Skip to main content

eBooks: Home

A guide to accessing eBook collections at Edith Cowan University Library

Features

  • Available 24/7
  • Access from any location and multiple devices
  • Read online
  • Printing and downloading
  • Search within text
  • Scholarly books across all subjects, including some texts and reference works

 Catalogue Search: eBooks

Electronic books available at ECU can be found by searching the Library Catalogue. You can link from the catalogue screen to the eBook by clicking on "Connect to electronic version".

The Library purchases eBooks from various publishers and eBook suppliers.

To search the catalogue for all online publications on a topic limit a keyword search to "Online", using the drop down menu. This will search for eBooks, eJournals and eReserve items on a topic.

Library One Search: eBooks

Use the limit options "book/ebook" and "full text online" to limit a search to eBooks. You can use the Advanced Search option and select these limits at the start of a search.  

Alternatively, if starting your search in Library One Search from the basic search box, then use the limit options in the left side bar (refine your search) to narrow your search to Books and online.

Image Credits

Images from:

www.freeimages.co.uk

What is an eBook?

                       

eBook is an abbreviation of "electronic book" and also referred to as e-book, e-content, digital book, online book or sometimes digital edition.

A number of eBook collections are available via the Library. eBooks can be accessed either on or off campus using a desktop computer, laptop or other hand held devices (ipad, iphone, etc.).

The full text of the whole book is available to read online at any time. Printing and downloading options vary for each collection.

Printing of pages/sections is permitted according to copyright regulations. i.e. normally 10% or 1 chapter, although EBL allow 20% or 2 chapters. Printing or downloading of pdfs is available with a number of the collections purchased directly from the publisher. e.g. PsycBOOKS, Ovid eBooks, ScienceDirect eBooks.

Some platforms allow downloading of the eBook for a limited time. e.g. ebrary, EBL. Generally you need to set up a personal login in the database in order to download (refer to Help screens).

Search for eBooks via the catalogue, Library One Search or subject databases. See the relevant subject guide for key subject collections and titles.

Access

Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome are recommended web browsers for accessing online resources via the Library.

If having problems accessing eBooks, you should also check your computer settings to ensure that the pop-up blocker is 'off'. It may also help to delete cookies and search history if internet access is slow.

For any problems accessing the Library's online resources, please contact the Library.

Publisher Collections

As the Library subscribes to these collections directly from the publishers, eBook chapters/sections are generally available for printing, downloading, saving as pdf documents.

eBook Collections


The Library has available some large ebook collections covering all subject areas. In addition, the Library has purchased some subject specific collections. Key collections are listed below. For a list of all collections see the eBook Collections page in this guide.

Subscribed Collections from eBook Suppliers/Lenders

These databases of electronic books feature publications from major academic publishers. As EBL, ebrary and MyiLibrary are third party suppliers of eBooks sourced from a number of publishers, copyright restrictions apply for printing and downloading.

Downloading ebrary eBooks