Skip to main content

HARC: Helpful Academic Researchers Companion

HARC has been designed to answer the questions researchers ask at every step of the research life cycle

SciVal is a web-based tool that allows in-depth analysis of the Scopus publication and citation database

SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 7,500 research institutions and 220 nationals worldwide. Researchers can use SciVal to track and visualize an individual's research performance for assessment & funding purposes, benchmark an individual relative to peers, compare groups of individuals, track collaboration patterns & find new potential collaborators, analyze research trends and produce reports on analyses.


The default SciVal displays author and institutional metrics using institutional information as listed in the publication.

There are currently 5 modules in SciVal:

Image of SciVal landing page: Showing modules Overview Benchmarking Collaboration Trends Reporting

  • the Overview module provides high-level overview of the research performance of ECU, other institutions, countries and group of researchers.
     
  • the Benchmarking module enables the comparison and benchmarking of ECU to other institutions, researchers and groups of researchers using a variety of metrics.
     
  • the Collaboration module exposes the collaboration network of both ECU individuals, groups, schools as well as those of other institutions, and highlights gaps or potential collaborators.
     
  • the Trends module uses citation counts and database views to visualise current research trends, possibly to determine a new research strategy or find collaboration opportunities.
     
  • the Reporting module allows users to create customised reports on analyses, and to save those searches

 

The SciVal default Institutions and Groups view

Image shouws SciVal default Institutions and Groups view

The SciVal default view shows data from all institutions and groups whose works have been published in Scopus.

1. Select institution - click on the Institution and Groups heading on the left

  • the default is to show Edith Cowan University metrics
  • + Add Institutions and Groups
    • you can add other institutions of groups to view their research metrics
    • you can add a pre-populated group (type in the name)
    • you can create a group of institutions

2. Select dates - several pre-set date ranges to search

3. Select classification code - generally opt for

  • select a specific FoR code
  • select all

4. Select a Module

5. Each Module will provide different options, such as:

  • Summary: Overall research output
  • Topics: Topics of Prominence for institution selected
  • Awarded Grants: If information has been noted in the publication
  • Collaboration: co-authors & their institutions/ potential co-authors/instituions
  • Published: number of publications, publications in Top Citation Percentiles, Field Weighted etc.,
  • Viewed: Citations viewed in Scopus
  • Cited: Citation counts, citations per publication, Field weighted citation impact
  • Economic Impact: Patent related information

NOTE:

  • use the Online Manual
  • metrics:
    • each category &/or module / chart may offer a variety of metrics - experiment!
    • view metrics in Table or Chart View
    • searches can be Added to Reporting (i.e. save the search) - separate saves for Table and chart view
    • can be downloaded/exported as PDF, CSV, XLS

 

The SciVal ECU Hierarchy
 

The intention of the ECU institutional hierarchy in SciVal is to allow reporting at the level of the organisational unit. For analyses made at the level of a School, Centre, or Institute, all of a staff member’s publications will be included in the assessment, not just those affiliated with ECU.

Steps:

1. Once logged on to SciVal, go to the MySciVal tab.

2. To find the ECU Hierarchy for the School

  • click on Researchers and Groups
  • select ECU
  • select School

Image showing in SciVal the default ECU and ECU heirarchy views

2. To find the ECU Hierarchy for a Researcher or to create a group of ECU researchers

  • click on My SciVal

How to locate MySciVal

  • click on Researchers and Groups

Find ECU Heirarchy in Researchers and Groups

3. Search for your name or click on ECU > then Your School/Centre > then select your Name by checking the box next to your name

4. Next click on the icon to add your name to the researchers name panel. Example as below

Image of Authors in ECU Heirarchy in MySciVal

5. Once a name has been "added" it will appear under the "Researchers and Groups" in various SciVal modules.

6. Check the  button to select the name. Once selected, the selected researcher's research performance profile will be displayed. 

Demo list of Researcher A B C and D

Image of Researcher A's Field-weighted citation impact

  1. SciVal is available throught the A-Z list of Library Databases
  2. Click on the "S" and scroll down to SciVal or use the search box
  3. First, authenticate with your ECU Login/password
  4. Next, login with your SciVal Login/password
    • SciVal requires all users to register to use the database
    • it's very useful if you also register with Scopus as SciVal extracts its information from Scopus. There are links within both databases which allow you to flick from one database to the other.

What is a Field-Weighted Citation Impact  metric?

The Field-Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI) is the ratio of citations received relative to the expected world average for the subject field, publication type and publication year. This metric is available in the SciVal database.

