Skip to main content

Nursing: Home

How to find information for your nursing assignments

Welcome to the Nursing Subject Guide

 

Hello and welcome to the Nursing Library Guide.  In today’s world we have so much information at our fingertips, but it is becoming more difficult and time consuming to find the information we actually need quickly and efficiently.  The aim of this guide is to help you get started finding information for your Assignments or Research.  It brings together in one place, some of the most common and useful ECU Nursing resources available from the library, including learning tools, that will allow you to develop effective information finding skills. Use the tabs above to find books, Databases, Journals and other resources.

If you are new to ECU or are returning to study after a few years, the resources available under the 'Getting Started' tab will guide you through how to access and use library resources; it includes week by week material aimed at increasing your skills gradually over the semester. 

And finally if you require my help at any stage please come along to one of the drop-in sessions that are run by Maureen Buckingham, your Learning Consultant and I.

Assignment Drop-in Sessions
Day Time Location
Monday: Weeks 2-8 12.30 pm - 1.30 pm JO 21.208
Tuesday: Weeks 2-13 12.30 pm - 2.00 pm JO 31.234
Thursday: Weeks 2-8 12.00 pm - 1.00 pm JO 21.208

Alternatively please send me an e-mail (library@ecu.edu.au) and I will get back to you.

Diane Ingram (Librarian: Nursing & Midwifery)

Health Specific Database Overviews - Choosing a Database to search

Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology Online

Evidence-Based Practice

Related Guides

Key Databases

Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)

Joanna Briggs Institute logo

When using this Database it is best to select the MULTI-FIELD SEARCH Option

Nursing Reference Center

Clinical Skills Videos

These videos cover important topics such as health care safety, emergency planning, checking vital signs and many more. Videos are available in flash format, and are broken down into chaptered clips for easy study. Videos are well indexed for reliable search results and can be viewed in document view or downloaded to your desktop for reference.

Database video Tutorials - Learn how to effectively search

Note: that as CINAHL, MEDLINE and PsycINFO are hosted by EBSCOHost, they can be searched together or in a similar way.  However each use different Subject Headings, so please ensure you search each database individually when conducting a Subject Heading search. 

Every Database will have training tutorials and a help button - usually on the top right-hand corner of the screen.

Using search Filters in CINAHL, MEDLINE and PsycInfo

Drug Information

Diane Ingram's picture
Diane Ingram
Contact:
Building JO31.403E
telephone : 6304 5525
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Nursing