopedia draws from different religions, including modern world religions and older religious movements. It is of particular interest to researchers and professionals in psychology and religion.
ISBN: 9783030243470Publication Date: 2020-05-15