  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of 1.00:   
    indicates that the publication has been cited at world average for similar publications

     
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of >1.00: 
    indicates that the publication has been cited more than the would be expected based on the world average for similar publications. For example, a score of 1.38 means that the outputs have been cited 38% more times than expected

     
  • A Field-Weighted Citation Impact of <1.00: 
    indicates that the publication has been cited less than the would be expected based on the world average for similar publications. For example, a score of 0.90 means that the outputs have been cited 10% less times than expected.

SciVal ECU Hierarchy - Staff Inclusion

Edith Cowan University has worked with Elsevier to add its institutional hierarchy into SciVal.

This document showcases how this additional feature of SciVal allows users to benchmark ECU’s research performance for individual Schools, Research Institutes, and Research Centres.

Availability of the hierarchy structure in SciVal

The ECU hierarchy can be viewed only in the “Overview” or “Benchmarking” modules within the SciVal interface.

Details of the staff included in the institutional hierarchy

The intention of creating the ECU institutional hierarchy in SciVal is to allow reporting at the level of the organisational unit. For analyses made at the level of a School, Centre, or Institute, all of a staff member’s publications will be included in the assessment, not just those affiliated with ECU.

As part of creating the institutional hierarchy, Elsevier undertook profile ‘cleaning’, such as identifying duplicate profiles (up to 2017).  Adjunct staff members were not included in ECU’s organisational hierarchy within SciVal because they generally have an association with another institution.

In order for a researcher to appear within SciVal, they need to have produced at least one output indexed in Scopus at the time the hierarchy was created.
 

For staff to be included in the institutional hierarchy in SciVal they need to be

  • Affiliated with one of the eight ECU Schools or Kurongkurl Katijin, and,
  • Either an:
    • Academic Level A to E or School Executive Dean, or,
    • Professional staff member with at least one publication (i.e. journal article, conference paper, book or book chapter) accepted in the Research Activity System (RAS) in the past ten years (2007 to 2016)

How was the institutional hierarchy created in SciVal?

ORI provided Elsevier with the list of staff associated with each School, Research Centre, and Research Institute. The organisational structure created within SciVal represents a snapshot of the staff composition at a point in time, but it is recognised that the staff membership within each organisational unit is dynamic. Staff can belong to more than one organisational unit, and this is reflected in the hierarchy within SciVal.

The initial setup of the ECU organisational structure drew on data collected in late 2016. An update to the ECU institutional hierarchy was undertaken in September 2017 by drawing on HR data as well as from consultation with Research Institutes and Research Centres. For any questions regarding the included researchers and/or the structure, please liaise with ORI.

Troubleshooting

  • Why am I not in the ECU hierarchy?
    • are you eligible? (see staff included as listed above)
    • have you published in journals indexed by Scopus? SciVal draws it citation data only from Scopus
       
  • My articles are in Scopus but are missing when I check my list of publications in the SciVal hierarchy 
    • have you published under a different name? Check your Scopus ID. If there are issues with your profile, use the Author Feedback Wizard in Scopus to request changes see: How do i correct my author profile

Get from your Scopus Author ID to your SciVal profile

  • As your SciVal profile is based on your Scopus Author ID, you may wish to check that your Scopus Author ID is correct and includes only your publications.
     
  • Click on Author Search and search for your name
  • If you have published under a variety of names, all variations of your name will be listed.
  • Click on your name

  • if some of your publications are not listed in your Scopus Author ID, it may be that you have not published in a journal indexed by Scopus. Check this list of journals to see if your publication is listed.

  • The Author details page will list some of you basic author metrics and all of your Scopus indexed publication (not shown in image above)
     
  • Request Author corrections: Note that Scopus automatically generates an Author ID -  authors with similar names and fields may find that their publications have been combined. If you notice a problem with your profile, click on the link and use the online form
     
  • SciVal: Make sure that you have registered and logged into SciVal before continuing (SciVal always requires a personal sign on)
     
  • In Scopus: Click on "Export profile to Scival"
     
  • In SciVal, click on Researchers and Groups (left hand side panel) and type in your name

  • if you have a long history of publications, note that the maximum number of years SciVal provides metrics for is for articles published in the last 5 years, although you do have the ability to select different date ranges with the 5 years. Your author metrics will vary between the different date ranges

Image showing a Researchers Overall Performance and Field-weighted citation impact in SciVal

Finding your profile in My SciVal (ECU hierarchy)
 

  1. Login into SciVal (you will need to set up a personal login)
  2. Click on My SciVal (top right)

     
  3. If you do not see > Edith Cowan University below the blue line, type it in the search box as shown in the image above.
  4. When you see > Edith Cowan University, click on the downward pointing arrow until you come to your name
  5. drag and drop your name into the Researchers and Groups panel on the left and your details will display

 

Check out SciVal's news on new database functionality

Loading ...

Need Further Assistance with SciVal?

Contact the Library: Call us at (61) 8 6304 5525 or email to library@ecu.edu.au.