Skip to main content

Research: Find Highly Ranked Journals

Library support for postgraduate students and researchers

Journal Impact Metrics

There are a number of quantiative metrics available for evaluating the impact of a journal. A large number of these measurements of impact work, at least in part, upon the rationale that higher citations correlate to higher impact.

the h-index

H-index

  • The H-index is a measure of research performance that combines research output (number of papers) and research impact (number of citations). It can be applied to the publications of an individual researcher of the publication output of an entire journal.
     
  • How is the H-index calculated?
    Th H-Index is calculated as the number of papers (N) within the given set of publications that have N or more citations. For example, a researcher has an H-index of 3 if they have 3 publications with 3 or more citations. A journal has a H-index of 57 if they have published 57 papers which have 57 or more citations each.
     
  • Where can the h-index be found?
    Web of Science, Scopus and Google Scholar can generate H-indexes for the authors indexed in their databases. However, it should be noted that the value of the H-index may be different between the databases as the journal titles and years of publication covered by each database can be different. As noted above, the SJR website provides H-index data for journals.

 

Assessing Journal Inpact - Journal Citation Reports (Journal impact factor)

Assessing Journal Impact - Check the ERA Journal List

The ERA Journal List

  • The ERA Journal List is restricted to ECU staff and Research Students. Journal titles included in the ERA 2015 are listed by FoR Code.
    • login into the ECU staff/student portal
    • click into Research Activity System (RAS)
    • click on ERA Journal Lookup (the "torch light icon")
    • click FoR Code (2 digit and 4 digit) to find journals in a particular subject area

Assessing Journal Impact - the ABDC Journal Quality List (Business)

Assessing Journal Impact - Journal Metrics and Scimago (metrics on Scopus indexed journals)

Assessing Journal Impact - Scopus related metrics

This box covers CiteScore, SJR, SNIP, & Scopus Compare Sources tool

The metrics used by Scopus (an Elsevier database) uses the metrics SJR, SNIP, IPP to assess a journal's publishing impact.

  • CiteScore Metrics (new metrics database)
    CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received in a calendar year by all items published in that journal in the preceding three years. The calendar year to which a serial title’s issues are assigned is determined by their cover dates, and not the dates that the serial issues were made available online. more about CiteScore

    CiteScore metrics are Comprised of Eight Metrics:
    • CiteScore   CiteScore Rank
      CiteScore Tracker Citation Count
      CiteScore Percentile Document Count
      CiteScore Quartiles Percentage Cited
  • SJR SCImago Journal Rank
    is a measure of the scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals the citations come from. Citations are weighted depending on whether they come from a journal with a high or low SJR.. more about SJR

  • Scopus Compare Sources Tool

The Compare sources tool can be found in the Scopus database. It is a customisable tool which will allow you to compare up to 10 Scopus sources on a variety of parameters: CiteScore, SJR, SNIP, citations, documents, and percentage of documents not cited.

The Compare sources tool is available in both a Chart and a Table view. The Chart displays information in a line graph, with separate graphs for each parameter. The Table lists parameters together in one table.

The Scopus compare tool is located on the Scopus database homepage

  • Login into Scopus (through Databases A-Z on the Library's Homepage)
  • Click on Compare Sources

  • Select by source title, publication type or by subject category (some titles may appear under different subject categories)

  • Sources can be evaluated by a variety of metrics: CiteScore, SJR, SNIP, Citations, Documents, % Not Cited, % Reviews